compressor

Submitted: Friday, Sep 08, 2017 at 19:40
ThreadID: 135542 Views:4705 Replies:10 FollowUps:14
has anybody had anything to do with the air dragon for blowing up tyres? was advertised in aus post junk mail

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Friday, Sep 08, 2017 at 20:03

Friday, Sep 08, 2017 at 20:03
Mate it's under $40 (US?), I reckon junk.
Yep, just had a quick look, check out reviews . . .

http://www.highya.com/air-dragon-reviews

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1EOZwQzP7g
AnswerID: 613623

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Friday, Sep 08, 2017 at 20:52

Friday, Sep 08, 2017 at 20:52
Reckon they would be OK to pump up a basketball, bike tire or even the wheelbarrow but that is about it.

Better to spend your money on one of these 2 - https://www.4wdsupacentre.com.au/products/air-compressors.html
FollowupID: 884123

Follow Up By: rumpig - Friday, Sep 08, 2017 at 21:20

Friday, Sep 08, 2017 at 21:20
Or better still...buy a Bushranger Maxair 3 compressor, and it'll likely still be going 10 years later like my Maxair 2 compressor is.
FollowupID: 884124

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Friday, Sep 08, 2017 at 21:21

Friday, Sep 08, 2017 at 21:21
My supacentre one didn't even start. :-)
FollowupID: 884125

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Friday, Sep 08, 2017 at 22:54

Friday, Sep 08, 2017 at 22:54
How'd the refund go Michael, much hassle / time ?

I had a fridge arrive 2nd hand, didn't work, took 3 months to get sorted and refund.
First dealing with them.
Never. Again.
FollowupID: 884128

Reply By: Rangiephil - Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 11:05

Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 11:05
ALDI had a good strong compressor for sale at $129 last Saturday and there may be some left at various stores.
This compressor is a double end one and pretty popular in lots of brands.

I have an earlier ALDI compressor which is humungous and has been very reliable.
It really sucks if you have a 4WD waiting around for a slooooow compressor to pump up tyres.
I would avoid the cheapo one like the plague.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 613627

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 12:48

Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 12:48
I was looking to purchase one similar to the Air Dragon.
Ryobi produce a drill style compressor in their "Ryobi One+" range, but it is not available in Australia.
As I carry an 18v drill and small vacuum, the addition of the Ryobi P737 would have been practical as the same battery can be used for all devices. The bigger P731 compressor is available in Australia, but is too big in physical size for my intended use.
I still may order the P737 through eBay. (comes from the US).

However, my needs are much more modest, only requiring a little puff of air to use my Tanami Pump to transfer fuel from the jerrycans.
On my Jackaroo, the process was simple as the tyre mounted on the back door, supplied the air.
Alas, I have no such thing on the Colorado.

As for blowing up tyres though, forget these little gadgets.
You need a compressor with enough grunt and staying power to reseal a tyre bead, as well as pump up the tyre itself and a duty cycle that allows continuous use for all four tyres, as you air up.
My trusty Big Red portable has done the job for me for nigh on fifteen years and is still going strong. Not as fast as the newer breed of dual head compressors now available, but still fast enough for me.

AnswerID: 613630

Follow Up By: mike39 - Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 19:31

Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 19:31
To re seat a tubeless tyre, a squirt of "start, you bar$tard" inside the tyre followed by a small drizzle of petrol then a match will give you your first 10psi.

Takes a bit of getting used to though........
FollowupID: 884139

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 20:32

Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 20:32
Bill, I love the One range of tools myself, but after an Earth forum member that had one advised how unsuitable it was for 4wd tyres, I resisted. Slow was the reason from memory.
Edit, it was the P731 available in Australia.
FollowupID: 884141

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 15:22

Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 15:22
If you can afford it, the ARB Dual Compressor with tank is the way to go, either vehicle mounted or in the case. Testing of compressors carried out by Pat Callinan's Media group showed this one to be the best in all situations. Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 613632

Follow Up By: rumpig - Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 16:12

Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 16:12
Would want to be for the price...i got quoted a bit over a grand to have one of those set ups installed my vehicle, hence why for now I've stuck with my 10 year old compressor i already owned. I'm sure it's a great set up though, and wouldn't say no if someone else offered to pay for it for me...lol
FollowupID: 884135

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 21:30

Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 21:30
Hubby was looking at those. We have eight large tyres to pump up when caravanning. We would love to hear any first hand reports.

FollowupID: 884144

Reply By: Sigmund - Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 18:57

Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 18:57
Look for 150 l per minute or better.
AnswerID: 613637

Reply By: Member - Blue M - Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 19:43

Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 19:43
I have an ARB compressor, (the Smaller of the two) which has been very good and reliable.
A few weeks ago I saw a twin piston compressor for sale and it stated it will pump a "MAX" of 150 ltrs per minute, were the ARB one only does 61.6 litres per minute under load, shown in the specs.

Now me being me, who has to test everything out, let my front tyre down to 20lb, put the 150lpm one on and pumped for exactly 2 minutes. It raised the pressure to 40lb.
Now I deflated the same tyre back down to 20lb and attached the ARB and let it run for exactly 2 minutes. It raised the pressure to 38lb.

I was slightly taken back by the difference, or lack there off, so I run the same test on the spare tyre in the shed. The same results.

So I have come to the conclusion that because it says it will do something doesn't necessarily mean it will.

Now I will admit the second one I bought was only about 1/3 the price of the ARB one.

AnswerID: 613640

Follow Up By: RMD - Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 22:26

Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 22:26
150 lpm is the no load, not connected to a tyre flow,ie, pumping air to no where.
Under pressure? now that is a different thing. Some specs are stated in different ways, not to mislead of course.
FollowupID: 884146

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Sunday, Sep 10, 2017 at 00:58

Sunday, Sep 10, 2017 at 00:58
It's all about longevity too, and not having an essential piece of equipment like that letting you down on a trip.
That said, I bought a (cheap $100) BBT 150lt/min, 150psi online pretty much 5 years ago and it's still going like a train.
https://www.bbta.com.au/products/BBT-Gold-Series-Compressor.html
I have taken the deflate part of the hose off, and make a 3m airline extension I add in as the spring coil hose is awkward at full reach.
I also put a screw on fitting on the outlet as they are fail / leak proof.
Plenty of beach sand work, and 6 or 7 Simpson crossings, plus a fair bit of normal tracks work doing minor airing up jobs.
If I was installing one on board, I'd likely go for ARB twin or the Boss brand, with an air tank too.
FollowupID: 884148

Follow Up By: Member - Blue M - Sunday, Sep 10, 2017 at 01:53

Sunday, Sep 10, 2017 at 01:53
That is the one I am talking about Les.
It seems to be a pretty solid machine and should be ok.
FollowupID: 884149

Reply By: RMD - Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 22:28

Saturday, Sep 09, 2017 at 22:28
If you use it for very long I suppose it will breathe fire, Dragons do that!
AnswerID: 613641

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Sep 10, 2017 at 08:15

Sunday, Sep 10, 2017 at 08:15
Re the Dragon, at $40 or so, footballs and wheel barrow tyres might be its forte.

I must be a bit of a dinosaur with compressors as I've had a single cylinder "Blue Tongue" for close to 20 years. It hasn't had a great deal of use until 2015, when I first did a Simpson crossing with Les & Gunther(RIP). Have done a further 6 crossings since then so has seen some use.

They don't overheat, seem quite brisk in doing the job but are suited to storing in a case, rather than under the bonnet or elsewhere, exposed to dust.

AnswerID: 613643

Follow Up By: RMD - Sunday, Sep 10, 2017 at 13:02

Sunday, Sep 10, 2017 at 13:02
G'day Bob Y
I too have a Bluetongue compressor which I bought many years ago.
It's output is very poor and doesn't pump to anywhere near stated pressure. With a gauge directly screwed into it's oulet it only gets close to 90psi never over that.
Trying to reinflate tyres is an ALL DAY event and the compressor gets very hot.
I thought it must be faulty and disassembled the compressor unit to find an absolutely piddley sized aluminium cylinder and small piston housed in a big housing. The promotion of the product bore no resemblance to reality.
It is of little use and so slow a hand pump is quicker.
The electric motor section made by Thomas I believe is well made but the comressor section not so.
I can't see how you could have used one on a number of Simpson crossings. Ok if all night for the compressor to do the tyres I suppose.
Blue Tongue is right though, it simply lies down in the sun.
Nigh on useless. I had thought of returning it, by throwing it through the Opposite Lock store window, but that is criminal damage so refrained from that action.
FollowupID: 884160

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2017 at 05:46

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2017 at 05:46
"Opposite Lock"

Therein lies the problem, RMD. I bought mine from Piranha!

FollowupID: 884219

Reply By: Capt. Wrongway - Sunday, Sep 10, 2017 at 12:55

Sunday, Sep 10, 2017 at 12:55
It's a toy. Do yourself a favor and buy the best quality portable compressor you can afford. It's not worth the risk getting stuck with a dud compressor in the middle of no where.
Capt.
AnswerID: 613656

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Sep 11, 2017 at 19:11

Monday, Sep 11, 2017 at 19:11
I think the price says it all. It gets very bad reviews so I can't understand how they can keep pedalling that advertisement of fantastic air capacity and tough reliability. Michael

AnswerID: 613693

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Monday, Sep 11, 2017 at 20:02

Monday, Sep 11, 2017 at 20:02
Pure and simple marketing BS and no conscience, and people still just see the ads and believe it, order it without doing a bit of due diligence.

Also so cheap they don't bother seeking refund or reporting bad product to respective agency.
I read more than a few reviews in the link I posted (first reply) where people said they tried it, and in the bin it went.
FollowupID: 884198