Calling NSW Troopy owners!

Submitted: Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 19:05
ThreadID: 13155 Views:3989 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Hiya all, Just a query for those of you who have a NSW registered troopy. I have a 97 model hzj75 and have just been having hassles with the stupid NSW greenslip system as to what class of vehicle it is. I notice on the certificate of rego from the RTA that the vehicle body type is listed as "ute" ?? Surely this is wrong, just wondering what body type it is listed as on other rego papers?? Thanks, Peter

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 20:27

Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 20:27
Be glad it's not shown as a troop carrier or you would be classed as a bus & need quartly rego inspections & dearer rego & green slip insurance.
AnswerID: 60137

Follow Up By: Oznuggets - Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 20:34

Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 20:34
I was told by the RTA today that it shouldn't be a "ute" and that I would need a blueslip to ammend the change but they couldn't tell me what it should be classed as??? From what I can see on the insurance company sites it maybe should be classed as a hardtop? confused as ever, Peter
FollowupID: 321714

Follow Up By: greyemu - Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 20:44

Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 20:44
dear troopie
i have just changed my 11seat troopie to a 3 seat troopie.on the rego papers under shape its classed as a small bus or sbs, the rta gave me a list of blue slip accredited workshops who changed the ard code to mc & shape code to pvf which cost $20.50. i will take these new papers for rego.hopefully no more problems. regards greyemu
FollowupID: 321719

Reply By: lazylcd - Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 00:03

Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 00:03
if i remember correctly, my bj70 swb was considered a hard top, but i think the troopy's are concidered ute, but i could be wrong

just my 2 cents worth

Lazy
AnswerID: 60183

Follow Up By: haysie - Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 06:37

Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 06:37
here in south oz mine is registed as a station wagon ( 6 seater 91 diesel troopy) $ 650 per annum...
FollowupID: 321756

Follow Up By: Member - JEFF - Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 06:54

Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 06:54
Hey Greymu

I'm in the same situation. I need to register the Troopy atthe end of June. Can you confirm that the RTA advised to go to just the ordinary BLUE slip workshop to change the catagory. I mean not a particular BLUE slip place. Also can you confirn "ARD" and "PVF" codes

would appreciate this advise

Regards jeff
FollowupID: 321757

Reply By: stevesub - Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 07:58

Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 07:58
Mine is registered in VIC where it is classed as a 7 seater station wagon

AnswerID: 60195

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 08:58

Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 08:58
Same for my jack, its a 'station wagon' in vic
FollowupID: 321764

Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 16:35

Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 16:35
In queensland its a minibus.
AnswerID: 60250

Reply By: floyd - Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 16:54

Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 16:54
I live in Victoria and have owned 5 75 series troopies over the last 15 years. 2 were 3 seaters and were registered as utes, 2 of them were 11 seaters and were registered as a bus and one 6 seater RV was registered as a Station wagon. Just depended on the seating arrangements. It didnt make any difference to registration costs or insurance costs either as I just told th einsurance company that they were toyota landcruiser troop carrier long wheel base vehicles.
AnswerID: 60257

Reply By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 19:13

Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 19:13
I had a 3 seater and a 6 seater, both were registered as 'panel van with windows and seats' code PVF in NSW.
For green slip and ins they were classed as station wagon's
AnswerID: 60282

Reply By: greyemu - Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 19:34

Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 19:34
dear jeff
i was at my local rta registry at penrith, the lady behind the counter saw on the rego papers that the shape was classed as sbs and that a rta inspection would be needed. she then gave me a list of blue slip inspection stations. for details of stations outside the penrith area call 132213.the mechanic i went to changed the seating capacity from 11 seats to 3 seats, he also changed the adr code to mc and the shape code to pvf. i hope this answers your questions. regards greyemu
AnswerID: 60283

Follow Up By: Member - JEFF - Thursday, May 27, 2004 at 07:41

Thursday, May 27, 2004 at 07:41
Greyemu
Thanks for that mate I will do the same after I get back from my 23 day trip on the 25 june. (suffer) I was pretty impressed when i read your original post. I had been told that I would need an Engineers report costing $250 just to look into the vehicle and report "yep it's only a 2 seater!!! So I look forward to giving your suggestion a try.

Regards jeff
FollowupID: 321949

Reply By: Oznuggets - Thursday, May 27, 2004 at 18:19

Thursday, May 27, 2004 at 18:19
Thanks for the input everyone, I got an "adjustment of records" blue slip done today ( $20.50 ) and got the body shape changed from ute to pvf. Peter
AnswerID: 60478