GU 4.2TD gearing and test drive

Submitted: Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 22:33
ThreadID: 13285 Views:2587 Replies:10 FollowUps:14
I am about to buy a new 4x4 to replace my 89 4.2 DX Patrol. No surprise for guessing I will be getting anther Nissan. I am leaning towards a 4.2 as I have had absolutely no trouble with the last one over 13 years. It suits my driving style and I managed to get 9.7l/km out of it in a variety of conditions over all that time (including towing, town and highway as well as offroad). As a result any economy advantage of the 3.0 does not phase me.

Problem is I have only been able to extract a very short test drive out of a dealer not in my area as he was aware I was not buying right there and then. I have driven a 3.0 several times and it was no surprise that it spins up really nicely and pulls more revs on the road. I was surprised at what appeared to be higher revs in the GU 4.2TD over my old truck and was hoping to use this forum as a defacto test drive of sorts. Although if anyone on the South Coast of NSW is willing to take me an a decent drive I am all ears.

My GQ indicates a constant 2150rpm at 100kmh. Is this the same as other vehicle get or has me tacho been wrong all this time?

What are current GU 4.2TD drivers getting when on the highway?

I fully understand the diff and gear ratio issue and the tyre size changes. However, I can still not account for my brief drive indicating that a new 4.2TD will be pulling about 2500rpm at 100kmh.

Just for interest what are the equivalent figures for a 3.0TD Nissan? Or any other vehicle you might like to advocate to me!!! This will be my third Nissan in a row over 16 years mind as the MQ SWB was just too small whan the kids came along.

Jamie

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 22:54

Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 22:54
I would go and drive another 3.0 and 4.2 never base it on one drive of one car, they are all different.

2500rpm at 100k's sounds very wrong

my GQ with 33's doesnt even hit 1800 to do 100ks
AnswerID: 60827

Follow Up By: Trol 04 - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 09:31

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 09:31
Truckster,

I run 33's on my GQ and it still sits on 2000 on the highway, I know a few others which are the same, I reckon your's might be a little wrong...

Trol.
FollowupID: 322553

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 15:37

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 15:37
Thats runnin off a GPS... Mines also Auto. your right on the standard speedo, its out miles, Im just to lazy to do the speedo drive gear change ($20!)
FollowupID: 322612

Reply By: Leroy - Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 23:06

Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 23:06
Hi Jamie,

3.0l sits on approx 2600RPm @ 100k

Leroy
AnswerID: 60830

Follow Up By: sean - Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 07:38

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 07:38
Revs in new Gu about 2200 so probably same as your GQ. Check diff and final ratios then you will know.

Economy. Figures being quoted for GU 4.2 with EGR seem to be about 14 to 15 litres per hundred. I dont believe anyone can get 12 or better on average.

I had a 3leeta and got rid of it for peace of mind but the 3 went a whole lot better right across the rev range. Simply no comparison on power.

I posted my name on drive.com.au or similar and put my location as a big city and the dealers rang me with very good prices.

Sean
FollowupID: 322448

Follow Up By: JamieMac - Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 17:56

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 17:56
Glad to se at least someone gets closer to the guestimated revs I was expecting Sean.

As for economy I posted the units back to front it is actually 9.7km/l or about 10.4l/100km or about 26.5mpg. Towing a fully loaded box trailer from QLD to NSW and a fully loaded gargo area (with dog) and too much on the roof, I got about 23mpg sitting pretty much on the posted speed or a touch over including the 110kmh section north of Rocky (don't tell MR Plod). Not so on the bigger hills obviously.

Like I said in my original post my driving style is suited to the 4.2. And in cse you all think you have seen the back of my car at the front of long lines of traffic I do my share of overtaking. It does take a bit longer in the old girl and we spend a lot more time on the blacktop now hence the move into a more suitable chariot.

Jamie
FollowupID: 322475

Follow Up By: JamieMac - Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 18:01

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 18:01
forgot this bit, must have been carried away with my self gratification above.

I am negotiating at about $57k on road with the current offer of bull bar tow bar and driving lights, and including a snorkle and cargo barrier and perhaps a few bits of slap on plastic or mats. How does that compare?

I have a mate who paid just over $56k for a 3leeta so dont suspect ther is much more in it to get out of them.
FollowupID: 322477

Follow Up By: JamieMac - Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 20:18

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 20:18
Oh there is always something you forhet until the microsecond after yo press submit:

that was with a safety pack as well
FollowupID: 322496

Reply By: Michael - Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 12:53

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 12:53
Hi Jamie, I'm getting 900km out of 115 litres on daily freeway,GU 4.2 TDI, Goes like a train. The 3litre makes more noise and the diff ratio is lower, therefore higher final revs. I think if you are considering the 4,2 then you must be prepared to pay the extra so there is really need to consider the 3 litre. The 4.2 only electronic bit on the motor is an electronically controled EGR valve and it will probably run without it connected. It still has the old mechanical fuel pump with tolerates dirty fuel much better that the 3 litre. If you are looking for the best performing engine , well there isn't much in it. Pay the extra, you will get it back when you sell it and you will sell it privately, very easily, as you will find out when you sell your current vehicle.
AnswerID: 60864

Follow Up By: Michael - Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 12:55

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 12:55
Jamie, what do you call the south coast, I'm at Moss Vale if thats any help. My vehicle its the latest series 11months old with 63,000km on it.
Best regards Michael
FollowupID: 322459

Follow Up By: JamieMac - Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 20:17

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 20:17
Hi Micheal, I am near Jervis Bay and am speaking to the local Nowra dealer. They (and most others) never seem to have a 4.2 to demo. As a result I have only been for a quick drive around some Sydney streets. My guestimate revs were based on doubling those registered at 50 and 60kmh runs on a slight downhill (so as not to annoy the brand new gearbox too much).

A short ditty from the drive! The sales girl who I drove with had no idea about 4x4s ( I know many don't male or femaile) so when the LH hub started to make an great howling noise she was overawed. A quick check revealed that the RH hub was locked and the LH was in auto and obviously not happy in a state between in and out. The fast remedy as I did not have time fish around for the lever was to engage 4WD to put LH hub in and then disengage 4WD without reversing to keep it in. Worked well for the test drive but I suspect they did not fix it after we got back to the yard. If you get a white ST 4.2TD minus safety pack from McGraths Nissan in Sutherland then keep an eye on this.

Jamie
FollowupID: 322495

Follow Up By: JamieMac - Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 21:07

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 21:07
One more thing Micheal, I presume, based on the local freeway speeds, that you are sitting on at least 110kmh when you say freeway? Does yous have cruise control? If so how does it go especially on the hilly sections?

Jamie
FollowupID: 322510

Follow Up By: Michael - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 10:08

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 10:08
Hi Jamie. That is mainly at 120 kph, I drive to Bankstown daily so have to do 120 kph or i never get there. No one holds a 4.2 in stock because they are a slow seller.. Moss Vale Nissan told me the breakup of the 3 engines, Something like 15 only petrol, 7 only 4.2 and the rest 3.0L. That is not correct but similar so not much good holding a 4.2 if you cant sell it.. i found the same problem for a test drive. I have looked at the revs but cant give you definates . I know in 5th 130kph is 3000 rpm, with standard tyres. I'm changing my original tyres this week so i should write some figures down for comparison. If you are up this way, happy to let you test drive, i check the forum most days if i have a moment.
Michael
FollowupID: 322559

Follow Up By: JamieMac - Wednesday, Jun 02, 2004 at 15:21

Wednesday, Jun 02, 2004 at 15:21
Micheal

have negotiated a deal I am happy with but still would love a drive how do we organise it? This weekend would be good.

for interest sake $57,500 drive away for a 4.2 Manual ST with Safety Pack, Bbar, Tbar, DLights, Safari Snorkle, Cargo Barrier, Roof Bars, Mats, HLight Protectors, Bonnet Pratector and weather shields.

I guess they are still making a profit but it is a shipload off the starting price.

Jamie
FollowupID: 322830

Reply By: Roly - Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 17:21

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 17:21
GU 4.2 TDi has 4.1 diffs, not sure what your old one has..

i'm reading this from the sales brochure i got today
AnswerID: 60882

Reply By: Roly - Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 17:23

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 17:23
damn clicked submit

the 3.0 has 4.375, both cars have the same gearbox ratios

the 3.0 does about 2600-2700 so 2500 sounds about right
AnswerID: 60883

Follow Up By: JamieMac - Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 17:46

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 17:46
Thanks Roly,

the brochure I have indicatates that the GU 4.2TD has 3.900 diffs so I am a bit curious about the source for 4.111 as that is what my old GQ is listed as having. The 5th gear is listed for each as 0.850 for both 4.2 and 3.0 GU with my GQ at 0.836 from its service manual.

Based on my GQ with the same tyres (which I know they are not!) I calculated the GU 4.2 should be doing about 2050 - 2100 at 100kmh. Even after allowing for the smaller tyre size of the 265/70 16 on the GU I dont get 2500?

That is why I was suspecting that maybe my GQ tacho has been out all this time.

Taking the figures directly from GU 3.0 to the 4.2 then 2500 seems fairly easy calculation giving me further reason to be suspect of my tacho I suppose. However, I have compared notes with others over the years and this is the first time I have come to this conclusion. Perhaps My diffs are not as advertised?

There must be some reason and I am seeking the wealth of knowledge through this forum and I appreciate your reply and that of all the others

Jamie
FollowupID: 322474

Reply By: Roly - Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 17:52

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 17:52
i just double checked, oops

the wagon is 3.9 for the 4.2TDi

i was reading the ute brochure which has the 4.111 diffs

strange they put different ratio's in the wagon to the ute

the ute does come with 265/75's and the wagon 265/70 however

the gearboxes are the same for both
AnswerID: 60890

Reply By: Member - Roachie- Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 19:22

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 19:22
Jamie,
Mine is a 2000 4.2T/D with 265/75R16s instead of the 70 series they came with.
The speedo is about 7% out as checked against my GPS (when the speedo shows 100klm, the GPS shows 107k/h).
At 100k/h on the GPS I'm running a shade over 2000 rpm (say 2050).
My fuel consumption (based on odometer NOT GPS) has averaged 15.63 litres per 100klm over it's life so far (3.5 years and 125,000 klm on the clock ......actually about 133,500klm if you allow for the 7% difference in speedo reading).
Hope this helps you too. As far as I know, they haven't changed any ratios with the current TDi model.
I chose the 4.2 mainly because it HAS old technology and I might have half a chance of fixing any unexpected problems as well as the VERY FLAT torque curve of the 4.2 which hits peak torque at around 2000rpm and holds it right up through the ("useable" in my opinion) revs to about 3,500rpm.
AnswerID: 60909

Follow Up By: Shawn - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 07:46

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 07:46
Roachie,
Thanks for that Info a while back.
Shawn
FollowupID: 322538

Reply By: Shawn - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 07:43

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 07:43
Jamie,
My 4.2TDi sits on 100kph at 2150/2200 revs so no real difference to yours. I'm getting around 13.5 ltrs to 100 klms.
Shawn
AnswerID: 60963

Reply By: Trol 04 - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 09:32

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 09:32
Jamie,

See my recent post about purchasing a GU Patrol if your keen on a bargain!

AnswerID: 60970

Reply By: Michael - Friday, Jun 04, 2004 at 09:35

Friday, Jun 04, 2004 at 09:35
Hi Jamie, Ring me on 0438 260157 Thanks Michael
AnswerID: 61628

Follow Up By: JamieMac - Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 08:41

Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 08:41
Thanks Micheal, I have placed an order so it may be too late to arrange. Also, believe it or not, Nowra dealer has just had a 4.2 ST delivered that I should be able to drive.
FollowupID: 323409