2015 Pathfinder to Kimberley?

Hi newbie here,

Just wondering if Pathfinder is up for the challenge for a trip to the Kimberley through Gibbs River Road? We are thinking about traveling in mid May.

Thanks
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Thursday, Feb 22, 2018 at 19:29

Thursday, Feb 22, 2018 at 19:29
There is only one Gibb in the Gibb River Road and pretty much any car (2WD included) can be driven along it if treated appropriately.
I was serving fuel at Kalumburu in 2006 when a BA Falcon pulled into the bowser. The young French bloke leaned out of the window and asked "Is this Kununurra?"
I replied "No, you missed it by about 600km" He said "Bother" (or something similar, in French), refuelled it, turned around and headed south.
He was having no vehicle problems at all..... :)

Cheers,
Peter
OKA196 motorhome.
AnswerID: 617108

Follow Up By: Ju-Kai - Thursday, Feb 22, 2018 at 19:49

Thursday, Feb 22, 2018 at 19:49
I’m more concern about the river crossings though. Not quite sure where the water level will be in May as it has been a really wet season.
FollowupID: 888591

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Thursday, Feb 22, 2018 at 20:03

Thursday, Feb 22, 2018 at 20:03
Fair question....
There are only two that need any serious consideration.
The Pentercost can back up due to a high tide and you might need to time your crossing appropriately, but personally I have never seen it deeper than 300mm, but it is a bit "wobbley" due to the size of the stones.

The Durack might be deeper, but generally they don't open the road until it is drivable. Same goes for the rest of the road, so it is possible that you won't start on the Gibb and so not get to the Durack until it is crossable. Luck of the draw....

This is the deepest we have seen it, but no doubt it would be deeper sometimes.
A nappy and a snorkel would be useful.

Cheers,
Peter
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 888592

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Feb 23, 2018 at 09:37