Birdsville in Easter

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 27, 2016 at 21:05
ThreadID: 133851 Views:4381 Replies:6 FollowUps:13
This is a trip I've been waiting to do for along time and finally got leave. Most of our past trips have been on sealed roads so this will be quite an adventure and a learning experience.

I hoping to get some more insight what prep work i need to do, what equipment/resources I need to take, and just a general things to look out for.

I’ve gone through travel time, with a mix of Google Maps, Hema Maps and trips done by other users in Hema Cloud.

This is our travel plan:
Sun, 9-Apr-2017 Coober Pedy
Mon, 10-Apr-2017 Oodnadatta
Tue, 11-Apr-2017 Oodnadatta
Wed, 12-Apr-2017 Williams Creek
Thu, 13-Apr-2017 Marree
Fri, 14-Apr-2017 Birdsville
Sat, 15-Apr-2017 Birdsville
Sun, 16-Apr-2017 Innamincka
Mon, 17-Apr-2017 Innamincka
Tue, 18-Apr-2017 cameron's corner
Wed, 19-Apr-2017 Tibooburra
Thu, 20-Apr-2017 Tibooburra
Fri, 21-Apr-2017 Broken Hill
Sat, 22-Apr-2017 Melbourne

Setup:
2 people.
Toyota Prado 120. Dual battery, Solar Panels, Fridge
40L of water, refilling every chance we get
40L of diesel (Prado has 180 tank)
1 x spare tyre
4.5kg gas bottle (mounted on the roof rack on a bracket)

Accommodation:
Planning to utilize as much free camping as possible

Reply By: Jon W (Toow - Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 08:25

Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 08:25
Hi Rangana. A couple of comments on your itinerary. I assume that as you are finishing in Melbourne that it is also your start point. Melbourne to Coober Pedy is, conservatively, 16 hours. Broken Hill to Melbourne is, conservatively, 9 hours. From our experience, I would query overnighting at Cameron's Corner as Innamincka to Tib is an easy day's drive. I would also query two nights in Tib. My advice would be to overnight there and then overnight in White Cliffs before heading to BH. It is definitely worthwhile, IMO, spending more than one night in BH. Equipment wise, I would suggest also carrying a tyre puncture kit, PLB and UHF radio. IMO an extra 40 L of diesel might be unnecessary given your onboard capacity. Just some thoughts. Enjoy.
AnswerID: 606260

Follow Up By: Member - Rangana H - Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 09:06

Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 09:06
Hi Jon

Thank you for you're reply.

We are starting from Port Augusta. (probably should have mentioned that in the OP).

had a quick look at the maps, Tibooburra to Broken Hill is around 400-500ks. Not sure about the road conditions. Would it be worth while to drive straight from Tibooburra to BH instead of staying an night at White Cliffs. Is there much to explore in White Cliffs?

We are taking the usual recovery kit, straps and all that, air compressor, puncture kit, UHF and the car has a winch. I wouldn't imagine any of these roads would get us bogged but better to be safe than sorry.
FollowupID: 875979

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 11:47

Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 11:47
I agree with Jon W.
the extra diesel is probably not needed.
Where are you going to store the water and tyre (and diesel if carrying) as the Prado hasn't a great roof load capacity.
William
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

FollowupID: 875984

Follow Up By: Member - Rangana H - Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 11:59

Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 11:59
Hi William,

Spare will be at the back as per stock spare mount.
Water will go in the boot.
Diesel will have to go on the roof. (if we take it with us)

The only other gear we have on the roof are sleeping bags, 2 stretcher beds and the spare popup tents. Since theres only 2 of us, we have the 2 rear seats free as well.

FollowupID: 875985

Follow Up By: RussellFJ - Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 21:53

Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 21:53
Just a quick note , Tibooburra to Broken Hill is only 330K's,
with over half that now sealed ..

Do able in half a day ,including a quick photo stop at Milparinka

FollowupID: 876011

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 21:33

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 21:33
I had a 120 Prado for 7 years and did a lot of long range touring, including the abandoned section of the old Gunbarrel Hwy towing a 2200kg hybrid camper/van and including most of your routes. Never needed to carry extra fuel. I think you can ditch the extra 40 litres of fuel and carry a second spare tyre.

FollowupID: 876071

Reply By: cruza25 - Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 09:16

Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 09:16
I would maybe do 2 nights at Coober pedy and just stop at Oodnadatta for a break and a look around

Also maybe take 2 spares and forget the extra diesel
Just fuel up as required -- 180 lts on board is plenty
We did similar trip from Adelaide last year
AnswerID: 606261

Follow Up By: Member - Rangana H - Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 09:29

Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 09:29
Hi Cruza,

We've been to CP few times, CP and Port Augusta has now become one of those stop over towns on the way to other locations.

So we figured we would stop for one night and stock up from CP.

FollowupID: 875980

Reply By: Baz - The Landy - Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 09:18

Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 09:18
All doable and you are well set-up for a trip of this type, noting the Birdsville Track is quite a good road by outback standards.

The Development Road to the Cadelga Ruins turn-off is generally good, and south to Innamincka can be rough in some places.

One thought you might want to consider is whether you are trying to achieve too much at the expense of not seeing enough? The Birdsville and Corner Country region has much to offer visitors and more time in the area will reveal more of what the region has to offer.

And certainly, I get it if you want to drive through and overview the region.

But as an alternative route/itinerary you could consider the following, especially given you are backtracking to some extent on the Oodnadatta Track.

9 April – Maree
10 April – Mungerannie Hotel (half-way to Birdsville)
11 April – Birdsville
12 April – Birdsville – side trip to Big Red
13 April – Birdsville
14 April – Cadelga Ruins
15 April – Innamincka (via Cordello Downs)
16 April – Innamincka
17 April – Innamincka – side trip to Coongie Lakes
18 April – Tibooburra – via Bore track, Epsilon & Omnicron Stations & Toona Gate (I’ve written a log on this route)
19 April – Tibooburra – Explore Sturt National Park
20 April – Bush Camp or Station Stay tracking south from Milparinka towards Silverton
21 April – Silverton (Penrose Park – great place to camp, better than Broken Hill)
22 April – Melbourne

Cheers, Baz – The Landy

AnswerID: 606262

Follow Up By: Member - Rangana H - Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 09:47

Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 09:47
G'day Baz,

Thank you for that, ill look in to that today.

"trying to achieve too much at the expense of not seeing enough" this actually did cross my mind, since I haven't been to Birdsville and any of the towns on the way I have no idea.

Ideally we would like to explore as much as we can but i don't think the time we have is going to cut it.

Happy to skip the CP/Oodnadatta side as we'll be doing this later in 2017.

Again, thanks for the alt route, I'll do bit of research around that. :)
FollowupID: 875981

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 13:54

Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 13:54
I would endorse Baz's proposed itinerary. Especially the Innaminka-to-Tibooburra via the "Bore track, Epsilon & Omnicron Stations & Toona Gate" section. Nice run...... my old stamping grounds from 'the Santos days'.
Pity the Bore Track is now closed below the N.P. through Bollard's Lagoon Station. But Baz's route turns off before that anyway. And Cameron Corner is 'no-big-deal' unless it's on a bucket-list.

FollowupID: 875990

Follow Up By: Member - Rangana H - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 22:46

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 22:46
Hi Baz

With this I guess ill be skipping the strzelecki track. Is there not much to see/explore on that route?

FollowupID: 876073

Follow Up By: Baz - The Landy - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 22:58

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 22:58
Hi Rangana

Plenty to see long the Strzelecki, especially on the sections nearby to Innamincka and also closer to Lyndhurst.

If referencing to my suggestion to travel down the Bore track and Toona Gate into Tibooburra, my suggestion would be this route, but explore the sections of the "old" Strzelecki close to Innamincka if you spend a few days alongside the Cooper Creek around the Innamincka Reserve.

So much to see, that is the problem! Feel free to contact me directly, email on profile...

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 876076

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 15:52

Monday, Nov 28, 2016 at 15:52
Just a couple of thoughts. 1. That is plenty of driving, in that time period, for the long dusty gravelly roads indicated....that said though, happy camping is still quite doable. If you had time to break a couple of the longer legs into overnight camps that would add quality. 2. On long distance communications, just in case 'things' go pear shaped...while UHF is very handy, in my view it is a mistake to rely on that for possible serious events (and one shouldn't rely on other travelers necessarily being in the immediate area). For peace of mind, hiring a satphone, HF radio or one of the other distance communications options should be seriously considered.
As well as the excellent HEMA map products, the Westprint Maps have lots of informative annotations on special locations printed within the maps, along those routes....various authors have written great books on some of the outback routes too (Motoring Organisations etc. have them....an example isOutback SA and Birdsville.
That said....have a great time !
AnswerID: 606272

Reply By: Ozi M - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2016 at 08:52

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2016 at 08:52
I would swap the fuel for an extra spare tyre
AnswerID: 606294

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 21:37

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 21:37
Ditto.

Frank

FollowupID: 876072

Follow Up By: Member - Rangana H - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 22:51

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 22:51
Currently i have no way to store the spare. if it chuck it on the roof rack that'll pretty much take up all the weight for rack. Perhaps I should look in to get a one of those rear wheel carriers fitted before the trip
FollowupID: 876075

Reply By: Member - BUSH CAMPER - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 07:34

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 07:34
should be a great trip, we have done it towing an off road van. We only had 140 lts of diesel, getting 20.5 lts / 100 kms. You won't need the extra fuel if you keep topping up your tank. The lighter you travel the better.
If you have good tyres you should be OK. Reduce tyre pressure on non bitumen roads and travel at a comfortable speed.
Have you got a compressor? you will need it for sure.
If wet, the roads will be closed. Around Easter there will be plenty of other travellers so you will see plenty of vehicals.
Everybody helps one another, if anybody gets into trouble.
Take your time and enjoy your trip.
AnswerID: 606317

Follow Up By: Member - Rangana H - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 22:50

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2016 at 22:50
Hey mate,

yeah vote seems to be on ditching the extra fuel, I'm wondering if i should take extra water instead but I think 40L of water should be ok. We are taking heaps more just that 40L is the spare can.

FollowupID: 876074