Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6X6

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 25, 2016 at 20:49
ThreadID: 132854 Views:5565 Replies:8 FollowUps:15
Thought you might be interested in reading about this Mercedes, price is unknown , it's POA , but the Mercedes-Benz G500 is listed as 236,000 € so the 6x6 must be very expensive, some info on Mechatronics , they are in Germany and restore older model Mercedes into better than new condition , the Soccer Arena at Aspach where I go for the Concerts is named Mechatronics Arena, this is the first time I have seen 4X4's on their list, I follow them on Facebook.
Here's the links
Mercedes-Benz G500 4X4
Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6X6
I'd love to have the G63 6X6.
German Company Brabus modified a Mercedes 6X6 the specs are awesome
6 wheels and 700 HP
Have fun reading and now the Merc knockers can be let loose.

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Saturday, Jun 25, 2016 at 21:09

Saturday, Jun 25, 2016 at 21:09
G'day Doug,
Nothing wrong with the M-B G series stuff.

We had a M-B G300D wagon on the station in '85, VERY nice to drive. Had a bit of trouble breaking steering dampers, but I suppose when one was using it how we were using it........

Only automatic transmission that I have seen tow-start a Cat 14 grader. Was very impressed with it, and still wouldn't mind getting my hands on one.
AnswerID: 601815

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 00:50

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 00:50
The Australian Army has purchased a total of 2146 Mercedes G-Wagons in 4x4 and 6x6 versions, it will be interesting to see how they hold up, and what their overall reliability and life-cycle cost is, as compared to the Land Rovers.

The old Landies were pretty crude, but they were fixable, and they had no electronics.

The new Army Mercs feature electric windows, air con, 3 electric diff locks, and a host of other "switchable" features.
All great when they're working - but what happens when they stop working?
You need an army of technicians then, to keep them running.

Only time will tell I guess. The problem with so much German stuff is, the repair costs, and parts costs, are out of this world.

Someone has to keep German industry rolling in Scrooge McDuck-sized money bins, I guess - but it sure isn't going to be this little black duck.

I back away, holding out a cross, to all German-built stuff. I've learnt my lesson.
I owned a Magirus-Deutz truck many years ago, and that Deutz was certainly an education in how to get your cloaca ripped wide open, whenever you fronted the parts counter!

I guess it's lucky the Defence Dept has full and unfettered access to that bottomless pit of money, called the Aussie Taxpayer!

New G-Wagons for the Army (2010)

ADF G-Wagons - Test Drive
AnswerID: 601820

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 08:19

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 08:19
G,day Ron

I guess your right when it comes to buying spares, the costs would apply to us who go to the counter and buy 1 part as needed, I would presume the Australian Army would buy in bulk, they should have enough parts to build one, buying in bulk would reduce the cost, besides I would rather our Military had German or Japanese vehicles over Chinese, of course the Army has the Unimog .

FollowupID: 871369

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 08:41

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 08:41
Hmm, just read the test drive linky...only 1500KG towing capacity?

Suppose they don't need to tow heavy caravans, only those dinky army trailers, but still.....
FollowupID: 871370

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 09:44

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 09:44
That 1500kg is a true off-road rating. Means it will still perform without breaking anything with that load. All the military stuff is down rated compared to the on road figures you normally see.
A
FollowupID: 871373

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 10:50

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 10:50
Yep, the military load ratings are always halved as compared to civvy load ratings.
The important thing the defence chiefs want to see is if the vehicle still performs up to scratch, with it's specified load, over ALL conditions.
FollowupID: 871376

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 12:50

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 12:50
Does the Army have to take the pink leather, or is that optional? Lol

FollowupID: 871380

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 16:54

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 16:54
Mechtronics? Wonder if its anything like the "mechtronics" in my VW caddy. If so, we'll be back to horse-drawn soon after the start of the next war.
FollowupID: 871382

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 22:53

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 22:53
Paul E6... Haaa I don't think so, can't go into too much detail here or we'll be off topic but they do up older cars absolutely beautiful, recently they did a one & only Mercedes SLS AMG GT3S on the planet , check em out on Facebook

FollowupID: 871396

Reply By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 07:17

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 07:17
Met some servicemen just last year testing some 6x6 Toyotas in the desert. Won't say where . . .

They preferred the Toyotas over the G wagons but what can you tell Canberra ZIP.

Been there.

PS: Ron N, Don't know about a bottomless pit mate. It was pure s*&t each year even to get what we wanted for admin services. Just for office space, stationary and admin staff!!!! Way out of line mate. I first started working on a new 6x6 back in the mid 80's and it's taken how many years to get them. I hope that you can add up.
AnswerID: 601821

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 09:58

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 09:58
Tour company Outback Spirit have many G wagons including 6 x 6 and they love them. They get the military spec models not domestic variety - not sure of the differences but obviously heaps more expensive. http://www.outbackspirittours.com.au/travelling-with-us/coaches
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 601831

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 10:59

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 10:59
Phil - Yikes!! They'd wanna be good, at a price that looks like about 4 or 5 times the price of any other comparable offering from Toyota!!

From the Outback Spirit site ....

"Outback Spirit’s investment in this fleet of Mercedes Benz G Wagons is close to $4 million, or nearly $2 million per convoy.
They are the most expensive commercial expedition fleets in Australian travel history, with an average PER SEAT CAPITAL COST of over $100,000." (my capitals).

On that basis, a 3 seater is $300,000, a 5 seater is $500,000!
I wonder if you get gold-plated levers and knobs, like the Arabs, for that kind of money?? [:-)

FollowupID: 871377

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 11:06

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 11:06
Yep big $$$ eh. But 16 trips, with 18 clients at roughly $10,000 per customer - that's big $$$ (approx $3m) as well and that's only the CSR travel.

It must be working for them because OST seem to be going from strength to strength.
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 601834

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 11:12

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 11:12
That AMG gear is never short of "neddies", Doug.

With 400kw available in the 6x6, can just see it flying over the surface of Lake Disappointment, to regrettably run out of power(unlikely!), or traction, sink into the salty surface, and remain there as a steely outcrop, or an artificial reef, depending on the seasons.

However, wouldn't mind cleaning out my shed a little, to fit one in there. Make mine a Highway Yellow, please?

AnswerID: 601835

Follow Up By: ian.g - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 12:03

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 12:03
You would have to do more than clean my shed out to fit that in, would have to build a new bigger shed, and the cost would be prohibitive so no new Benz for this black duck.
FollowupID: 871379

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 12:53

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 12:53
Ha ha, not likely one here either, Ian! Herself would have strong words about such a purchase........

"........ cleaning out my shed a little." Very much TIC, if you could see the interior of my shed. :-)

FollowupID: 871381

Follow Up By: Member - Ozymandias - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2016 at 19:53

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2016 at 19:53
Actually about two weeks ago a Mercedes something did get bogged crossing a salt pan off Lake Disappointment. It was a bit wider and a bit heavier than your average 4wd so in it went. They got a machine out from a mine to pull it out but that got stuck as well. Eventually they transported a 14 tonne dozier from Newman to pull them both out, which happened the day before we got there.
FollowupID: 871525

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2016 at 22:51

Wednesday, Jun 29, 2016 at 22:51
There were a couple of photos recently on Facebook, Ozy, on the CSR page. Looked like a couple of Merc trucks, not these mentioned in Doug's thread.

There was also a photo of the loader in some distress too. :-(
Good photo,

FollowupID: 871535

Follow Up By: Ron N - Thursday, Jun 30, 2016 at 11:17

Thursday, Jun 30, 2016 at 11:17
Gee, won't those ruts be a great trap for the next unsuspecting 4WD'er when they fill up with water!?
You'd think they'd at least have made some attempt to fill them in.
After all, they appear to have brought in roadbase fill to improve the track.

Reminds me of the time, about 1986, when I carefully graded the East end of the (old) Hyden-Norseman Rd.
I went to great pains to fill in every boghole, and make a great track out of what was becoming a PIA to drive through.

Then we got a heap of rain right after I graded it (it was about June) - and the Army promptly decided now was a great time to go for a drive with a massive convoy of 'Mogs - just a day after the rain, and right through the freshly graded section of road I'd just done.

They buried the 'Mogs to the axles in every single hole I'd filled in, and the track ended up just as bad, as before I started on it! (insert crying icon here).

FollowupID: 871545

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Jun 30, 2016 at 12:50

Thursday, Jun 30, 2016 at 12:50
Wouldn't have taken much for the loader driver to fill them in, Ron, but after being bogged for X number of days, he was probably so p!ssed off, he just wanted out of there!!!

Yeah, will be a trap for young players, and old ones too, for some years to come.

FollowupID: 871553

Reply By: garrycol - Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 15:02

Sunday, Jun 26, 2016 at 15:02
Oh course the G wagen is not really a Mercedes Benz but is a Puch G Wagen designed and built in Austria by Magna Steyr - formally Steyr Puch. It is still sold as the Puch G and in some markets and sold as a Mercedes Benz in other markets.

The Puch G wagen was a replacement for Haflinger and was also sold as a Peugeot in France with a different engine.

The vehicle is not made by MB but is badge engineered and with the MB badge is the most popular.
AnswerID: 601839

Reply By: Robert C21 - Monday, Jun 27, 2016 at 00:03

Monday, Jun 27, 2016 at 00:03
If you want to know there is a Mercedes G63 6x6 in U.S for $975,000
AnswerID: 601857

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Monday, Jun 27, 2016 at 12:35

Monday, Jun 27, 2016 at 12:35
No problems...I'll have 2..

FollowupID: 871405