D40 Nissan Navara

Submitted: Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 19:14
ThreadID: 134259 Views:4292 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Good article in my computer news. D40 's are breaking in half, just in front of the rear axle because of excessive rust. There are some photos of the rust and many pictures of the utes broken.
I must say that is all in Britain .

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 21:02

Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 21:02
Please post the link for that article. I have not heard of this problem occurring in Oz.

AnswerID: 608350

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 21:47

Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 21:47
We don't spread salt on our roads to promote chassis rust.

FollowupID: 878094

Follow Up By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 22:16

Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 22:16
Gday Peter D
As this news scroles through all the time, the news item is no longer there .

FollowupID: 878096

Reply By: RMD - Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 21:25

Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 21:25
There is probably rust in many vehicle chassis, but D40 and D22 are a bit iffy in that area before the axle.
I had quite a bit of experience with some during '14/'15 but the were mostly bent. Many were sold with factory bends in them.
There used to be a bent one I passed by in my town, I see the owner has disposed of it. Just a tray with overhang but obviously the load on the tray bent it. A tennis ball would roll off the rear of the tray.
Any rust would exacerbate that and cause a troublesome gap at the top.
AnswerID: 608353

Reply By: Paul E6 - Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 22:03

Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 22:03
dont forget the cast iron con rods camshafts!
AnswerID: 608355

Follow Up By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 22:12

Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 22:12
What is a "castiron con rod camshaft"?

FollowupID: 878095

Follow Up By: RMD - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2017 at 07:43

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2017 at 07:43
He may be referring to the engine blocks which seem to distort by themselves. Normally people think the aluminium head would be problem (warped) but not so in many cases, it is the engine block which goes for a walk.
One central NSW dealer had 5 pulled apart at one time, all for blockwarp.
I presume New blocks of similar quality were the replacements. Possibly from the centre of excellence "Spain".

Not sure if the camshaft and conrods are in sympathy with the block though.
FollowupID: 878101

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2017 at 20:40

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2017 at 20:40
you may insert 'and' in there where appropriate.
FollowupID: 878127

Reply By: gbc - Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 22:14

Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 22:14
The Spanish built d40 is the most troublesome. Places like superior engineering do chassis strengthening kits for them.
AnswerID: 608356

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 23:53

Monday, Feb 06, 2017 at 23:53
Found a reference - SPLIT HITS THE FAN Furious customers urge Nissan to recall 4X4 Navaras after it emerges that major fault could see trucks snap in HALF

Link.

AnswerID: 608359

Follow Up By: mike39 - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2017 at 08:15

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2017 at 08:15
The degree of rust shown in those pics looks like its been years forming in a very corrosive environment.
A steel boat hull in salt water would not rust out as quickly.
Some major manufacturing/qc problems there.
FollowupID: 878102

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2017 at 08:30

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2017 at 08:30
It would without anodes!
FollowupID: 878104

Follow Up By: RMD - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2017 at 12:33

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2017 at 12:33
Gotta hand it to the Spaniards, they make GM products which are badge engineered to be what we get in OZ. Just relocating junk from Spain to Orstraya.

Both Nissan and GM have a lot to answer for in the quality of what they flog to faithful but ignorant unsuspecting customers.
Nissan sold many Factory bent chassis D40's around Australia, It seems they didn't sell them all in one area but made sure they were distributed throughout OZ. That way it is harder for customers to get a handle on the problems they have purchased.

Quality Control, what is that? QC means , "Quick Collect" to Both companies..
FollowupID: 878113

Reply By: Steve D1 - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2017 at 18:24

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2017 at 18:24
Its a geographic issue, coupled with where and how they are stored prior delivery.

Jap / Thai built D22 Navaras don't have the problem.

It's no different to the current model Kluger which spent months outside in the north of America, with the holding area being sprayed and cleaned with salt due to the snow and ice. The first batch of current generation Klugers, arrived in Aus, with rust all over the under carriage. We were changing all the lower steering and suspension parts, prior to sale. Just what could be easily seen, when everything was new, black and shiny. Wouldn't want to own one in 10 years time. Maybe I'm just cynical, ( been in the industry too long ) but I'm sure we were sent the dodgy ones cause we cant send them back.
I suspect the same thing happened with the D40's in Europe, however I don't know of any cases reported here. The English equivelant of NRMA was doing inspections and demanding replacement vehicles, I think up to 10 yrs old over there. They don't have the same toothless tigers we have here though.
ACCC, NRMA, RACQ and the like don't realy have the nuts to take on the manufacturers. Too bad for the consumer.
AnswerID: 608387

Reply By: Geoffr17 - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 12:12

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 12:12
Demanding Nissan pay for independent inspection. Reading this article and all your comments I am going to contact Nissan as I have a D40 purchased new. If they are riddled with these faults that you say they are I want to know the condition of mine. I Have printed this page and I am willing to go to the Dept. of Fair trading or their legal arm the NCAT commission armed with your statements here.
AnswerID: 608424

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 14:07

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 14:07
While you are there, ask them about another well known issue, broken timing chains destroying the Diesel engines!

FollowupID: 878173

Follow Up By: axle - Sunday, Feb 12, 2017 at 19:46

Sunday, Feb 12, 2017 at 19:46
Your dead right there shaker, a quarry owner I know had that problem with his navara, was not impressed with the Nissan famous service Attitude. He could not believe it after having years of trouble free running with a 4.2L Patrol.

Axle.
FollowupID: 878254