Merry Christmas to Everyone .New Oil!

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 25, 2016 at 13:10
ThreadID: 133994 Views:3944 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hi I recently posted a Question about a Oil brand I looked into . I am no expert , my background is farming and exploration. The mechanic I bought the oil from has told me to change the filter around 5oookm and change the oil twice a year using K&N filters as they are a 60,000 micron filter opposed to ryco at 14,000.MY Troopy has done 190,000km and is in excellent condition, straight away I notice my engine runs smoother and quieter also i swear it has slightly more power, my fuel consumption is slightly better that is a fact.I did a trip and used 170 lts for 1600kms.I do drive like Grandad and sit around 95-100kmh.I am not sure if I paid the normal price so I will contact him after chrissy and check the price, that is why I haven,t written it , it was very reasonable . I am posting this up as I believe it is a great product but He does spin a salesman line about filters and oil that was bulldust, He spends 6 months a year in the USA and it shows in his speel. No offence to any Yanks out there.So next year I will put up the cost and let You decide. Cheers to All!!!!!
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: RMD - Sunday, Dec 25, 2016 at 15:03

Sunday, Dec 25, 2016 at 15:03
Any good oil should last around 10,000km if it has decent recognized properties.
Do K&N make their own oil filters? Didn't now that.
If the filter is any good at all, it should last at least one oil change period.

14000 micron is smaller than 60,000mircon so what you said is Frack to Bunt, isn't it? I think it is.
Ryco being the finer filter than the stated K&N
Never used a K&N filter.
A 60,000micron will let through bigger blowflies than a 14,000 item.

PS. 90 to 100 is a normal speed, can't see why it is grandad pace.
120kmh with a 3 ton van on should be ok for some.
AnswerID: 606970

Reply By: TomH - Sunday, Dec 25, 2016 at 16:53