Free camp spot between Rocky and Mackay

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 17:15
ThreadID: 133402 Views:5067 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
Heading to Townsville from Brissie the first Saturday of Qld school holidays. Looking for a spot to pull over with the Jayco for a quick overnight stop.

Ideally about an hour or so north of Rocky. Thanks.

Reply By: Member - nick b - Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 20:45

Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 20:45
just north of Rocky is ~ Yaamba rest area ~ very popular spot
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 604227

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 21:28

Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 21:28
I'll second Yaamba res area ..... plenty of room to get off the road, modest but well maintained toilets tables, birds....... walking distance to the pub for a coldie or a counter lunch.

Right at the beginning of the M'brough Stretch ...... and you will make T'ville from there on the second day if you don't sleep in.

Recommended stops along the way ..... Gympie park ...... its about 2 hours from Bris, you can get a vehicle and trailer off the road, ducks, geese and other birds for amusement ..... tables to sit at. toilets.

Childers ... mamino icecream ( you must), peanut van, clean toilets about 4 hours ..... room to get off the road.

Borroron ....... 6 hours, tidy rest area, toilets, tables shop across the road

The Yaamba of course

We usually fuel at The big crab at Mirriam Vale ( price always good) and Rocky non the way north ... rush hour at Rocky starts at 3pm.

FollowupID: 873962

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 21:35

Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 21:35
That stretch from Rocky to Mackay is worth tackling after a good night's sleep, especially during school holidays.

FollowupID: 873963

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 23:32

Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 23:32
Its not so bad in the afternoon but you want to be on it before 3pm ...... its pretty thick with skippies in parts after dark.

FollowupID: 873965

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 23:51

Thursday, Sep 08, 2016 at 23:51
An hour and a quarter takes you to Marlborough. Both the Caltex SS and the pub have showers. The caravan park along the highway is OK as well. Yaamba is about half an hour past Rocky. The choice is yours.

AnswerID: 604229

Reply By: 9900Eagle - Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 07:07

Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 07:07
Waverley Creek on the highway near St Lawrence half way between Rocky and Mackay is a good spot. Showers and toilets.

You should be able to google it and there may even be photos.
AnswerID: 604230

Follow Up By: Hoyks - Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 13:40

Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 13:40
I have stayed here a few times. It has been tricked up over the years, but still a handy free camp and is about 1/2 way.

Google Map.
FollowupID: 873973

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Sunday, Sep 11, 2016 at 09:38

Sunday, Sep 11, 2016 at 09:38
Should have added. If you go further north you can also stay at the Caltex truck Ilbilbe. There is a large grassed area on the way in and also showers and toilets. Just see them at the servo as they are a pretty good bunch and they keep things clean.

Just stay clear of the truck area behind the servo as it can get pretty busy.

FollowupID: 874030

Reply By: Member - nick b - Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 12:33

Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 12:33
Another good spot , but not free is the Moana caravan park 20 minites south of Mackay on the corner of Hay point rd & Bruce hwy ( new roundabout ) ......It looks run down from the road but the camping out the back is like new ~ grassed with a good camp kitchen & for $20 p/night :-) .... I can recommend it !!!
met a great bunch of people here ... the park revolves around the camp kitchen & amenities block ...

There is also Alligator creek a bit south that is a free camp .
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 604240

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 19:23

Friday, Sep 09, 2016 at 19:23
Wikicamps show plenty of spots.

AnswerID: 604253

Reply By: Member - Big A - Saturday, Sep 10, 2016 at 11:22

Saturday, Sep 10, 2016 at 11:22
If the migration south is on at the time, you will have to pull up just after lunchtime to get a spot at any of the popular low cost camps, I reckon.

Big A.
AnswerID: 604273

Reply By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Sunday, Sep 11, 2016 at 08:47

Sunday, Sep 11, 2016 at 08:47
When I was a Truckie I often stayed overnight at Tooloomba Ck Roadhouse, of course the loads were over size, but not sure about tourists, and if the same owner is there, I'm going back to 1980's into the 90's .

AnswerID: 604285

Follow Up By: Genny - Thursday, Sep 15, 2016 at 08:56

Thursday, Sep 15, 2016 at 08:56
Tooloombah Creek Roadhouse was shut for quite a few years. It opened again a couple of years ago. I don't travel that way often, but it looked like it is struggling for business the few times I have gone past. Quite a large grassed area there, from memory. They do have a Facebook page.

Tooloombah Creek Roadhouse
FollowupID: 874150

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Thursday, Sep 15, 2016 at 09:52

Thursday, Sep 15, 2016 at 09:52
Thanks Genny, I have been trying to make contact with the previous owner Terry Burgess, I phoned the hotel in Marlborough and he told me it is now owned by Indians but Terry's Son Geoff works there , and I did not know they had Facebook, and the bloke cleaning the tables on the FB site is Geoff so I'll send a message to him, your post has been a big help.

FollowupID: 874156

Reply By: mynance - Monday, Sep 12, 2016 at 21:28

Monday, Sep 12, 2016 at 21:28
Checked out Yaamba in May, pub smelt like cat pee and camp ground reminded us of a scene from Deliverance.
Kept going till we got to Marlborough Hotel about a 1 Klm off the highway. $10 a night clean showers and good meals
Myles
AnswerID: 604329