HTG Generators

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 19, 2017 at 14:33
ThreadID: 134324 Views:3962 Replies:5 FollowUps:18
I reckon since it is six years since this topic was spruiked it might be time to check again on the HTG gensets?
I filed some data on these when I last changed caravans and still haven't found the need for a gennie but with a big lap in the planning, I wondered if anyone has used one for any length of time and has an opinion on them please?
I am well aware of how good the HONDA is by the way - the positives for that brand were overwhelming in 2011 and I have camped with others using them many times and appreciate just how reliable they are - but wonder if the HTG has had a chance to prove itself within our community yet?
Cheers all - Regards, Phil
Phil 'n Jill (WA)

Reply By: Member - Roachie - Sunday, Feb 19, 2017 at 21:20

Sunday, Feb 19, 2017 at 21:20
Phil,

Judging by the HUGE response you've had, I'd have to venture a guess: people aren't buying them much at all.

Or, maybe there are lots of people who've bought them and they (ie: the HTG) are so good that the owners are spending ALL their time out in the boonies away from the interweb; thus those owners are HAPPY but unable to respond due to lack of IT access.

Either way, I'll stick with my Honda 2kva.

Roachie....Don't follow me....I'm lost!

AnswerID: 608717

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Sunday, Feb 19, 2017 at 22:43

Sunday, Feb 19, 2017 at 22:43
Methinks you are on the money there Roachie - the silence is deafening. And thanks for your discreet observation.

Fairly sure if there were any fans out there for the HTG I would have heard - but if this is picked up by one at a later date, feel free to let us all know - my travel plans are still in the development stage.

And I respect those tempted to remind me how good the Honda is but restrained from cluttering the thread - I have all the confirmation needed and will be joining the club I suspect.

Cheers all - Phil
Phil 'n Jill (WA)

FollowupID: 878436

Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 08:18

Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 08:18
Had to go to KENNARDS HIRE in Cairns on the weekend to hire some tressels. They had a stack of 30 Honda 2kva. Bloke reckons they are indestructable and 100% reliable....thats why they use them....But you know this already! Just a shame I couldnt have one as a sample.
AnswerID: 608731

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 10:11

Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 10:11
Are the wombats still retrofitting earth leads to them?
FollowupID: 878450

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 12:51

Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 12:51
Why would they be "wombats", they have no control as to how they are used & there are instances when they should be earthed.

"If the portable generator is providing electric power to a structure by connection via a transfer switch to a structure (home, office, shop, trailer, or similar) it must be connected to a grounding electrode system, such as a driven ground rod. The transfer switch must be approved for the use and installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s installa- tion instructions by a qualified electrician."

FollowupID: 878457

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 13:32

Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 13:32
In which case, if it was ever connected to a transfer switch, the 150mm supplied (driven earth rod) toothpick is not going to provide the 'low impedance earth path' that that standard needs.

The earthing mechanism that is supplied by hire stores simply creates a false sense of security.
FollowupID: 878460

Reply By: Sigmund - Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 11:15

Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 11:15
One useful source of owner comments, about devices, vehicles, retailers and more, is productreview.com.au

There's none about this gennie, and that says something.

No financial interest in the site.
AnswerID: 608737

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 11:59

Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 11:59
Thanks Sigmund - I will keep that site in my list for product references.

When googling these days it i so full of advts and clutter it is difficult to pick out a genuine site providing the info you seek and not trying to suck you into a lifetime subscription for dodgy data paid for by a promoter - either that or I just can winkle them out...

Regards - Phil
Phil 'n Jill (WA)

FollowupID: 878453

Reply By: Nutta - Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 21:08

Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 21:08
If i was in the market for a generator id go to bunnings and by a 2kva ryobi 4 stroke, $980 with a 2 yr warranty, and ryobi are great with their warranties, but thats me, cheers wayne
AnswerID: 608747

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 22:46

Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 22:46
Thanks Nutta - that is a different slant - I haven't seen Ryobi gensets yet but I do have a few other Ryobi gadgets. Their brand name for tools in the past has been quite good, and so were a number of others when I was in hardware,but now I find the original equipment is no longer built to the same quality, so much of it is 'farmed out' to cheaper manufacturers and the quality does not hold up. Perhaps I had better start researching the Ryobi gear.

Pretty difficult for the bloke in the street to sort out the good gear from the 'knockoff' these days.

Regards - Phil
Phil 'n Jill (WA)

FollowupID: 878477

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 08:35

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 08:35
Ryobi make very good value battery powered electrical products. That is their core skill and they make some good stuff.

Their petrol products leave a lot to be desired. My advice would be do not buy a petrol powered Ryobi product. The return rate is very high.
FollowupID: 878490

Follow Up By: Nutta - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 08:51

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 08:51
Cant argue with that either.

I have nearly all their 18v stuff and its great, I'm a roofer and flog it to death.

I do have their 4 stroke lawnmower and its been bullet proof for 9 years, maybe their small engine stuff is junk.
FollowupID: 878491

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 10:48

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 10:48
Yep I gave some of the Ryobi 18 volt gear & I reckon its great.
Been using it for construction on our large bush property & it keeps on going.
Heaps of torque on the drill & sometimes nearly twists off your wrist!

Back onto the genie.
I have one of those GMC 2 stroke gennies that's done thousands of hours charging a battery bank & it runs for 6 hours at a time. Use good quality oil & fresh fuel, good NGK spark plug (got rid of chinese junk plug) & I just can't kill it.
I would say no matter what you get use fresh fuel, regular service & you will be fine. Of course I guess you could end up with the electrical side going bad & good practice isn't going to prevent that!
Stu
FollowupID: 878492

Follow Up By: Nutta - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 11:11

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 11:11
I suppose the only problem with gmc is electronic protection and possibly noise.

I have one myself, amazingly started fairly easily after sitting for 4-5 years.
FollowupID: 878494

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 12:14

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 12:14
I had a look at the sine wave on a scope & yes it does contain some "noise" however it doesn't seem to worry my multi stage battery charger at all.
I do keep a 150w spottie plugged in to keep the engine loaded up & revs constant.
Also a load seems to keep the internal soot build up to a minimum resulting in less frequent :"de-coking"of the muffler.

edit:- I just realised maybe you meant noise emitted from the genie. I have it 50metres away in vented sound absorption box I made.
FollowupID: 878496

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 14:32

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 14:32
Bushie,

As well as being loaded, running these small gennies on straight 30 grade oil, rather than a multigrade, will often reduce, or stop, that carbon build up. Worked for me......

FollowupID: 878504

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 15:01

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 15:01
G'day Bob,
Thanks for the heads up.
I have all sorts of motorized gear for large property maintenance.
The little GMC is a 2stroke & I have found it carbons up less if I use the same synthetic 2 stroke oil I use in my Chainsaws & Brushcutters. If I use the cheaper 2 stroke oils then the exhaust tends to get a lot of carbon in it.
All my 4 stroke gear including 2 other 4 stroke gennies gets straight 30 grade oil as you suggested.

Back in the 70's I had an OLD Canadian loggers saw that was a 2 stroke & it got 30 grade mixed at 16:1 with fuel. Oh the good old days of working in the forest in a cloud of smoke!

Stu
FollowupID: 878505

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 19:55

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 19:55
"..............in a cloud of smoke." Ha ha, and no hearing protection!

FollowupID: 878515

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 20:07

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 20:07
Pardon... I didn't hear you. :-)

Kept the mozzies away though.
Bloody EPA spoil all my fun! And don't forget no chain brake either.

Stu
FollowupID: 878516

Reply By: rumpig - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 12:40

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 12:40
Can't afford a new Honda, then why not buy a secondhand Honda?...that's what I did about 7 or 8 years ago, and it's still running fine now.
AnswerID: 608760

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 13:17

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 13:17
Yes - that worked for me with the two Engel fridges I have had for many decades - and all but one of many vehicles as well.

Will have a keep an eye out on Gumtree though from past searches I suspect they don't pop up too frequently in my region - maybe too good to part with...

Regards - Phil
Phil 'n Jill (WA)

FollowupID: 878499

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 13:34

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 13:34
There is a 2kva Honda on Gumtree at the moment for $900.00.

FollowupID: 878500

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 14:10

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2017 at 14:10
Thanks Shaker - must be out of my 100 km range from Mandurah, or I missed it whilst following up the host of adverts that clutter the search.

I have sent off one enquiry from an advert though -will see what develops.

Cheers - Phil
Phil 'n Jill (WA)

FollowupID: 878503