GPS loadable maps

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 08, 2016 at 23:04
ThreadID: 133738 Views:4009 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Hi All

I'm just learning to use a GPS and looking to buy a Garmin GPSmap 64s handheld. Searching the forum it isn't clear to me the best way to go with loadable background maps (not sure if I even want them yet).

For bushwalking how helpful is the TOPO? (I've been learning with an old Garmin 72 and did OK without background data, but the LCD display has now died)
For those of us with eyes that aren't what they used to be, how readable are the colorful displays in different lights?
Should I pay upfront for TOPO on an SD card?
Is there any difference purchasing and loading later?
There seems to be some support for the free Shonky maps, what are the pros and cons?
What alternatives do those with experience suggest?

Thanks in advance
Dermie

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Tony G15 - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2016 at 09:39

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2016 at 09:39
OZTOPO on SD card is very good. Have used it on a couple of GPS units. Good detail with contour lines.
AnswerID: 605775

Reply By: maurice b - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2016 at 12:09

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2016 at 12:09
Buy the GARMIN TOPO MAPS AUSTRALIA & NEW ZEALAND V5 on ebay and give them a try. They will work on Nuvi's including the Garmin 64 and other models .It is also routable but don't trust it in remoter area's . I personal don't like shonky map . You can create your own maps using OSM and they a very detailed. Join the Garmin 62/64 Yahoo group lots of info .However you would have a lot more selection of maps using ios and Android apps including Oziexplorer a lot easier for vehicle touring
AnswerID: 605777

Reply By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2016 at 12:21

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2016 at 12:21