I bought a Klaxon for the Landcruiser

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 13:08
ThreadID: 133978 Views:4953 Replies:7 FollowUps:23
Instead of the expected noise, the motor seems to be too powerful. I am thinking of using a resistor or variable resistor in the circuit to slow things down, but I am too rusty on Ohms Law to work out what is needed. The horn is 12 volt and is supposed to draw 3 amps. Variable resistors come is many different ohm ratings. Any electronics guru can offer advice please. (I know a klaxon is illegal on road)

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 13:31

Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 13:31
Don't some of the cruisers use 24volts for starting etc? You haven't got it hooked up to 24 volts instead of 12?
AnswerID: 606888

Follow Up By: TomH - Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 13:34

Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 13:34
They have two 450CCA batteries and are still only 12 volt At least mine was
FollowupID: 876598

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 13:45

Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 13:45
Hmm, I thought some of the six cylinder versions linked the two batteries for starting?
FollowupID: 876599

Follow Up By: Mikee5 - Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 14:01

Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 14:01
Even and old battery in the shed has same result , definitely 12 volts
FollowupID: 876600

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie - Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 17:57

Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 17:57
Notso....yes, a lot of the more recent Landcruisers have two batteries linked together....but they are linked "in parallel" ...NOT "in series". Latter would see the operating voltage @ 24 volts, but Landcruisers are definitely 12 volt systems.
Roachie....Don't follow me....I'm lost!

FollowupID: 876603

Reply By: TomH - Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 13:32

Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 13:32
Stick a piece of sponge in it to muffle it a bit Easiest fix, and not a cream sponge either
AnswerID: 606889

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 15:13

Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 15:13
G'day Mike, I'll do the Ohms maths for you.

If the horn is specced to draw 3 amps on 12 volts then its nominal resistance is 4 Ohms.

So a series resistor will reduce the current as follows:
A 1.0 Ohm resistor will reduce the current to 2.4A and provide 9.6V to the horn.
A 2.2 Ohm resistor will reduce the current to 1.9A and provide 8.0V to the horn.
A 3.3 Ohm resistor will reduce the current to 1.6A and provide 6.5V to the horn.
(Note that these A&V figures have been rounded)
The resistor would need to be wire-wound type and of 10 Watt rating.

You could maybe purchase just two 1.0 Ohm resistors. Then you could try one on its own for 2.4A, two in parallel for 0.5 Ohms and 2.6A, or two in series for 2.0 Ohms and 2.0A.
Jaycar 1.0 Ohm, 10W wire-wound resistor is part number RR-3340 at $1.80 each.

AnswerID: 606891

Follow Up By: Mikee5 - Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 19:18

Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 19:18
Wow, Allan. Thank you very much. That was the kind of answer I was hoping to get. Jaycar is almost my favourite store already, I will get there soon. Merry Christmas.
FollowupID: 876605

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 08:06

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 08:06
Our Allan always was a bit of a nerd.

FollowupID: 876622

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 08:44

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 08:44
-
Hey Phil, what do you mean "a BIT of a nerd"?

I was a full-blown nerd until I discovered girls and cars.

FollowupID: 876625

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 08:58

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 08:58
I can't think of a good reply Allan!! Me also. I studied Applied Mathematics at Uni of NSW until I went surfing - No regrets.

Merry Christmas my friend.

I will get busted for this post I bet.

PS: Been quiet for a while. Got a golden staphe infection and carrying a mobile drip in a bag around the waist for 6 weeks = no trips. Crook!!!!!! You don't want one of them. Nearly packed it in mate. At least able to join the family for Chrismas dinner.
FollowupID: 876626

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 13:19

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 13:19
-
Nah, you won't get busted Phil. It's Christmas... all the Mods are on holiday!
Besides, even the EO Newsletter said "Merry Christmas and Happy New Year".
And so it is to you my Good Friend. All the Best for the Yuletide.

No trips for me either this year. Caught a virus that went to pneumonia then antibiotics allergy complications. Was a bit rough for a while but not as crook as you thank God. Fine now and looking forward to the New Year.

FollowupID: 876633

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 20:20

Thursday, Dec 22, 2016 at 20:20
Hi Mikee5
I have had a genuine Klaxon in my shed for many years.
I recently cleaned it up and painted it bright red fitted it out with stainless acorn nuts.
It sits neatly under my bonnet and sounds great.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 606895

Reply By: TomH - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 09:41

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 09:41
If you lower the voltage too far it may not even work
AnswerID: 606907

Follow Up By: Mikee5 - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 12:55

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 12:55
Agreed. Trial and error wins the day.
FollowupID: 876631

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 13:06

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 13:06
-
Well, look on the bright side Tom.
If it doesn't work he won't get busted. lol

FollowupID: 876632

Follow Up By: TomH - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 15:00

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 15:00
Well I had Stebel Air horn that would melt steel at 50 paces and never got busted so I dont think anyone would get done for an old OO HA horn.

Also my late mate had an air horn off a semi in his Kingswood ute for years. Had a little air tank to run it and never got a ticket , but then he didnt advertise unless needed. LOL Woke a few thats for sure.
FollowupID: 876637

Reply By: pop2jocem - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 13:37

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 13:37
Maybe just showing my age here, but weren't the early Klaxons 6 volts, to match some of the cars of that bygone era?? I guess the later versions were produced in 12 v to match later vehicles.

Just as a matter of interest, why are they illegal to use on the street??

What an appropriate name though, from the Greek "to shriek"..........lol

AnswerID: 606923

Follow Up By: RMD - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 14:51

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 14:51
"Exzachary", I bet it is a 6v horn being asked to overrev on 12v. I too haven't seen a 12v model.
FollowupID: 876636

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 15:08

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 15:08
-
You may lose that bet RMD. The OP said it was 12V.
The internet abounds with offers of 12V Klaxons.

FollowupID: 876639

Follow Up By: Zippo - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 20:23

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 20:23
My one is certainly 6V.
FollowupID: 876643

Follow Up By: Mikee5 - Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 12:28

Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 12:28
RMD you lost the bet, 12 volts 3 amps. New off ebay. I used to own an original fitted to my FB, tapped the battery at the 6 volt bus to run it.
FollowupID: 876653

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 16:54

Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 16:54
Re legality...may be mentioned elsewhere in this post...far as I recall, a national road regulation says that warning devices on vehicles may only use one tone...makes sense I guess, (reserving multi-tone devices for emergency vehicles).
FollowupID: 876656

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 22:52

Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 22:52
As I remember, originally it was motor driven horns that were illegal.

FollowupID: 876659

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 20:32

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 20:32
Bit OT(but it is Chrissy!). When I worked on a station in the Kimberly, almost 50 years ago, we dug up an old Cow Caller car horn in the back of the workshop.

It ran on 12v, and had a small lever to control, or vary, the output. Funnier than a barrel of monkeys, and quite like a cow bellowing. We were later told it had been used to call up cattle out bush.....was quite successful apparently.

AnswerID: 606937

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 20:35

Friday, Dec 23, 2016 at 20:35
-
Might need to watch your back when using it Bob? lol

FollowupID: 876646

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 06:57

Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 06:57
My brother and I had a milk run in Killarny Heights in Sydney for many years.
We went over to afternoon deliveries and yes they forgot to put the milk bottles out.
We installed one of those cow caller horns on the truck and it became a hit. We were soon selling honey ,cheese, eggs, and juice and of course milk.
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

FollowupID: 876647

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 08:23

Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 08:23
That's a great story, Stan! Sitting here with a smirk on my face, thinking of the sounds coming from your truck, back then. Would have been popular, and no doubt profitable. Those horns, while recognisable as a cow bellowing, were a caricature of the actual bellow. Just so funny!

Had a couple of mates that had milk runs in the Blue Mountains years ago. Used to tell some tales...........

And finally, I'm old enough to remember deliveries, pre-bottles, with old George Bunyan using a large stainless jug to fill my mother's jug or billy. Think he might have even had a horse 'n cart for a while too?

FollowupID: 876648

Follow Up By: Member - Blue M - Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 15:49

Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 15:49
Me too Bob,
My best thoughts come out of the mid 60's to early 80's era.
Life was just so much simpler.

FollowupID: 876654

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 19:22

Saturday, Dec 24, 2016 at 19:22
So true Blue, they were good times!

But maybe in 10 years, if we're still kicking, we'll look back on this decade and say the 2010's were good years, at least we could work the phones/cars/computers etc, not like these new bloody 2020 gadgets?

Merry Christmas, Blue,

FollowupID: 876657