Article Comment: Great Central Road

Hello everyone,
In december 2016 and january 2017 I will be visiting family in Fremantle, WA. I plan on hiring/buying a 4WD, and travel across the Great Central Road in january. I know I'll have to prepare for a lot of stuff (fuel, water, maybe a satellite phone?, permits,...) I have some experience with off road driving, and corrugated roads, as I did a six month trip in Australia about 6 years ago. BUT, I want to ask if driving the Great Central Road in the month of january is managable, heatwise and road condition wise... Thanx for any advice! Grts, Simon.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: AlanTH - Friday, Jul 15, 2016 at 10:48

Friday, Jul 15, 2016 at 10:48
It'll be hot for one thing Simon but still doable. Several places to stop along there including the Tjukariyla Roadhouse. Don't stay at Docker River campground as from many reports you'll have a high likelihood of theft from your camp.
We found various spots where we could get right off the road and be unseen from those driving past. Quite a lot of them had the tracks and entrances ripped and dozed but we could easily drive around them and get into an area suitable.
Enjoy the ride even if it is a bit sweaty.
AlanH.
AnswerID: 602438

Follow Up By: Simon D. - Friday, Jul 15, 2016 at 17:38

Friday, Jul 15, 2016 at 17:38
I prefer camping in the wild (but safely of course), and I don't mind sweating :-)
FollowupID: 872041

Follow Up By: Member - MARIC - Saturday, Jul 16, 2016 at 23:31

Saturday, Jul 16, 2016 at 23:31
May I beg to differ July 2015, Docker River no problems road corrugated NT side of the border, not bad at all WA side when we passed through
It is only when you see mosquito land on your testicles that you find another way to solve problems without violence

My Profile  My Position  Send Message

FollowupID: 872093

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, Jul 15, 2016 at 12:33

Friday, Jul 15, 2016 at 12:33