Best vehicle for camper conversion around Aus?

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 09, 2017 at 04:46
ThreadID: 135964 Views:6920 Replies:11 FollowUps:14
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all, I'm new to 4wds and looking for some advice on which vehicle to buy. Looking to start off with a dual cab ute, and build a camper on to the back of it, something quite similar to this:

The eventual goal would be to do a long trip around/through Australia, to see everything our country has to offer, including all the stuff off the beaten path. I'm thinking the following things are probably most important:
- Off road ability
- Reliable and serviceable in remote areas
- Stable offroad with a camper on the back
- Not too horrendous on fuel
I have a budget of around $15k for the base vehicle. I really like defenders and I know they have great load carrying capacity and fuel economy. I could get a pretty decent TD5 defender within my budget. However, is that a poor choice for rural Aus? Otherwise, a 79 series cruiser would also come within budget, and would score highly on serviceability but less so on fuel economy and load capacity. Should I be considering other vehicles, eg a Hilux or something?
Would very much appreciate peoples' thoughts and experience!
Many thanks.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Michael H9 - Saturday, Dec 09, 2017 at 06:39

Saturday, Dec 09, 2017 at 06:39
Beware of loading up any dual cab with a heavy weight and bouncing it up and down continuously over rough country. You will break the chassis. A single cab ute would be better suited as the load is better balanced on the rear axle. Is $15k enough to buy a reliable vehicle for remote travel?
AnswerID: 615426

Follow Up By: Mischaseb - Saturday, Dec 09, 2017 at 06:45

Saturday, Dec 09, 2017 at 06:45
I haven't worked it out exactly, but maybe I overstated the load carrying aspect. I don't imagine the camper will be more than three or four hundred kilos.