diesel quality

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 15, 2016 at 12:09
ThreadID: 132754 Views:3925 Replies:11 FollowUps:11
This Thread has been Archived
I've read that BP diesel is the better brand.Is this a fact,or just personal preference?Should I instal a 2nd filter on a brand new colorado?As u can guess,I'm very new to diesel & 4x4
Back Expand Un-Read 1 Moderator

Reply By: TomH - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2016 at 12:44

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2016 at 12:44
I have been using Caltex/Woolworths Vortex diesel for 8 years without problems I try not to use the bio stuff. Had to use BP on the odd occasion didnt seem to make any difference.
AnswerID: 601340

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2016 at 13:29

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2016 at 13:29
Ditto. No issues with caltex either. We shy away from BP because when they started going ethanol with all their fuels we gave them a miss because ethanol based fuel was not recommended for our home car. And they put their prices up considerably at the local service station where we had gone for 30+ years. Yep! New owner = higher prices. And the previous owner won't deal with them either. That's good enough for us.

Phil
FollowupID: 870794

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2016 at 14:13

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2016 at 14:13
Phil - I agree - BP fuels contain ethanol (by their own admission) - their 91 is essentially E10 but they charge the same as 91.

I also have vehicles that don't like ethanol so I also no longer use BP.
FollowupID: 870796

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2016 at 23:50

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2016 at 23:50
Not sure how petrol is relevant to the post but BP has two 91s - one with and one without ethanol (Regular 91). Perhaps not all servos have the regular 91 unleaded but most on the eastern shores (NSW, Qld) will have "E10" 91 because they are required by law to do so, despite the very much disputed environmental "benefits" of ethanol as a fuel.