Landcruiser 200 series Fuel Consumption

Submitted: Friday, Apr 07, 2017 at 22:08
ThreadID: 134621 Views:30663 Replies:15 FollowUps:13
Hi, looking to buy a 200 series auto, caravan is Jayco Journey Outback. Weights will be fine. Currently we have a 76 series wagon, diesel and towing we get 13 to 15 - variable with winds etc. Only reason to change is an auto.
I know the ticket on the windscreen fuel wise says 10lt/100km. People I have chatted to about kms/lts only seem to know that they can go to xxx on a tank of fuel. Nobody I've spoken to with a 200 series seems to bother with it. I like to keep an eye on my usage and am interested as to how the vehicle is handling various conditions.
Would appreciate feedback from the members about 200 series with or without towing, and what to look for.

Reply By: Notso - Friday, Apr 07, 2017 at 22:40

Friday, Apr 07, 2017 at 22:40
I've got a couple of friends with them, towing a bit bigger vans than yours . The brother In Law gets around 21 litres/100 his van is around 2.8 tonnes all up, another mate with a smaller van, around 2.5 tonne gets around the 18/100.

Neither of them are fast drivers around 90kph!
AnswerID: 610014

Reply By: 508 - Friday, Apr 07, 2017 at 22:46

Friday, Apr 07, 2017 at 22:46
If you look up Youtube, Ronny Dahl 200 series Landcruiser review Episode 32 there is a bit there about fuel consumption and transmission mods affecting fuel consumption.
AnswerID: 610015

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Apr 07, 2017 at 23:14

Friday, Apr 07, 2017 at 23:14
I've been towing a full height 2.5T van for 18 months.
Was getting around 21 l/100k .
Fitted beaudesert 3.5" exhaust and decreased to 19.6L/100k.
Fixed wheel alignment on van and last trip got around 19 L/100k.
With the 200 series I tow in S4 at 90-95 kph so the torque converter locks

And if you offered me a more economical 4 cylinder I'd have to decline the offer. Nothing quite like a V8!
AnswerID: 610018

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 05:40

Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 05:40
I had a 2008 Sahara and now have a 2016 VX

I was getting 16 -17 towing my Tvan in the old one and early indications are 13.5 in the new one towing. Im very happy with that.

On the road not towing was 12.5, now 9.5. That's with all the fruit.

AnswerID: 610019

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 21:01

Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 21:01
Tony, its good to see your new one is doing better!
FollowupID: 879959

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 06:31

Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 06:31
Yes normally the fuel economy doesn't worry me too much. As I am sure you will understand Phil, it's all about range for me. I was surprised to see the fuel economy of the new one. I'm still a little sceptical to be honest.

Towing, I was getting about 960kms out of 163l ( inc the Longranger tank) and in theory will get about another 80kms out of the standard 138l tank in my new one. Fingers crossed. With the 2 Jerries in my rear carrier and 2 in the TVAN i hope to get about 1670 km as opposed to 1470 km in the old vehicle.

These calculations are based on extrapolation of the fuel economy I have seen so far and not too important on the road. Importantly I think the new one drinks less under load. My next desert trip isn't till September. I'll be interested to see the consumption then. I previously used about 30l/100km towing across the Simpson and 21l/100km on the ABH / CSH / GBH trip. If I calculate the improvement in towing economy that would be 24 and 17l/100km. I cant believe it could be that low but here's hoping.

I am modifying my 200 slowly and considering everything I put on it wrt weight. I just had my Smartbar installed and so far it seems great. It is 73KG all up with the winch, my old ARB one was 130kg with the winch. No bloody wobble on the Smartbar either.

So between the bullbar and not having an aftermarket long range tank I save about 120kg including the fact that I now carry less fuel.
FollowupID: 879966

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 09:00

Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 09:00
I think the same as you - its all about the range and the weight given the 200 holds less fuel than the 79series or the Prados I had previously.
Last year we towed the Tvan from Nullarbor through Cook, Voakes Hill and out at Coober Pedy and got 16 L/100k. That's better than I expected and I put that down to the grading of the road and the new Beaudesert Exhaust.
FollowupID: 879972

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 09:19

Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 09:19
Well I'd be very happy with that consumption on that section of road.

FollowupID: 879979

Reply By: MarkHugh - Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 08:29

Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 08:29
G'day Gonefish,
We have a 2010 VX and tow a 2,200kg AOR off-road camper. Best ever consumption has been around 15lt/100km on the flat with following wind. Worst was around 36~38 doing Gunbarrell Hwy (approximate 'cause I really didn't want to know!) Generally we get around 18~21. However like others, while we take an interest in fuel consumption, there will be no question when it comes to replacing our tow vehicle. We will simply replace the 'Cruiser with another one.
Cheers, Mark
AnswerID: 610020

Follow Up By: Member - gonefish - Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 18:52

Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 18:52
Hi Mark,
Am interested in the consumption however, there comes a time in life when comfort becomes the over-riding factor v a litre or so fuel. Time for auto, time for upgrade.

FollowupID: 879952

Reply By: Parafan - Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 08:47

Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 08:47
Spoke to a bloke a few weeks ago in a van park who had a new 200 series. He said the new one was a lot better on fuel than the earlier 200 he replaced. His rig was big.
Everyday is a holiday
Norm & Lisa

AnswerID: 610021

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 06:35

Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 06:35
That's my personal experience so far too.
13.5 vs 16 - 17 towing a TVAN.

Early days though.
FollowupID: 879967

Reply By: Member - wicket - Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 09:47

Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 09:47
Might not need to buy another vehicle if it's the auto you're after , this mob do an auto conversion of your model http://automatictransmission.com.au/
AnswerID: 610023

Follow Up By: Member - gonefish - Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 18:53

Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 18:53
Thanks Wicket, checked that out, but think maybe comfort factor in there as well.

FollowupID: 879953

Reply By: Member - gonefish - Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 18:55

Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 18:55
Thanks all for the insight. Yes, a lot more comfort and sacrifice a litre or two. It's got to be Landcruiser, and after having a V8, it will be easy driving.

AnswerID: 610038

Reply By: Member - Robert1660 - Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 19:49

Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 19:49
Recommend you might like to check the Landcruiser Online Forum, LCOOL.org. Here there is a specific section devoted to the 200 Series. As previously mentioned you should generally tow in 4th or 5th with the 200. I tend to use 4th in undulating country and 5th when level. When in doubt use 4th to ensure the torque converter remains locked. Also recommend the installation of a ScanGauge or similar to monitor transmission temperature. Fuel consumption is about 18 towing a Tvan but it can be around 15 if you don't exceed 95 and with no headwind.
Good luck with the new vehicle.
Robert
Landcruiser 200 VX Diesel + 19ft Bushtracker

AnswerID: 610040

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 21:23

Saturday, Apr 08, 2017 at 21:23
I only tow a 1500kg van, but get 17 all the time...that's towing at the speed limit ( 110 )
I tow either in S5 or just drive, but at a lowish tare weight it doesn't make any difference as it spends most of the time in gear 5 locked anyway.
AnswerID: 610044

Reply By: DaveO*ST-R - Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 08:51

Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 08:51
I tow a 2.5t full size tandem van with my 200 series (which in itself is heavy with drawers, bull bar, winch etc etc) Fuel consumption varies from around 18l/100km to 22l/100km, dependant on road and weather conditions. Wind plays a huge part - any head wind is like a boat anchor. But in any case, as far as possible, I sit on 100km/h in either 4th or 5th, again dependent on conditions. I am sure if I dropped to 90km/h, consumption would improve.
AnswerID: 610055

Reply By: Meridith D - Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 11:29

Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 11:29
We have a MY16 200 series and did 23000km last year towing our 2600kg semi offroad van. We averaged around 16l/100km. We tow at approx 95-100km/hr and also have a torque lock up kit on it. It apparently will give you better fuel economy as well as more comfortable towing.
We met a couple in Katherine who were bemoaning the heavy fuel consumption on their new 200 series compared to their old landcruiser. They were towing a kimberley camper - much smaller and lighter than our rig. They couldn't believe our fuel economy - they were getting up 25l/100km. They had their roofrack loaded and had mud terrain tyres, compared to our full size van and standard tyres. The biggest difference was noticed when they overtook us on the highway north to Darwin - they must have been doing 120km/hr! I think if they tempered their speed their fuel economy would've been much better! Lol
AnswerID: 610067

Reply By: lkyphl - Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 14:52

Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 14:52
I have a MY16 200 series and did 23000km last year towing my 2700kg full-height offroad van, and averaged around 22l/100km., best about 16l/100, worst about 28l/100kms into a ferocious headwind. I tow at approx 95-100km/hr and also have a torque lock up kit. I cannot fathom how people with a similar setup can average less than 20l/100k,

AnswerID: 610074

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 15:19

Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 15:19
Phil, I have often seen claims that people have better fuel consumption than the manufacturers post on their vehicles. Things like 8.6l/100k when the manufacturers figure with be around 9.5l/100k. I reckon those people should be employed as consumption test drivers.

Some also use the litres/ hundred readouts on the dash which I have found are a joke in most vehicles.

Others go on a big trip and include all their distance, even though only a percentage is spent with the van on the back.

I know exactly what I return on my vehicle, both towing and not towing and those figures are averaged over nearly 100,000 kilometres.

From what I have gleaned talking to 200 owners and doing a couple of long trips in one, your figures are about the average.
FollowupID: 879997

Follow Up By: Gronk - Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 20:47

Sunday, Apr 09, 2017 at 20:47
What some don't tell you is how they calculated their figures ?
Only accurate way is to log how many litres you put in and how many K's you did on the odo.
But the odo can be out a bit also....even with OE tyres.....but also with bigger diameter tyres like a 285/70/17 that many fit as a replacement.
I have 285/70/17's and the speed reads spot on now, but I don't know how accurate the odo now is ...or ever was ??
FollowupID: 880004

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2017 at 17:37

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2017 at 17:37
Gronk, on standard tyres on the 200series, the speedo over-reads by 3% and the odometer is pretty close to accurate.
With the 285/70R17 I find there's about 3.5% difference, so the speedo is now spot-on and the odometer underreads by about 3%.
All compared to GPS and posted kilometres.
FollowupID: 880058

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2017 at 17:40

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2017 at 17:40
"I cannot fathom how people with a similar setup can average less than 20l/100k,"

They run unmodified vehicles - Grandtrek tyres, no bullbar, no roofrack, no snorkel and have a caravan with perfect wheel alignment and 50psi in the tyres.
Sadly I usually don't have any of that!!!
FollowupID: 880060

Reply By: Keith B2 - Monday, Apr 10, 2017 at 11:33

Monday, Apr 10, 2017 at 11:33
I have found that on my 2008 model, each accessory I fitted seem to cost about 1 l/100lm. Bull bar, 2 inch lift, 33's, roof rack and so on. Plus a load of extra weight from a big fuel tank, two spares and drawers full of recovery gear haven't helped. I get 18-20 around town and 15 on a trip not towing.
Strangely, I got 26 across the Simpson towing a 1200kg camper.
But you'll forget economy after you experience the 200's vroom vroom.
AnswerID: 610108

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Monday, Apr 10, 2017 at 13:45

Monday, Apr 10, 2017 at 13:45
Same same when I had the 33" tyres on.

2 - 3l/100km less with the OE size tyre.

But I got 30 towing across the Simpson. :-(

FollowupID: 880013

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Apr 10, 2017 at 18:18

Monday, Apr 10, 2017 at 18:18
Speaking of economy, or lack thereof, crossing the Simpson, I travelled down Birdsville Track, across Warburton then along Rig Road in Oct. 2015.

Changed tanks at Purnie Bore, and on refuelling at Lyndhurst, took 78L for 603 kilo-metres. 12.9L/100 in 79 series ute, only moderately loaded, and just moi on board.Rig Road was in particularly good order.

FollowupID: 880030

Reply By: Warren B - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2017 at 19:17

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2017 at 19:17
I'll add my 2 bobs worth, my outfit weighed 6340kg GCM last Friday at broardford and into the howling headwind I dropped to 19/100 measured at the bowser, as always. Normally I get about 16-17 / 100. I have a late 2011 GX tow in S4 in power mode.
Brother inlaw has a new 200 GXL and tows a TVan and at best only gets 18 / 100
No idea why mine is always that good, on the freeway to melboune and back i'll often get 12 / 100 (and its no light weight either) but i'm not complaining.

Bass
AnswerID: 610168