Compressors

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 19:17
ThreadID: 133222 Views:4335 Replies:11 FollowUps:5
Can anyone shed any light on the Bumper Air Compressor MK11 $84.50 from 4WD Super Centre.
Keen to know if they are any good.
Rob
The outback calls

Reply By: Member - Roachie - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 19:40

Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 19:40
G'day Rob, long time no speak!!! hahaha

Hope you are both keeping well.

I guess you meant to type "Thumper" (not "Bumper")?

I just had a look at their site and the video of the comparo with 3 other compressors.

I'm now feeling a little ripped-off, because I have the Iron Man one shown in the comparo. I don't think I paid as much as they reckon (think mine was a show special @ about $175- from memory).

They look almost identical and I reckon one is a knock-off of the other. I also carry a spare compressor which I got off ebay for about $80- and it too looks identical (except it is red).

My IronMan is hard-wired to an 18 litre tank and runs my 4 sets (yes "sets"...!!!) of air horns etc.

Providing the Thumper unit has the longevity that I've had from the Iron Man unit, I'd have to say you can't really go wrong.

You have a decent sized set of tyres and I reckon you need a good quality compressor. Good luck with that one....fingers crossed that it goes the distance.

Roachie....Don't follow me....I'm lost!

AnswerID: 603396

Follow Up By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 19:55

Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 19:55
Hi Roachie, good to hear from you. All is well with us.
I did mean THUMPER.
Thanks for your thoughts on this item.
Rob
The outback calls

FollowupID: 873029

Reply By: Stretch69 - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 19:41

Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 19:41
I'm keen to hear about this compressor too.
AnswerID: 603397

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 19:47

Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 19:47
I've read reasonable reviews on the Thumper, but after my first and last dealing with 4WDSC, I would say it was without a doubt the worst customer service experience I have ever had in my approx 40 years of being a consumer.

To put this inpersepctive, I have NEVER had cause to complain about any supplier that I can ever recall, 4WDSC was the only one, and boy were they deplorable.

Just be aware, you might be lucky and order / receive your goods without issues, you might not.
I for one couldn't care less if they advertised an item I wanted for half price or less than it can be bought for elsewhere . . . I will buy elsewhere every time in future.
AnswerID: 603398

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor_H - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 21:08

Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 21:08
Seems TIGRZ11 is the same place!
FollowupID: 873032

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 21:10

Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 21:10
Yes, and EMG (4WD Action) group.
FollowupID: 873033

Reply By: Paul and Mel - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 20:09

Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 20:09
I was also going to say that the 4WD centre stuff isn't highly regarded nor is the service.....
AnswerID: 603401

Reply By: marty d - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 20:32

Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 20:32
Gday , I too was pretty sceptical at first , then a mate put me onto them and may have been lucky , but the cheap Chinese gear ive bought of em is as good as everybody elses cheap chinese gear , only a fair bit cheaper ! . As yet I have had no reason to have to had to deal with their customer service dept , so can't comment , maybe im lucky ? , who know's , but gee they seem to move a massive amount of stock , cheers.
AnswerID: 603402

Reply By: Member - Trevor_H - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 21:00

Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 21:00
I have a TIGERZ11 compressor I purchased to use on a Big Lap trip with a camper trailer in 2014. I just looked up both sites (TIGERZ11 and 4WD SC) and they seem to be identical sites with a quick look.
The only problem I had with the compressor was, as is probably same with others) that the heat generated would soften the hose end and blow off the end fitting. I made up a heat dissipation device using 1 metre of soft drawn 12mm copper tube with bayonet fittings on each end, coiled into a 100 mm dia close coil. This clipped on between the compressor and hose....no further problem.
My friend had purchased the same compressor and I had to change his switch as it failed.
I fitted Anderson plugs mid lead so I can disconnect the alligator clips and plug into the Anderson plug at the back of the Prado.
Word of warning...keep the motor running as the compressor uses 40 amp from memory.
AnswerID: 603403

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 21:19

Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 21:19
"Word of warning...keep the motor running as the compressor uses 40 amp from memory."

Yes, that's the go with all compressors, they all suck up the power.
Keep the vehicles motor running for sure.
FollowupID: 873034

Reply By: Hoyks - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 22:15

Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 22:15
I'm another one that has a clone of this compressor. Mine was $80 on eBay, but looks exactly the same

As said before, the compressor works well, they have scrimped on the hose though.

Buy the compressor, but factor in some $$ for quality hose and repair fittings. The compressors do create a lot of heat that would be dissipated by an air tank on a compressor at home, but all goes into the plastic hose on the portable job. If you do use it a lot, it will blow a hose, so better to be prepared and it won't be a drama.
AnswerID: 603406

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 22:38

Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 22:38
I've had 2 of these 160L/min compressors but different brands that look like they came from the same factory.
The first was Terrain Tamer brand (?TT3) - had plenty of use over 5 years and never missed a beat.
Last year I bought n identical looking unit off Bitdeals on Ebay - same specs and it also works fine for $79. Let my son have the Terrain Tamer unit.

I have to say these compressors are fast and so far have lasted well. But what is posted above about heat is true - I used an initial length of rubber hose to manage the heat on them. They use 22 amps with no load and up to 45 amps with a load so you need some pretty good wiring.
AnswerID: 603407

Reply By: Michael H9 - Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 22:54

Sunday, Aug 14, 2016 at 22:54
I bought one and it didn't turn on. I got the run around big time trying to exchange it, to the point where I took it apart completely, found the soldered wire connection that had broken and fixed it myself. I'll never buy off them again.
AnswerID: 603408

Reply By: Malcom M - Monday, Aug 15, 2016 at 09:59

Monday, Aug 15, 2016 at 09:59
EMG (4WD Action publisher) bought into Tigerz11, Roo System's and 4WDSC years ago.
Shortly thereafter Roothie, Glenn Haddon (Roo) and Tigerz all departed but EMG still owns the equipment side of things.

Absolutely hopeless company to deal with (EMG is an absolute shocker) but if you do get a 4WDSC person interested then they do back their warranties very well.

I have a couple of their winches and broke a small internal part whilst servicing it. Rang them and they advised that I was under warranty (I didn't ask this) but they didn't have the part so would I accept an entire new winch instead...

Can't get better than that.
AnswerID: 603413

Reply By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2016 at 10:35

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2016 at 10:35
Thanks to everyone for your input.
Rob
The outback calls

AnswerID: 603438

Follow Up By: Member - abqaiq - Thursday, Sep 29, 2016 at 13:15

Thursday, Sep 29, 2016 at 13:15
One thing I noticed and then asked about is compressor duty cycle (how long can it run at what pressure), but only got duh from most vendors. Perhaps they think that you will get your tires filled before the thing overheats/cuts out. I built an AC compressor into an air compressor on our LC80 in Saudi (there is an outfit here that offers similar). Worked amazing, refilled our 4 big specialty sand tires and 4 more while the little 12v ones did two tires. Sadly there is no room in a 2003 Troopy for such a thing. So I tried two 12v ones, not happy! Then a little research got me to a 12v Boss with a 100% duty cycle at 100 psig for ~$250 delivered. Added a 5 gal Al tank and manual or auto pressure switch control. My setup uses a 70 amp relay that closes only when the engine/alternator is on and a 40 amp fuse (came on the compressor). Real simple and all hidden behind body panel access doors..

One point:: When using relays always be sure to cover all of the push on power in connector with shrink tubing just in case the power lead (which is direct to battery) comes lose on the corrugations! Just a though.
FollowupID: 874509