French Tourist breaks leg in the Simpson - a difficult RFDS job

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 16, 2017 at 19:21
ThreadID: 135410 Views:7773 Replies:9 FollowUps:32
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-08-16/rfds-perform-another-difficult-rescue-with-tourists-help/8813418

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 06:53

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 06:53
Imagine how much money this country would save if we didn't have to rescue French adventurers.

I love this line.

"The patient was brought out by people who had been driving past, a trip that took eight hours over sand dunes at night."

I'd be happy to help, but he'd have to wait till dawn if I was driving.

AnswerID: 613123

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 07:38

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 07:38
I gave a lift to the nearest helipad to a guy who came off a bike in the Vic High Country and broke a few bones. It's ok, he was Australian, so I didn't cause any money wastage. The worry with broken bone type injuries is internal bleeding that isn't apparent and can turn nasty. Carting a live Frenchman through the night is possibly better than carting a dead one the next morning, in my opinion anyway.
FollowupID: 883508

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 08:17

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 08:17
LOL I'm only half serious.
And of course you would help anyone in serious trouble. Besides the french do make great food.

But on the serious side, I would be reluctant to drive all night ( after having driven all day in reasonably tiring conditions).

Of course unpredictable things happen, but an accident on a motorbike crossing the Simpson is reasonably predictable in my opinion. ( especially when you see some going over the top of a sand dunes without warning!)

Relying on a prepared passer by to put their property and life at risk is not right. Where was the backup? Lots of people cross the Simpson and have a team and back up.

In the daytime, I'd go out of my way to help but I would not cross the simpson at night by choice for my, or other's benefits. That's putting more people at risk IMHO. If it is that bad, get a helicopter - What's another $50K to help unprepared French adventurers. A drop in the bucket compared to other French adventure rescues :-)

Good on the person that did help though. He / She deserves a medal.
FollowupID: 883509

Follow Up By: rumpig - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 08:27

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 08:27
Whilst it may have cost quite a bit of money to rescue that tourist, the tourist industry brings big dollars into our country every year, so it's a small price to pay. That guy could of been any one of the hundreds of Aussies that do the same bike ride each year. A top effort to all involved in his rescue, I reckon the bike rider appreciates it immensely
FollowupID: 883510

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 09:22

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 09:22
As long as one was ok to drive, I have almost ALWAYS found driving anything seemingly moderately to technically difficult at night is far easier in the dark !!
I dunno, maybe it's a physiological thing with the lack of far visibility, or the way the vehicle lighting shades tracks.
Personally, I love (am capable of) long drives, and my driving days are usually short in the deserts, should be no problems to do such a stint.

Boobook, I'd love to know how a solo MC copes with fuel, I've seen groups of 10 or 12 bikes crossing, and large 4WDs pulling huge cage trailers with whole floor covered in jerries of fuel.
~ 550km, he couldn't possibly have a tank large enough surely (long time since I rode any sort of off road bike).
FollowupID: 883511

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 11:38

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 11:38
We are working on assumptions based on a news report, most likely the four wheel drivers were his own support vehicles, as previously mentioned, there is no way he could carry enough fuel!

FollowupID: 883516

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 11:59

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 11:59
Shaker, possibly right there mate, the story does say "The patient was brought out by people who had been driving past", but I can't imagine a MC being able to carry enough fuel even with a very large offroad touring type tank and a couple of 20lt of jerries somehow strapped on !!
FollowupID: 883517

Follow Up By: mountainman - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 12:11

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 12:11
Overseas tourists should pay an insurance premium
mandated by government.
Before even entering the country

So that stuff like this.
Doesnt drain valuable funds from RFDS isnt wasted.

French get extra surcharges ;-)
FollowupID: 883519

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 12:19

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 12:19
I suppose all tourists contribute to Australian coffers with GST, and I'm pretty sure there is a mutual World wide rescue arrangement between most countries, maritime especially, not sure if that extends to land.

Most organisations like Navy, S&R, etc, are on standby already costing for that, just the extra cost of equipment / craft etc if they go out, and like SES / CFS type ops, the real life scenario occasionally is very worthwhile vs static training.

RFDS is of course a little outside those examples, with costly distance, aircraft and personnel to cover.
FollowupID: 883520

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 15:02

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 15:02
I believe non-citizens and non-residents get charged for RFDS services.

Most likely he would've had insurance.

Most riders who do the Simpson are well prepared. If you're not, you don't get that far.
FollowupID: 883525

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 16:51

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 16:51
Plenty of Australians get into trouble overseas.
FollowupID: 883529

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 17:42

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 17:42
There's lots of unsupported crossings as it happens. A Safari tank and Rotopaxes if necessary will do the job.

BTW the fastest Birdsville to Mt Dare is 9 hours I gather.
Some guys are doubling back after a sleep and refuel.
FollowupID: 883531

Follow Up By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 08:28

Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 08:28
I don't think Boobook Tony was really being that serious guys, but in any event, said Frenchman would have gotten a substantial account from the RFDS, as would anyone else with or without insurance. It doesn't come free or cheap.
As to the matter of maritime rescues, the far greater part of the cost is the infrastructure - the costs of the assets used, the system, the training of volunteers and professionals alike. Most rescue organisations really look forward to a real live rescue to test their people and systems.
And, there are probably more Aussies needing rescuing in France than the reverse!
FollowupID: 883542

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 10:58

Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 10:58
We had an official RFDS guest speaker at our 4x4 club meeting who specifically told us that the RFDS is completely free and relies on donations to operate. I found that quite amazing as I would expect a bill. I don't know the situation for overseas visitors.

FollowupID: 883547

Follow Up By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 13:48

Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 13:48
I stand corrected. I had thought I'd once gotten a bill, but the oracle to whom I'm married says no. :)
FollowupID: 883551

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 14:33

Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 14:33
My understanding is that RFDS services are part of the Medical Benefits Scheme.

So foreigners get charged.

Fund raising is for gaps or items that aren't listed on the MBS.

----------------

Did you know that the RFDS is the 4th biggest airline in Oz? As measured by number of take-offs/ landings.
FollowupID: 883554

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Aug 20, 2017 at 19:47

Sunday, Aug 20, 2017 at 19:47
You should all know, that the RFDS is a "Not-for-Profit" charity, and it provides medical services to all Australian residents, living, working, or travelling in the remote regions of Australia, FREE OF CHARGE!

RFDS

Not only does the RFDS provide free medical assistance and rescue/extraction to any Australian resident who is injured in any remote region - it also provides this service, 24 HRS A DAY, 7 DAYS A WEEK, and 365 DAYS OF THE YEAR!

I know of no other organisation in the world who provides such an outstanding combined medical and rescue service.

A lot of people also do not know, that the RFDS doesn't only use aircraft, it uses 4WD's and other road transport as well!
It does patient transfers as well as medical evacuations.
In addition, the RFDS provide FREE medical chests to quite a sizeable number of remote locations.

The RFDS survives and relies on donations from individuals, corporate sponsors, Govts, and grants from lotteries (Lotterywest) in W.A.

Lotterywest recently gave the RFDS $3.9M (in March 2016) towards a new hangar at Jandakot, for their new, jet-powered, Swiss Pilatus PC-24 aircraft.

Lotterywest Grant funds new RFDS hangar at Jandakot

The RFDS have several new Pilatus PC-24 on order, to provide a major upgrade in their aircraft and their abilities.

The RFDS aircraft fleet

There is no more worthy charity organisation deserving of support, than the RFDS. Who knows, one day, it may be YOU who needs them to save your life!

FollowupID: 883609

Follow Up By: Steve in Kakadu - Friday, Aug 25, 2017 at 09:50

Friday, Aug 25, 2017 at 09:50
Careflight in Darwin is paid by the NT Gov 1 month in advance to have 3 aircraft on standby 24/7, they do several rescues a month and not one is charged back to the patient.

BooBook quoted "What's another $50K to help unprepared French adventurers. A drop in the bucket compared to other French adventure rescues :-)"

I read the article and at no point did it say the person was unprepared, I didn't see any reference to the cost either.

FollowupID: 883702

Reply By: Banjo (WA) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 09:06

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 09:06
If ever you need assistance Boobook, I'm guessing that you wouldn't want the helpers to sit on their bums for a month while they do a risk analysis and decide if you're worth the effort.
AnswerID: 613125

Reply By: CSeaJay - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 09:54

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 09:54
What a great feel-good story!
AnswerID: 613127

Reply By: Dean K3 - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 11:12

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 11:12
all I can say is hope they had some form of travel insurance. At minimum I hope a generous donation is made to RFDS they are still considered a not for profit organisation.

Within past 3 weeks been two cases of kids getting very sick, cost of medivac out of Bali been well over $40K for each trip not to mention the local hospital fee's involved.

And they don't hold back with medical expenses which have to be paid upfront before release of patient.

Guess this person just lucky some willing travelers were able to assist, looking at ABC pic wouldn't be a nice trip in back of 4 door station wagon.
AnswerID: 613131

Reply By: Nacho - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 12:45

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 12:45
Excellent outcome and great to they are out to help if the need arises.
AnswerID: 613133

Reply By: Sigmund - Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 15:05

Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 at 15:05
If you're interested in how a typical rescue plays out have a read of Outback Cop by Neale Mcshane and Evan McHugh.

McShane was the Birdsville copper for several years.
AnswerID: 613139

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 19:16

Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 19:16
I notice that the RFDS had to bring their own lights for the late night take-off.

To me, it seems remiss of National Parks not to have their own set of lights, for possible night evacuations at Dalhousie Springs, that has many travellers camped there during the tourist season. These portable landing lights aren't cheap, but are a necessity in such a situation, and there would be many willing folk to assist with placing of the lights.

In my past life, we had a number of night evacuations, and used Sunshine milk tins half full of sand, with a petrol/diesel mix added to provide up to an hours light. The RFDS pilots often commented: "it was lit up like Archerfield(Brisbane) aerodrome." Just a bit smokey with the fuel burning, ha ha.

Good outcome for the Frenchman, at least.

AnswerID: 613177

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 20:39

Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 20:39
Bob, I started to put some lights out for the rfds as they taxied out with a patient. The pilot got on the uhf and said don't worry about those lights, just go down to the end of the strip and shine your headlights back toward me on low beam. I got a short back and sides as the King Air went over me.

YES! Great outcome for any injured person in remote areas.

FollowupID: 883561

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2017 at 10:26

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2017 at 10:26
G'day Bob,
We used to do similar when the station plane was coming in after dark. We had prune tins in tyres permanently on the airstrip, and when the plane was coming in we half filled them with petrol and threw a match into them. There was a rotating beacon above the tennis court which was turned on, a vehicle was placed so that its lights illuminated the windsock, and another vehicle on the upwind end of the airstrip with its lights shining back down the runway.

Bit of an effort, but it worked and worked well.
FollowupID: 883633

Follow Up By: Ron N - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2017 at 12:09

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2017 at 12:09
Main Roads W.A. has a good little informative sheet on emergency runway lighting - just in case you ever get caught up in an RFDS road landing emergency, or paddock landing emergency, after sunset.

Emergency runway lighting

Kerosine makes for the best flares, and there used to be kerosine flares produced by the British and the Americans, for runway lighting, from the 1930's onwards.

I can't find any reference or pics of the old British runway flares - but the American ones are common, they're called "smudge pots" and usually made by Dietz.
These kero smudge pots were also used as U.S. roadworks markers in the days before battery-powered lights. The U.S. railways also used them.
The early Dietz smudge pots were made of cast-iron, the later ones were made of pressed steel.

Dietz Smudge Pot

Of course, battery-powered lighting has made the kerosine flares obsolete today - but the old flares are still very useful - and they don't require regular battery replacement!

I would have thought that there'd be more of the old smudge pots available for sale, that the stations or roadhouses or other outback local businesses could keep on hand - but it appears that they are becoming collectibles, and they're not easily found for sale today.

The smudge pots were exceptionally handy as they were highly transportable, relatively light weight, and they would stay lit for an extended period.

FollowupID: 883635

Reply By: Gaynor - Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 22:37

Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 22:37
My experience with the Australian govt health system.

In 2011, I sustained serious steam burns to the back of my hand and wrist when a billy full of cold water tipped over into hot holes whilst I still held the handle.

I got myself to Halls Creek and went to the hospital there. They checked to see if South Africa had reciprocity i.e. countries like German will treat Australians for free and therefore Germans are treated for free. This I can personally confirm as one of my German friends was admitted in Australia.

Australia has no reciprocal agreement with South Africa. I was turned away as I could not afford to pay up front for any treatment.

I needed help. And so hitched to Billiluna where I was known and had worked as a volunteer for 6 weeks in 2010. I was treated immediately by the nursing staff. But my injuries proved to be a concern as large areas of the back of my hand bubbled in blisters and peeled off from halfway up my fingers to my wrist. They were in contact with a doctor in Broome who made the call for me to be flown to Perth. They were concerned that the skin was healing too tight and that I would not be able to close my hand. The flight would be free ..... for Australians. As a South African I did not qualify. And so I could not be flown out. The staff did what they could and gave me medical supplies for a few days so I could keep my wound clean and dry. I was only treated because I was known to the people of Billiluna.

In 2012 I broke my spine in a paragliding accident in NSW. I had medical insurance but it only covered the first 3 months out of South Africa. I was in my fourth month. I was devastated as I knew my injuries were very serious. The doctor treating me calmed me down when I could not give medical insurance details. I told them I was not covered and I admit that I was terribly upset, expecting to be wheeled back out the door. The doctor said that in Australia the person is treated first and the financials taken care of later. I was so relieved.

The financial result is:

I paid for the ambulance.
I paid the hospital bill.
Wespac flew me for free. I reciprocated by raising funds for them on my walk in 2013

Wespac fundraiser

The hospital bill ...... required me to sell my land. It took two years to sell it in order to repay my debt. The accounts department were patient. I did what was required.
AnswerID: 613179

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Saturday, Aug 19, 2017 at 09:22

Saturday, Aug 19, 2017 at 09:22
An incrediblybtough 2 incidents to go through !!
What can overseas travellers do if they are aware of no reciprocal rescue / medical treatment deal in place for their country ?
Can you get travel insurance for long term at reasonable rates, or do you need some other sort of specialist insurance cover from a mainstream insurer ?
FollowupID: 883567

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Sunday, Aug 20, 2017 at 17:26

Sunday, Aug 20, 2017 at 17:26
Les, there is long term (one year) travel insurance for the sedate traveller.
Paragliding was covered by my insurance, within the 3 month time frame, but most travel insurances consider paragliding high risk and not insurable.
SPOT had an insurance policy I paid for regarding covering Search and Rescue costs BUT, they have since changed their policy and consider walking the Canning Stock Route solo and unsupported, along the lines of suicidal and therefore not insurable. I spoke directly with the Search and Rescue Co-ordinator for Australia and he refused to give me written confirmation that I would be insured for extraction costs.

This from my website, valid in 2014. I have not checked SPOT updates since.

www.canningwalker.com

SOS-911 - A button that is standard. When pressed, a message is sent to GEOS Alliance Australia who co-ordinate an all out rescue.

GEOS Alliance has an additional GEOS Member Benefit Insurance policy. In the past I have paid for this policy.

Will I pay for GEOS Alliance again. NO.

Reason being: Upon inquiry as to whether I would be covered by the policy for desert walking, Mike Chubleck of GEOS Alliance declined to confirm, despite my history of hitchhiking and walking it solo over four years.
'The GEOS benefit provides up to $50 000 per occurrence in reimbursement for qualified SAR extraction-related expenses for which you are held responsible up to two (2) events per year ($100 000 total).

Sounds like a good thing to have considering the remote location of the CSR. However:

Read the fine print in a separate attachment: GEOS-SAR-BENEFIT-TERMS-AND-CONDITIONS.pdf.

There are several conditions that would invalidate a CSR claim by a cyclist or walker and that is why GEOS declined to confirm cover. That is insurance for you!

Will I use SPOT again? YES. I will also use the Tracking feature, but I will not sign up for GEOS Alliance insurance.
FollowupID: 883595

Follow Up By: Candace S. - Thursday, Aug 24, 2017 at 05:54

Thursday, Aug 24, 2017 at 05:54
Les,

I'm in the US, this outfit is my go-to for travel insurance. They cover medical expenses and many other things that can go wrong when travelling. You can play around with their online quote tool and get an idea what a policy costs.

Allianz Insurance
FollowupID: 883669

Follow Up By: Ron N - Thursday, Aug 24, 2017 at 12:34

Thursday, Aug 24, 2017 at 12:34
One of the things I've found in my hard-earned life experiences is to keep uppermost in your mind, that insurance companies are not there to compensate you for losses.

Insurance companies exist primarily to make fat profits for their already-wealthy shareholders - and to keep up multi-million-dollar salaries for their senior executives - and they do that by ensuring that payouts are kept to a minimum by concealing clauses in the terms and conditions of their insurance policies, that enable them to avoid payouts as much as possible.

In addition, they specialise in ramping premiums on an annual basis by vastly-increased amounts, with no justification whatsoever, or weak justification at best.

I'm about to go on my annual verbal rampage against my house and contents insurer, who has just raised our H&C premiums renewal by 16.25% - at a time when inflation is running at less than 2%.

The premium renewal process nearly always ends with me producing much more competitive renewal offers from other insurers and threatening to leave my current insurer - whereupon they immediately offer a reduced renewal premium that is only about 5% more than last year.

I'm convinced these insurance companies merely pull a figure from a dartboard for renewal premium increases, just to see what they can get away with.

FollowupID: 883675

Follow Up By: Ron N - Thursday, Aug 24, 2017 at 17:21

Thursday, Aug 24, 2017 at 17:21
Gaynor - With regard to burn self-treatment, I can heartily recommend neat Lavender Essential Oil as the most effective burn treatment I have ever encountered.

As a member of the clumsy and careless set, who nearly always manages to incur some type of bodily damage in the workshop every week - and with regular burns from hot metal featuring fairly commonly in those bodily damages (yeah, I'm a slow learner) - I found that Lavender Essential Oil is a godsend for moderate burns.

You can use it on 1st and 2nd degree burns, where there is no broken skin or charred flesh.
3rd degree burns and charred flesh definitely need rapid and major medical intervention.

I keep a 100ml bottle of Lavender Essential oil on hand in the workshop constantly - and as soon as I've burnt myself, I grab that bottle of oil and slosh it over the burnt area.
It's important to get the oil on, FAST. Keep on repeating the application of the oil, as it runs off or dries out - you need to keep the burn area soaked with the oil for several hours or the best part of a day.

This essential oil has significant antiseptic and antibacterial properties along with a very low toxicity.
The rapidity with which Lavender oil removes heat from the burn area, and aids in rapid healing, is nothing short of amazing.

It's not unusual to have no blistering after a serious burn, if Lavender oil is sloshed on in time - and the complete burn healing process will normally be 3-4 days, as compared to 2-3 weeks for a burn left without treatment.

Lavender oil for burns

FollowupID: 883685

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Friday, Aug 25, 2017 at 13:14

Friday, Aug 25, 2017 at 13:14

Can't find the original photo , but this one shows my hand healing.

At the time of the accident, I dumped my hand into a bucket of room temperature water and swirled it around for about 15 to 20 minutes, keeping the water around the burn moving with the hope that that would help move the heat away from the cooking skin.

I then covered it with a South African product called Burn Shield - a dressing soaked in Tea-tree oil among other things.

Watch this video to see it in use

Burnshield video

I kept the dressing on for a few days.
FollowupID: 883703

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Friday, Aug 25, 2017 at 13:19

Friday, Aug 25, 2017 at 13:19
Ron, will look into neat lavender oil. My understanding was to never use essential oils in neat form so this is new to me. Always up for learning something new.
FollowupID: 883705

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Friday, Aug 25, 2017 at 14:25

Friday, Aug 25, 2017 at 14:25
Yes it's commonly taught not to use oils (cold butter, margarine etc) as it makes a burn worse, literally helps cook a burned area !!
Will have to take a look at Rons link and look up the Burn Shield / TT oil to check out if things are ok with them.
Might be time to update my burns treatment knowledge !!
FollowupID: 883710

Follow Up By: Ron N - Friday, Aug 25, 2017 at 16:38

Friday, Aug 25, 2017 at 16:38
Les, once you use neat Lavender oil on a mild to moderate burn, you will wonder why you never knew of its astounding, healing, soothing, antiseptic, and pain-killing abilities, and wish you'd known of it earlier.

The chemicals in Lavender oil have been chemically analysed, and proven to be chemicals that possess all the above properties.

An engineer/machinist mate insisted that Aloe Vera was his burn soother/healer of choice - and while Aloe Vera is good, Lavender oil is much better.

After my engineer/machinist mate tried some Lavender oil on a workshop burn, instead of Aloe Vera, he reckoned the results he got when he used it, were certainly quite amazing, and left Aloe Vera in the shade.

Just remember Lavender oil can't be used on really deep 3rd degree burns, where the skin has lifted right off, and raw flesh is exposed.
But even a bad hot metal burn, or hot water burn, with severe burn marks in the skin, will respond rapidly to the Lavender oil treatment.
As I stated previously, the faster you get the Lavender oil on, the faster it gets to work.

Back in 1986, I spilt a full cup of boiling water in my lap, when I was sitting at the brekkie table in my thin cotton jocks.
I'd just heated the cup in the microwave, and it was still at a full 100 degs C.

The pain I endured was unbelievable, and you can probably guess where the burns were concentrated - yep, the most important part of a blokes anatomy.

I only wish I had known of Lavender oil back then - then I wouldn't have had to endure that excruciatingly painful month of blistering, peeling, and slow healing.

FollowupID: 883715

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Friday, Aug 25, 2017 at 16:59

Friday, Aug 25, 2017 at 16:59
Ouch !!
Double ouch, need at least 10 chars in reply !!
FollowupID: 883719

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, Aug 27, 2017 at 18:17

Sunday, Aug 27, 2017 at 18:17
It looks like the French are exporting their dumbest, drunken tourists, so perhaps Australia has lost its crown in that dept.

A French tourist, excessive booze, a tree, and a $200 car - and he ends up with a long list of major injuries, and a $45,000 hospital bill!

French tourist gets $45,000 hospital bill after crashing $200 car whilst drunk

What can you say? The Americans say, "You cain't fix stoopid".

I think if I was a Doc, I'd get very sick of patching up stupid, dumb people.
But I guess that's probably about 90% of their work.

AnswerID: 613321

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Sunday, Aug 27, 2017 at 19:10

Sunday, Aug 27, 2017 at 19:10
Ron, quote"It looks like the French are exporting their dumbest, drunken tourists, so perhaps Australia has lost its crown in that department."

Sounds like you are describing some of our Aussie exports, dumb and dumber is world wide. Maybe it would be best to find out what exactly happened.
FollowupID: 883759