33" tyres on stock 2004 GU

Submitted: Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 20:19
ThreadID: 13560 Views:1854 Replies:11 FollowUps:15
Could anyone tell me if I can run 33" tyres on a 2004 stock GU without them rubbing on the guards at full articulation? My ST came with 265/70R16, but I know the model up from mine is sold with 275/70R16. I cannot afford a suspension lift just yet, but want to change my tyres to 285/75R16? Will it be ok?
gamefish

Reply By: Mick - Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 20:55

Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 20:55
I think you've got the bull by the tail gamefish - 33" is a big jump from the standard 16" tyre!!!
AnswerID: 62140

Follow Up By: gamefish - Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 20:57

Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 20:57
Mick
Is that a no...?
thanks
gamefish
FollowupID: 323490

Reply By: robb - Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 21:09

Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 21:09
The standard tyre is a 31inch tyre, I am pretty sure that you will need a lift to clear 33inch tyres at full articulation...

AnswerID: 62145

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 21:25

Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 21:25
You may, but your car wont be legal - No Insurance. Unless you get engineered...

You can only go 15mm bigger than stock...
AnswerID: 62153

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 22:17

Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 22:17
awwww Truckster, u always spoil the fun !
FollowupID: 323512

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 22:31

Monday, Jun 07, 2004 at 22:31
Its in my blood...
FollowupID: 323516

Follow Up By: Goona - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 15:31

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 15:31
It depends upon what state you are in doesn't it
FollowupID: 323727

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 20:20

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 20:20
Which state are they legal in??

Nsw Nope.
Vic Nope
Qld Nope
SA Nope
WA Not anymore
Tassie maybe...
FollowupID: 323799

Reply By: Stevo - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 08:37

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 08:37
Have a GU with a 50mm lift and 285/75 tyres and yes they rub the guards at full articulation.
AnswerID: 62185

Reply By: TCM - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 08:40

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 08:40
I don't know if hey will scrub with standard suspension - they will definitly be ok with a 2 inch lift. They ARE also legal on a GU as long as you have the correct tyre placecard. (which can be bought from Nissan and fitted by yourself)

There is a good discusion here. http://forums.overlander.com.au/viewtopic.php?t=13020&highlight=bfg

(Just cut and paste the address into the address bar is easiest.)

Daniel
AnswerID: 62186

Follow Up By: Member - Rohan K - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 10:05

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 10:05
I'm about to add to that OL post to clarify the issue but the short story is that the max. size (legal without an engineer's cert) in states with the +15 mm rule, is 831 mm for the Patrol. This has only been "tested and approved" in NSW.
FollowupID: 323561

Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 09:28

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 09:28
I ordered my GU with 285/75 BFG MT tyres and used it a couple of times bush before I got my lift and didn't notice any rubbing. It should be ok.

Leroy
AnswerID: 62191

Reply By: TCM - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 13:27

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 13:27
Rohan - I just added to the OL thread as well.

With the 245/85/16 placecard - you should be able to go up to a 850mm tyre which includes all the 285s.

I'm going to ring a mate at Nissan today and see if that placecard is still avalable.

cheers,
Daniel
AnswerID: 62237

Follow Up By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 13:49

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 13:49
Hi Daniel,

I don't think you can get a placard with the 245/85/16 listed on it.
If you can find one please post the part number, I have searched everywhere for one without luck.

I believe the largest size shown on a placard is 265/75/16.

Regards, Mark
FollowupID: 323582

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 13:43

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 13:43
I run 285/75 Cooper ST's and the rear just rub the guard at full articulation. The front appear to be fine.

Even though they rub, I have not noticed it while driving, only when looking at the rub marks on the sound-deadning/rust-proofing. Would I go back to 265/70, not at all!

AnswerID: 62242

Follow Up By: gamefish - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 17:59

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 17:59
2 follow up questions:
-Is you GU standard height?
-Have you noticed any detremential effect of the larger diameter tyres on the gearing?
gamefish
FollowupID: 323620

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 19:31

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 19:31
1- Yeah, its standard height, probably a bit lower with all the accessories actually (compared to my brother-inlaws GU, mine is 25mm lower at the guards).

2- I changed the tyres over at ~35 kms on the odo, so havn't really got much experience on the 265/70's (7% difference). But I reckon the gearing is really good. Only complaint is that low range is not low enough, but the tyres make minimal difference to that, need the 2.5 reduction on low range, not the 2.0

Also, I fitted a Dtronic at 5,000kms and it probably prefers higher gearing than standard, but I never regretted the gearing change even before the Dtronic (more for towing, plus the bonus huge increase to bottom end just off idle)

FollowupID: 323646

Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 00:11

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 00:11
ok , I am a little confused here , what does 285/75/16 have to do with 33 " tyres ?

285/75/16 are a 32" tyre there is no to get a true 33 you need to go 255/85/16
AnswerID: 62373

Follow Up By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 08:26

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 08:26
I think you will find that 285/75/16 is around 32.8 inches.
Closer to 33 than 32.
FollowupID: 323703

Follow Up By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 08:36

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 08:36
Hi Eric,

Just checked the BFG web site.

They list 285/75/16 Mud Terrain as 33.1 inch
and 285/75/16 All terrain as 32.9 inch

Maybe you worked out the sizes based on a 15 inch rim instead of 16 inch ?

Regards, Mark
FollowupID: 323705

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 17:42

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 17:42
I am going on my experience on purchasing tyres and taking proper mesurments when fitted , The most i got out of 285/75/16 is 32"

I know they sell them as a 33" but it never works out to a true 33 "

The only tyre I got close to a 33" was the 255/85/16

dont forget the middle profile number will give you more hight that the width fpofile number .

I have sat with a tape messure for many a time to calculate the Gear ratio I was going to run with each tyre
FollowupID: 323747

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 17:44

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 17:44
Guys forget about the tyre messurments they give you , get a tape messure and do it yourself with the tyre inflated on the rim, I think you will be shocked
FollowupID: 323749

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 18:52

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 18:52
OE or OME shocks Eric? and are the Nitrochargers or Koni's?

FollowupID: 323781

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 21:43

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 21:43
Sorry Bonz , are you asking me what shocks i would use ?
FollowupID: 323811

Reply By: andyg - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 19:06

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 19:06
I run 32.8 285/75R16 Cooper STs on my GU have done some mild offroading no signs of rubbing same boat as you next step new suspension to lift the arse of the ground when the tools are in the back
AnswerID: 62482

Reply By: gamefish - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 20:06

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 20:06
Thanks to all who have contributed thus far.

Seems like a lift is on the cards earlier rather than later...now I can justify it to the wife!!!!
gamefish
AnswerID: 62495