Codan/Autotuner in Hilux

Submitted: Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 21:53
ThreadID: 134083 Views:5308 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
Hi Team,
I have an 04 Hilux Dual Cab. It is currently only fitted with a UHF radio for communications. I have my old Codan from my 60 series in the shed and we are looking at doing some more outback treks in the future.

I have the ability to mount he autotuner on the bullbar; however, I have seen them mounted on the rear tray and rear bar. I am keen to hear from others who have a Codan setup in this model Hilux and how/why the radio, head and tuner are set up in that configuration (and the pros and cons for doing so).

In short I am keen to learn from the wisdom of others as opposed to taking a punt and repeating failure.

Reply By: Baz - The Landy - Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 23:06

Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 23:06
Hi Jolls

Whilst you see vehicles with HF Autotunes mounted on the bullbar it isn't a legal option in NSW, but I'll leave others to debate the finer points of that.

Whilst not a Hilux, we have our Codan 3040 auto-tune mounted on the rear canopy of our 79 Series with little to no degradation to performance that we can detect.

The whip sits well above the canopy roof.

Good luck with it, Baz - The Landy

AnswerID: 607410

Follow Up By: Member - Jolls64 - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 22:04

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 22:04
Thanks Baz,

Nice setup. My ute is also my work vehicle (I'm a builder) so no canopy to hide it behind. Thanks for the ideas.

Jolls
FollowupID: 877144

Reply By: blue one - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 09:33

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 09:33
Jolls,
This is what I did.

I sold my 9350 and bought a 3040 as I didn't want to take up tray space.

Up nice and high while being lower than the tray upright so it gets some protection.

I had to make a model to give to the fabricator as it was a tight fit with the rear door, chassis separation etc on the Freestyler BT 50.

AnswerID: 607422

Follow Up By: Member - Jolls64 - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 22:20

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 22:20
Thanks Steve,

That's a great idea - I was thinking of a similar approach - mounting it behind the bar or fabricating a bracket to mount above the wheel arch where I don't stack material day to day. My autotuner is an 8558 - probably time to upgrade when I reinstall it with something similar.

Jolls
FollowupID: 877145

Follow Up By: TomH - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 22:57

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 22:57
I made a bracket like that for mounting on the worklight bracket on my Kaymar wheel carrier.

Did the job well EXCEPT it was only about 10mm off the taildoor on the 100ser and vibrations made it rub on the door and took the paint off.
If I had time I would have altered it but thought 10mm was enough clearance but it wasnt .

So perhaps make sure yours has a bit more than that to avoid the same problem
FollowupID: 877149

Follow Up By: Member - Jolls64 - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2017 at 06:33

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2017 at 06:33
Thanks Tom,

Now that is an excellent insight. I will note that for the design of the final solution.
FollowupID: 877154

Reply By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 09:44

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 09:44
pretty much any aerial, THE WORST place to mount is the bullbar for a number of reasons ...... on pretty much any vehicle and any antenna with a bit of thaught a better option can be found.

AnswerID: 607423

Follow Up By: Member - Jolls64 - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 22:23

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 22:23
Thanks Bantam,

That's exactly what I'm looking to achieve.Just want to get some ideas from others who have done it. The two replies so far have given some food for thought. I'm leaning towards mounting it in the tray/behind the front bar at the moment.

Jolls
FollowupID: 877146

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 23:06

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 23:06
on an open ute ..... the head board is probably the best choice.

If it is the heavier style of HF aerial it may be worth building a headboard specifically for the job, because some of them are not real strong or firm

FollowupID: 877151

Follow Up By: Member - Jolls64 - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2017 at 06:35

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2017 at 06:35
Thanks Bantam,

I am leaning towards this as a solution. I will probably look for a newer tuner to get a lower profile. The 8558 needs to retire.
FollowupID: 877155

Reply By: Baz - The Landy - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2017 at 09:38

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2017 at 09:38
Just further to previous comments.

The big issue of the auto-tune antenna's is where to mount them due to the size of them. And whilst there are numerous designs, most are still quite bulky.

The alternative if you are looking to upgrade the antenna is to go a multi-tap antenna which are more mounting friendly. And for sure, they are less convenient, but ask yourself, how often do I need to change frequencies and is this an option?

Certainly a cheaper option...

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
AnswerID: 607457

Follow Up By: Member - Jolls64 - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2017 at 22:12

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2017 at 22:12
Great point Baz; not like I am using it to support a military operation. I wil look into this further.
FollowupID: 877180

Reply By: Dean K3 - Saturday, Jan 14, 2017 at 20:17

Saturday, Jan 14, 2017 at 20:17
A well documented (semi argument) about where to mount HF antennas little while back.

Best thing i can suggest is contact your local transport authority and ask them what their requirements are.

Specific to WA is anything larger than 40mm in diameter is not permitted to be mounted on front of vehicle for pedestrian safety and vision loss.

This allows tradies racks to be installed on a bullbar But a HF is not permitted, some of the hi gain UHF may also be non compliant as well .

Tapped HF wouldn't be bad option know bushmaster make them here in WA not sure about over east though

At time when i had the convo with transport here (WA) was advised that changes were afoot making it even more stringent for pedestrian safety

AnswerID: 607563

Follow Up By: Baz - The Landy - Sunday, Jan 15, 2017 at 08:38

Sunday, Jan 15, 2017 at 08:38
You'll find most have the same regulations regarding bulbar mounts. Same in NSW, not permitted, although you still see them mounted this way.

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
FollowupID: 877267

Reply By: TomH - Sunday, Jan 15, 2017 at 12:11

Sunday, Jan 15, 2017 at 12:11
Maximum diameter on the bullbar is 75mm in the East

as per here from QLD

Long Range Radio Antennas
Long range antennas may be fitted to a vehicle without specific approval, provided they meet the following requirements:

• Forward mounting is permitted only when it is impossible or impractical to install the antenna to the rear of the vehicle.

• The installation must be attached as low as is practical to ensure the large diameter section of the antenna projects above the bonnet line for the minimum distance.

• Only one long range antenna (large diameter base) may be fitted to the front of a vehicle and must be fitted to the left side (maximum diameter permitted 75mm).

• All sharp edges or protrusions which could cause injury to anyone making contact with the device must be remove or rounded.

Also this applies in QLD

Items such as driving lights, winches and brackets may be fitted without specific approval,provided they do not protrude
forward from the front face of any bumper or above the top of any bull bar.

So those who have driving lights or light bars above the bullbar and bonnet level are naughty

AnswerID: 607576

Follow Up By: Member - Jolls64 - Monday, Jan 16, 2017 at 16:39

Monday, Jan 16, 2017 at 16:39
Thanks Tom, makes it quite clear. I previously had it mounted on the front bar, behind the tubes, on my 60 series. I had no problems with rego in NT, NSW and ACT. I'm leaning towards mounting it behind thesports bar at the rear of the cab.
FollowupID: 877314

Follow Up By: TomH - Monday, Jan 16, 2017 at 18:06

Monday, Jan 16, 2017 at 18:06
In saying that there are afew run around with 9350's on top of the bullbars Have been for a few years and havent been pulled up.
UHF stick aerials are NOT included in the above
FollowupID: 877315