Head Light Globes

Submitted: Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 15:38
ThreadID: 134449 Views:4844 Replies:9 FollowUps:12
Landcruiser 100 series owners what are the best and brightest globes I can put in to improve the headlights without having to change the standard wiring.

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 17:04

Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 17:04
-
Maybe these Cobber. I fitted a pair to my Troopy. Marvellous.
But it will cost you $800 for the pair.

AnswerID: 609321

Follow Up By: carl h2 - Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 17:24

Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 17:24
Like to see you fit them lights to a 100 series lol.
FollowupID: 879174

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 18:41

Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 18:41
-
That was an example Carl. A little searching may reveal appropriate style for other vehicles including the 100 Series.

FollowupID: 879175

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 19:56

Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 19:56
Hi Allan

They must be good lights, a few of the local truckie have fitted then to their right and say they are great.

FollowupID: 879177

Reply By: Idler Chris - Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 20:23

Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 20:23
The best solution is have a few beers about 5:00 o'clock, then you can't drive so you don't need lights. Besides the animals are out at night just waiting to jump in front of you and damage your vehicle.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 609324

Reply By: Tim F3 - Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 21:13

Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 21:13
You cant fit hid lights to a 100 series legally....
For a good reason ....they are generally a pain to everyone else coming toward you...
AnswerID: 609325

Reply By: TomH - Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 21:26

Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 21:26
Ask on Lcool everything Toyota is answered on there.
AnswerID: 609326

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 22:53

Friday, Mar 10, 2017 at 22:53
I bought a pair of Philips 120%Plus globes (maybe they're 130%, can't remember?) from Supercheap to suit my 79 series ute headlights. About $90/pair. Do seem better than standard, which wouldn't be too hard, and find the low beam is quite good. That's all I need, got plenty of auxiliary lighting for high beam duties.

Did have HID in my old ute headlights, and they were good, but as indicated above, probably not so good for oncoming vehicles. I adjusted them down quite a bit and rarely got "flashed".

Not sure what these new LED Headlight inserts are like, very bright without the glare of HID. However, there seems to be a few minor issues fitting to Toyotas, with their negative switching.

AnswerID: 609327

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 07:03

Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 07:03
I might be wrong, but I thought there were several types of headlight for 100's depending on the model, and year. Some have H4, some have separate High and
Low beams. Surely that is an important piece of missing information needed before you can get a decent answer.
AnswerID: 609328

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 09:05

Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 09:05
The Sahara models have a different Headlight set up, Boobook, with an additional high beam each side. From what I've seen the GXL's and 105's only have the one large, cost an arm or a leg style Headlight assembly.

Think they might utilise the H7 or H9 globes, with the socket coming out at right angles?

FollowupID: 879180

Follow Up By: TomH - Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 09:47

Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 09:47
The diesels have different headlights to the V8 petrols as well Diesel has a 2 part setup with one above the other.
Could tell which model was coming towards you by the headlights.

Just as an aside I couldnt get mine to adjust and went to Toyota who wanted about $700 to replace them. Took them home and had a fiddle and worked out that someone had wound the adusting screw so that the mechanism was right at the end of its travel and was designed to spread to stop it from stripping. By inserting a tool to pull it back onto the thread I got them to work again.
FollowupID: 879182

Reply By: Gramps - Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 09:25

Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 09:25
Did you post virtually the same query on LCOOL back in 2010 ????

"Cobber
Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:49 pm Post subject: Headlight Globes Reply with quote
What are the best and brightest globes to replace the standard globes in the 100 series headlights (high and low beam) without having to replace the wiring."

Not having a go at you but it stood out while I was searching.

AnswerID: 609333

Follow Up By: cobber - Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 14:37

Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 14:37
Thanks for that I must have a look for the answer to my question as I don't remember getting a reply.......I did get a set of globes from supercheap who said they would be brighter (but to me it didn't seem any brighter), and said I would have to upgrade the wiring if I wanted better lighting....I thought that with the led lights around there might be something new on the market.
FollowupID: 879185

Follow Up By: Gramps - Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 16:11

Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 16:11
No worries Cobber, I thought I was having a senior's moment/deja vu there for a while.

Seems to be quite a bit on the subject in LCOOL.

FollowupID: 879186

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 18:14

Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 18:14
Hey Gramps, I own a 60 series how can I access LCOOL for info?

Scrubby.
FollowupID: 879188

Follow Up By: Gramps - Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 18:45

Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 18:45
Scrubby,
Go to www.lcool.org/forum and select Register. It may take a while ( days, sometimes weeks unfortunately ) for the Admin to get back to you via email.
Pay particular attention to their requirements when you do eventually login ( add name, location, vehicle etc to profile ). They run a pretty tight ship over there LOL (mods aplenty). It's a great resource for everything Landcruiser.
FollowupID: 879189

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 19:40

Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 19:40
Thanks Gramps,
I should of added in my follow up.
The reason I asked is because they state that they only register owners of 80 series or newer.

" It has evolved into the largest family of Land Cruiser 70, 80, 90, 100, 120 & 200 Series and FJ Cruiser owners in the world and we use the group's collective experiences to share advice on technical issues, accessorising our vehicles, trips, camping etc."

I will try your suggestion anyway, thanks again.

Scrubby
FollowupID: 879190

Follow Up By: TomH - Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 19:55

Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 19:55
Just put a different model in then I am a member and I sold my Cruiser 6 years ago You arent asked for a rego or anything.
FollowupID: 879191

Follow Up By: Gramps - Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 21:54

Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 21:54
Sorry Scrubby, the lack of a 60s section did'nt even register with me. Just do as TomH suggested, it's not as if 60s owners are persona non gratis or some such. I'm sure I've seen members with 60 series in their profiles.

There's plenty of generic LC info in there as well.

FollowupID: 879193

Reply By: Malcom M - Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 22:37

Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 22:37
I have had a few different bulb types in my 2002 100 including the 120% things, upgraded the cable to a ridiculous size with 'over the top' relays but the light output has always resembled a candle. They simply have a totally ratshit reflector shape.
HID's are completely illegal as are LEDs but there is an alternative. I imported some HIR bulbs from the USA which are legal here.
Whilst still not as bright as I would like, HIR's are a massive improvement on the factory bulbs and the output is quite usable around town.
Get them from Candlepower.com.
AnswerID: 609335

Reply By: The Bantam - Thursday, Mar 16, 2017 at 10:36

Thursday, Mar 16, 2017 at 10:36
A couple of thaughts.

Regardless of the type and shape of the headlight, if the reflectors are "off" nothing much will help you.
Have a good look at your headlights .... if the lenses are not bright and clear and reflectors likewise are not clean, bright and shinny there is not much help
Go look at some new headlight inserts for comparison.

If you are unhappy with the existing headlights and simply don't want to cough up for new made for model replacements ....... you may with some skill and effort build up a replacement headlight arrangement using standard inserts and a sheet of acrillic to blend into the grill ......... not saying it will be easy, but it can be done.

Be very cautious of fitting higher wattage lamps ..... the toyota dipper switches are not real beefy and have been known to give problems after fitting 100 watt high beams.

Yes there are modern whiter improved efficiency lamps out there that DO give improvements ...... but if you are not getting good voltage to your lamps ( you existing halogen lamps are distinctly yellow) better laps will do bugger all.

AnswerID: 609413