Normanton C/P or Karumba C/P to stay at .

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 10, 2016 at 15:40
ThreadID: 132086 Views:2978 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
Just throwing a couple of ideas around ,we want to do the Sunset thing at Karumba, which is the best C/P to stay at or do we stay at Normanton C/P over the road from the Purple Pub as we have stayed there before found it a nice park and do a day trip to Karumba. Suggestions please ,what have others done.cheers GD

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 10, 2016 at 16:02

Sunday, Apr 10, 2016 at 16:02
Have done both but prefer the Normanton stay as oppossed to being super cramed at Karumba.

I quess the real question will be what time of the year. Peak hour at Karumba can be very heavy. If you do it as a day trip to watch the sunset be careful of wildlife on the trip back in the dark

AnswerID: 598446

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Sunday, Apr 10, 2016 at 17:48

Sunday, Apr 10, 2016 at 17:48
Thanks Al .yeah mate it will be in August, we did the trip up there in 06 and based our selfs at Normanton for the night and went to Karumba for the day. On the way home there were Cattle every were .and we did have a look at the parks in Karumba and they were packed in like sardines .Thanks for your reply. GD
FollowupID: 867633

Follow Up By: Sawtybt - Monday, Apr 11, 2016 at 15:23

Monday, Apr 11, 2016 at 15:23
We also prefer to stay in Normanton. Its not as busy and the Normanton Tourist Park also has a nice pool.

On one of our visits we booked accommodation for one night in Karumba. We combined this with a sunset cruise on the Norman River which we thoroughly enjoyed .
FollowupID: 867677

Reply By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 10, 2016 at 17:11

Sunday, Apr 10, 2016 at 17:11
We did the gulf last year in July, we stayed at Karumba, we didn't book ahead and had no problems getting a spot, there was plenty of room and good shady sites at the Karumba Point tourist park we were there 5 days, very friendly,ring ahead if you want.
AnswerID: 598450

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Sunday, Apr 10, 2016 at 17:52

Sunday, Apr 10, 2016 at 17:52
Thanks Keith for your reply. I reckon well try and get in there first if not. Well base our selfs at Normanton. Cheers GD
FollowupID: 867634

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Sunday, Apr 10, 2016 at 18:58

Sunday, Apr 10, 2016 at 18:58
Seems to get a lot more people later in the year..Warmer weather means barra fishing!!
FollowupID: 867639

Reply By: cookie1 - Sunday, Apr 10, 2016 at 19:26

Sunday, Apr 10, 2016 at 19:26
Karumba Point CP is brilliant

Go down the road and get a feed of Barra & Chips - bloody beautiful and cheap as, we made the mistake of ordering 2 pieces of fish each, one was enough

AnswerID: 598456

Reply By: Member - Wildmax - Monday, Apr 11, 2016 at 11:37

Monday, Apr 11, 2016 at 11:37
We've stayed twice at the Normanton park near the Purple Pub, and also had separate visits to two different parks at Karumba.
While we enjoy the Karumba sunset, much prefer the park and the township at Normanton.
Wildmax
2018 Hilux and Black Wolf 210 tent - for the outback tracks less travelled
Formerly an AOR Eclipse and a TVan

AnswerID: 598487

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Monday, Apr 11, 2016 at 17:10

Monday, Apr 11, 2016 at 17:10
hi greendog,
last june Kurumba CVP's were skin to skin and into overflow bare paddocks so we treated ourselves to 3 nights of air conditioned luxury right across the road from the kurumba point pub at Gone Fishing Apts . $100 per night can recommend
all up cost an extra $150 over a 6 week trip so pretty insignificant and scored heaps of browny points with swmbo .
howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 598505