New LC100 V8 Petrol Fuel Economy??

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:14
ThreadID: 13588 Views:2794 Replies:11 FollowUps:6
I'm about to pick up a new LC100 Petrol V8 & was wondering if anyone can comment on the fuel efficiency I'm likely to expect.
I'm trading in the trusty VT Dunnydore V6 for the LC100 & I was geting around 13lt/100km in city driving & around 10lt/100Km on open roads.
I know the Cruiser will be a "tad" thirstier, but how much should I expect to get out of it....

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:22

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:22
Buy shares in BP ........... ;-))))
AnswerID: 62250

Reply By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:23

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:23
If you double the figures for the Dunnydore you would be very close to the mark.
AnswerID: 62251

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:23

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:23
A tad thirstier....geez you have to be joking.... its going to get a tad tad tad thirstier than that
AnswerID: 62252

Reply By: Bazza - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:30

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:30
G'Day Gregster,
In answer to your question ... "a large tad", but really mate, if your concerned about the fuel efficiency, you should'nt be getting any large petrol V8 4x4.
Bazza.
AnswerID: 62254

Reply By: flappan - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:52

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:52
I wouldn't quite double it.

Whilst I'm not sure of the V8 , here's some others.

my 4.5 Petrol Patrol , gets approx. 16/100 Highway , 20/100 City , and 18 - 20/100 Towing my Camper Trailer.

A mate has a 4.5 Petrol Cruiser , with similar figures.

I understand the 4.8 Petrol Patrol actually gets slightly better fuel economy then mine . . . but only by 1/100 or so.

I suspect the V8 would be around that mark somewhere depending on how heavy the right foot is.
AnswerID: 62256

Reply By: Rob W. - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:52

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:52
Gregster,
According to 4x4 Australia Magazine April 2004 issue No. 243 the fuel consumption figures for the V8 (average on-road/off-road) were 18.2 L/100KM.
Average towing (1500kg van) was 28.5 L/100KM

Rob
AnswerID: 62257

Reply By: Member - Bill (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:56

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 14:56
Before i added all the aftermarket gear... roof rack etc... I was getting at best 15lts per hundred driving economically.....average about 18 lts per hundred.

now I get 20lts Per hundred average using ULP..
Towing a caravan 25lts per Hundred @ speed Limits

Using 98Ron.... 25% better normal driving normal conditions
Using 98 ron towing .. works out about the same . better milage but you pay the balance for it

I have a June 03 GXL LC approx 30,000 km now...

Hope this helps..

Point of interest .. when i removed the tyre from undedneith and put on a wheel carrier my fuel consumption increased abnormally so...
I put a thin tyre back undernieth for the just in case as well as the one on the wheel carrier and the fuel consuption returned to what it was...

Must mess up the flow of air under the vehicle more then you would think...

Hope this has helped.

AnswerID: 62259

Reply By: Chumpion - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 15:38

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 15:38
Damn - I now know why people buy defenders! I get 10L/100km out of mine doing a mix of city and 90km/h driving. Worst figures have been on the freeway, where I get 12L/100km, but that was doing 120 most of the way.

Out of curiosity, what sort of L/km are other diesel owners getting?

AnswerID: 62262

Follow Up By: James M - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 16:34

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 16:34
Hi Chris,
They are about the same figures my 2.8td patrol gets. What size engine have you in the defender.
Keep in mind I try to stay under 100ks.

James.
FollowupID: 323605

Follow Up By: Shawn - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 18:49

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 18:49
Mate,
On average get around 13-14ltr/100km for a 4.2 TDi Patrol
FollowupID: 323635

Follow Up By: GrantWA - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 19:38

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 19:38

In my 2.8TD Pajero I get about 11L/100km around town and the worst I've got is about 12.5 with a bit of offroad and towing included. Got my injectors overhauled today so will be interested to see the effect!

Grant
FollowupID: 323649

Follow Up By: robb - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 22:03

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 22:03
Around 12-13l per 100km from my Turbo HJ60

FollowupID: 323676

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 23:12

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 23:12
I have filled the Prado twice since new. 150 odd litres both times. First full refill I got 12.1L/100km and second fill yesterday I got 12.0L/100km.

3.0l intercooled 1KZ-TE turbo diesel. That's about 23mpg so I am pretty happy with that considering that my driving style does not exactly spare the horses!

Steven
FollowupID: 323687

Follow Up By: Chumpion - Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 12:52

Wednesday, Jun 09, 2004 at 12:52
James,

Mine is the TD5, 03 model, all kitted up with roofracks, bullbar, spotties, etc....
FollowupID: 323717

Reply By: mid life - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 16:13

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 16:13
Gregster

I'm on my 2nd V8 cruiser now, this time a Sahara, around Brisbane I get around 18-19lts/100klms on the highway about 14-15lts/100klms and offroad soft sand around 26-27lts/100klms

Jeff
AnswerID: 62270

Reply By: vuduguru - Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 21:15

Tuesday, Jun 08, 2004 at 21:15
Gregster,

Went from a VS V6 wagon to the V8 Landcruiser. Weekly fuel bill, 400km early peak hour, plus weekends, in Sydney, went from $60-65 to $80-90 per week. Mines an '05/03 with 37k on it. Open road varies, load it up with kids (4), roof rack, trailer, blow the oil burnes into the dust and you will see an increase. But hey you know it, I know its a V8. To live with, realistically expect 20 to less than 30% increase. Looking back I am happy with my decision. I also use Shell optimax, what you pay for at the pump you get back in economy and performance. Good luck
Shane
AnswerID: 62351

Reply By: Duncan Wilson - Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 21:57

Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 21:57
Re Diesel fuel consumption hope the following log helps-
Holiday Motoring – Fuel Consumption Log for M Class 270 cdi

Summary - Basic Statistics

-Holiday Period 21days from 9/05/2004 to 29/05/2004 (inclusive).

-Travelling Details Section A: Driving Melbourne to Brisbane within 2 days ,
(Attached) Section B: Holiday Period in Brisbane with near Coast visits,
Section C: Driving to Carnarvon Gorge area via 1770/Agnes Waters, then Section D: Roma(Qld) to Melbourne via an inland route within 2 days.

-Load 2 persons, Full holiday luggage for 3 weeks plus full Esky, picnic basket, laptop and brief case plus sundry packages.

-Tyre pressure Av 29/30 lbs per sq inch all round

-Weather Cool South of Queensland border and warm in Queensland – no rain but
several over-cast days.
-Oil Usage approx 1/3 litre as a top up

Summary of Fuel Usage (See page 2)

-Total Fuel Consumed 557 ltrs for 5966klms = 9.3ltrs/100klms

- Note: The vehicle’s computer was not reset at the start of this Melbourne to Melbourne journey but continues from the start of our previous Queensland trip at a mileage reading of klms. Frequent checking of the computer during the trip indicated a fuel consumption rate less than the above and the computer recorded a reading of 8.6 ltrs/100klms after refuelling in Melbourne. Temperature and possible inaccuracies in fuel pumps, notably at country locations would explain the difference between pump and computer measurements. .

Record of Fuel Usage

Fuel Stop & Brand Ltrs Taken Tachometer Distanced Ltrs/
(to Full Tank) Reading Travelled 100klms
(Klms) (Klms)

Start-Woolworths Full Tank 28,604

Dubbo-Shell 77.00 29,456 852 9.03 .. …..
Toowoomba
-Woolworths 68.00 30,195 739 9.20

Garden City-Brisbane
(Woolworths) (1) 73.00 30,940 745 9.82

Garden City-Brisbane
(Woolworths) 60.00 31,584 644 9.32

Biloela
(Woolworths) 65.00 32,344 760 8.55

Roma (Shell) (2) 56.00 32,917 573 9.77

Dubbo (Shell)(3) 80.00 33,737 820 9.75

Melbourne (BP) 78.00 34,570 833 9.36

Total 557.00 5,966 9.33

Note:- (1) Contained a deal of stop start city driving.

(2) Contained 60/70 klms of loose gravel and some secondary country roads.

(3) Contained sustained period of 110 klm driving, some secondary country road and hilly country around Coonabarabran.

Driving Conditions and Information by Sections
(Change of drivers in both am and pm each day)

Section A Melbourne to Brisbane (May 9 and 10).

-Day 1 Start 6.50am. Breaks at Tocumwal, Forbes and Dubbo(fuel) plus several
flagmen delays. .
Stopped at Coonabarabran at 6.30pm.
Est.Actual Driving Time/Distance 9hrs 30mins/910 klms

-Day 2 Start 7.30am. Breaks at Moree and Toowoomba (fuel and Picnic Point). Change of drivers both am and pm. Several flagmen delays.
Reached Salisbury (Brisbane) 4.50pm
Est Actual Driving Time/Distance Travelled 8hrs 30mins/890klms

Conditions: Excellent weather, light traffic first day, several delays due long stretches of roadworks. Traffic from Moree to Toowoomba reasonably busy either way.. Traffic Toowoomba to Brisbane constant and heavy from Ipswich with large interstate transports

Section B Brisbane/Noosa/Brisbane, Brisbane/Byron Bay/Brisbane and City Driving

Section CBrisbane to Carnarvon Gorge/Roma via Coast Route (May 22, 23 and 24).

-Day 1 Start 9.10am. Brisbane to Bundaberg (2 hour lunch) then to Agnes Water/Town of 1770 at 4.00pm. Took back road from Bundaberg to Agnes Water/Town of 1770. Covered 530 klms in 6hrs 30 mins actual driving time. Changed drivers each day . Stayed overnight.

-Day 2 Start 8.30am. AgnesWater/Town of 1770, via Miriamvale, Calliope (Gladstone), Biloela (fuel stop), Banana, Moura (lunch break), Rolleston to Carnarvon Gorge. Pacific Highway, Carnarvon Development Road, primary and secondary sealed country roads and approx 30 klms of loose gravel road into the National Park. Arrived Wilderness Lodge 3.45pm. Booked in for 3 nights and 2 days walking in the Carnarvon Gorge National Park.
Covered 542 klms in 6 hrs 15 mins.
-Day3 Advised by Wilderness Lodge management to leave as storms forecast and roads become very dangerous and slippery even for 4WD vehicles (clay blocks the tyre treads and so limits traction and control of steering. Left Lodge at 3pm drove 250 klms to Roma via Injune. Arrived at 5.30pm, refuelled and stayed overnight. No rain recorded –sunny day.

Section D. Roma to Melbourne (May 26 and 27)

-Day 1 Start 8.15am via St George, Mungandi, joined Newell Highway at Moree(break), Narrabri (lunch) and arrived Dubbo for fuel and to overnight at 5.30pm. Covered 820 klms in 8hrs. .
-Day 2 Left Dubbo 7.30am. Lunch at Tocumwal. Purchased orchids south of Shepperton. Arrived Melbourne 4.30pm Covered 833 klms in approx 8 hrs 15 mins.

Conditions were very good, few flagmen delays and relarively light traffic.

Note : A large proportion of the highways travelled have a 110 kphr speed limit.
AnswerID: 62709