Prado 150 fire

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 30, 2018 at 16:00
ThreadID: 136186 Views:5957 Replies:9 FollowUps:29
This Thread has been Archived
Our first day on the Canning Stock Route last year our Prado was burnt. I am trying to find out what could have ignited the spinnifex jammed between the fuel tank and guard. When we first stopped spinnifex was smouldering at the right hand front corner of the fuel tank which we cleaned out,. After travelling approx 5 kms it was on fire and being aided by fuel leaking.The rest is history but I am at a loss what caused ignition because when we checked under vechicle during the day there was no other spinnifex caught in any other place.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: cookie1 - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2018 at 16:54

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2018 at 16:54
Sorry to hear of your loss so early in your trip, I presume you are the unlucky one who had just left Bililuna and got as far as Well 46 I think I read.

I am no expert on the matter but have travelled through spinifex before, indeed we came across the Jeep back in 2012, and it is sharp stuff, presumably there are rubber fuel lines going to / from your tank and one would think it possible that maybe it has either penetrated the fuel line or, when you were clearing the spinifex, it may have loosened a hose perhaps. Followed by a loose stone / rock flicking up causing a spark.

All hypothetical I know, but I too would like to know what the actual cause was as we are heading back that way this year, with a DPF this time so does that not make me a tad cautious.

Again, sorry to hear of your loss but trust it hasn't put you off 4wding

cheers
AnswerID: 616511

Follow Up By: Member - abqaiq - Wednesday, Jan 31, 2018 at 07:48

Wednesday, Jan 31, 2018 at 07:48