Independent suspension?

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 19:04
ThreadID: 13427 Views:1937 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
This Thread has been Archived
I am curious about the pros/cons of having independent springs in regard to entry/exit angles for serious off road.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Roachie- Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 20:51

Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 20:51
Nobby,
I'm no engineer, but the way I see it the problem with IFS (which I guess is what you're referring to?) is that the fulcrum from where they pivot is relatively close to the hub and as such it severely limit the amount of travel (ie: up and down) that the wheel can arc through. As such, in extreme off road conditions it is far easier to find yourself with a wheel cocked-up in the air while an otherwise similar vehicle with a beam axle (which has far more articulation available across it's whole length) would simply (?) walk over/through the obstacle.
Hope this helps explain....in is just my opinion/understanding.
AnswerID: 61572

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 21:49

Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 21:49
Another problem with IFS is that diff ground clearance changes depending on where the wheel is in travel in relation to the diff.

Imagine driving along a track with a centre ridge of say 100mm (typical bush track scenario). Diff clearance is say 200mm, but as the track has a 100mm ridge, diff clearance is actually 100mm. Now one of the wheels drops into a pot hole of only 50mm (2").

Due to the weight transfer, lets assume the wheel travels up 25mm (VERY conservative). So now, your wheel has dropped into a 50mm hole, the suspension has risen 25mm, for a total change of 75mm. This means your diff has only 25mm clearance. Hope there isn't a 25mm rock sitting on the track ridge. If it had of been a rigid axle, diff clearance stays at 50mm.

May not be the best explanation, but I hope you get my drift about how the diff can easily bottom out.

Cheers

Captain