Diesel at Costco Brisbane

Submitted: Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 14:32
ThreadID: 131452 Views:2361 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
Just filled up at 92.7 at Costco North Lakes, (Brisbane)

Reply By: TomH - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 15:54

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 15:54
Plus the $60 membership fee of course and only a good deal if you live reasonably close to there.
AnswerID: 595404

Reply By: Member - reggy 2 (VIC) - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 22:06

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 22:06
HI just filled to-day $1.14 at Wodonga Vic
Should be below a $1 at the price of fuel at present.
(ITS ONLY MONEY LOL;) Cheers
AnswerID: 595415

Reply By: Member - Rodney J2 - Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 22:51

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 at 22:51
Diesel 105.9cpl @ Alberton Vic 21/01/16
AnswerID: 595420

Reply By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 08:49

Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 08:49
97.5 Metro Kurri Kurri.....just after I paid 1.06 just up the road.....lol
Insanity doesnt run in my family.... it gallops!

AnswerID: 595429

Reply By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 08:59

Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 08:59
Never shopped at Cosco. Been there but like Aldi they did not have the brands and Australian content that we like. And unlike a lot of so called "thrifty" shoppers we don't mind helping the Aussie producers and farmers out. I don't know if they are still as bad as Aldi but so what, $60 a years and a 20 km drive isn't worth it for the little we buy.

AnswerID: 595430

Reply By: Ron N - Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 11:07

Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 11:07
This "membership" fee stunt is just a blatant cunning American marketing rort, designed to keep bleeding you.
I refuse to pay any "membership" fee, point blank. If the business is competitive and attractive to deal with, they shouldn't need a "membership" fee to ensure customer loyalty.

I'm sick of of the servo rip-offs, these people are just blatant racketeers at present.

Went to have a big BBQ last night and ran out of gas. No worries, plenty of gas supplies everywhere within a km or two of home.
Threw the 8.5kg gas bottle in the Hilux and zipped down to the corner Puma servo.
No gas prices marked anywhere, and being wary of servos, I asked the attendant how much for a bottle.

$34.00!, comes the answer! Did a Michael Caton and told him he was dreaming, I was sure I'd seen Masters selling it for $18.50.

Drove up the road to the BP servo, same stunt again - no price anywhere, fronted the attendant, and asked him his gas bottle price. $38.50!, came the cheery reply.

Did another Michael Caton, with a little more sarcasm, but it was water off a ducks back, he only collects the constant stream of gold.

Drove on a little further to Masters and got a bottle in 2 mins flat for $19.85. I got ripped again, though - I was correct, it had been $18.50 two days ago!!

It was a very enjoyable, tasty and CHEAP lamb/steak/chicken BBQ we had last night - even if it was 20 minutes behind schedule!

AnswerID: 595439

Follow Up By: Pushy - Wednesday, Jan 27, 2016 at 15:13

Wednesday, Jan 27, 2016 at 15:13
Ron,
The price at Masters is a loss leader to get you to go to the store. They are selling gas at a loss to get you in,the others are just trying to make an honest dollar like all of us. A well used trick used by all the big companies in an attempt to kill off the small opposition.
Masters stores on average have each been running at a loss of $75,000 per week, they have big pockets, but the small operator can not do this and goes out of business.
FollowupID: 864200

Follow Up By: Ron N - Wednesday, Jan 27, 2016 at 16:14

Wednesday, Jan 27, 2016 at 16:14
Yes, I can see your point, Pushy - but you'd have to admit, the servos are ripping us off cold at present.
The Terminal Gate Price (wholesale price) today for petrol in Perth is around $1.01.9, and the TGP for diesel is around 88.1 cents.
However, today, the average price for petrol in Perth today, is $1.21.5 and for diesel it's $1.19.7.
Is it any wonder us poor old consumers try to get the cheapest deal around, when this kind of blatant rip-off is going on?
FollowupID: 864203

Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Wednesday, Jan 27, 2016 at 16:34

Wednesday, Jan 27, 2016 at 16:34
Don't understand your logic Ron. I paid the $60 and saved that amount in the first 3 fills now everytime I fill up, I am miles in front. I don't like paying memberships either, but the reality is my savings per year, even after paying the $60, are significant.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

FollowupID: 864207

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Jan 27, 2016 at 19:26

Wednesday, Jan 27, 2016 at 19:26
"Masters stores on average have each been running at a loss of $75,000 per week, they have big pockets" . . . not any more Pushy, did you hear Woolies are closing them ? (If they can't be sold, and that is unlikely.)
FollowupID: 864217

Follow Up By: Ron N - Thursday, Jan 28, 2016 at 13:12

Thursday, Jan 28, 2016 at 13:12
Chris, that's fine if it works for you - but the "members fee" is still a mechanism designed to stop you shopping elsewhere and make you indulge in a "brand loyalty" that is not driven by store performance.

In marketing speak, it's called "captive customer" and it's the holy grail of the corporate sales depts.
It effectively constricts your personal choices and makes you indulge in decisions that permanently benefit the company, and more often, at your cost.

In many cases, when moving around, you will need to fill up, and the company you have paid a membership fee to, will not have cheap fuel available where you are.
At other times, there will be a poor decision made to travel further to get the "cheaper" fuel, which doesn't end up being cheaper, because of the extra travelling involved.

It's funny how the "cheap fuel" deals always seem to be in way-out areas!

FollowupID: 864242

Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Thursday, Jan 28, 2016 at 20:09

Thursday, Jan 28, 2016 at 20:09
The members fee does not stop you shopping elsewhere. Having a Cosco card does not require you to ever set foot in the store if you do wish too. All I said was that if you live or work in a convenient distance from a Cosco fuel outlet the savings far outweigh the membership cost. If you are away from home you would use what ever outlet you choose. You do not go chasing cheap fuel for the sake of it but if it is near to the places you frequent, the saving are signifcant.
We all know the petroleum companies rip us off. Cosco is taking them on and we should be supporting them where we can.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

FollowupID: 864265

Reply By: swampy - Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 17:58

Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 at 17:58
hi
North Qld $1.30 / lt. This price is cheap if ask fuel company exec ha ha ha
Fuel delivered into Townsville 1.20retail then delivered south toAyr at resale of 1.10 another perfectly normal fuel gouging day .

Happy ozzy day to all
swampy
AnswerID: 595455