Caravan Park - Alice Springs

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 03, 2018 at 17:16
ThreadID: 136796 Views:4395 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
Staying in Alice Springs - what suggestions for caravan park. Looking for a secure park and good price and great place to stay. Can anyone please help. Leaving in two weeks. Many Thanks

Reply By: Idler Chris - Sunday, Jun 03, 2018 at 17:32

Sunday, Jun 03, 2018 at 17:32
Have stayed at most of them over the years and they all have been very good, I think it is called competition.
While you are there for the best T-Bone in Australia go to Milner's Meats and get a Texas T-Bone. Best done on a very hot grill on a campfire.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 619329

Reply By: andrew t - Sunday, Jun 03, 2018 at 17:32

Sunday, Jun 03, 2018 at 17:32
G'Day Mate were fantastic when we stayed there reasonable prices and friendly staff fantastic amenities great sites
AnswerID: 619330

Reply By: Gazza70 - Sunday, Jun 03, 2018 at 17:43

Sunday, Jun 03, 2018 at 17:43
GDay Mate was really good. Big 4 across the road is good as well but a bit more pricey. Big 4 is good if you a travelling with kids.
AnswerID: 619331

Reply By: Member - DOZER - Sunday, Jun 03, 2018 at 20:33

Sunday, Jun 03, 2018 at 20:33
big 4, pancakes sunday mornings, sky chat tuesday evenings, all included
AnswerID: 619334

Reply By: Member - nick b boab - Sunday, Jun 03, 2018 at 20:35

Sunday, Jun 03, 2018 at 20:35
Gooday If your looking for quiet nights , 2 parks well out of the way .5ks or so on ilparpa rd Wanngari & temple bar c/ parks
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 619335

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Jun 03, 2018 at 22:04

Sunday, Jun 03, 2018 at 22:04
We loved staying out of town at Temple Bar nine kilometres along Ilparpa Road. Nearby Wanngardi was closed at the time but reopened subsequent to our visit. Temple Bar would still be my choice, further away from the road, and against the range. Both of these have only a limited number of sites. Both allow pets.

When we were there, amenities were not brilliant but it was priced cheaply. Improvements have since been made, and price for powered site was $23 last year, with 7 days for price or 6 offer. Power is metered so you only pay for what you use; this worked out very cheap for us. Owners were great.

So for secure park (quite safe that far out of town and there are a number of permanent and semi permanent workers there so we felt part of a village with good neighbours), favourable price compared to those parks in town, and in a lovely location, Temple Bar wins the trifecta.

AnswerID: 619337

Follow Up By: baznpud - Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 08:36

Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 08:36
Yep, have to agree with Motherhen.
baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 891592

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 17:11

Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 17:11
Thanks for the recommendations, Motherhen. We tried to book at Temple Bar, but they don't take bookings. Ring up at 7am and they'll tell you what they have available, no guarantees in peak season which is when we'll be there. That doesn't work for us.

We booked at Wanngardi.

FollowupID: 891598

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 11:48

Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 11:48
Hi Pandalowie,

We travel with our dogs, so we require a pet friendly park. We stayed at the Heritage Caravan Park (http://www.heritagecaravanpark.com.au/). Can't remember how much, but it was not expensive, and it was a pleasant, well shaded park.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 619340

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 17:18

Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 17:18
We've stayed at Heritage and enjoyed it. Quiet, unassuming, well priced but everything you want as a GN with no kids without the bells and whistles of the expensive Big Fours and the like.

I liked Heavitree Gap CP but when we were there 2 years ago it was winding down due to re-development. If that didn't happen I'd be pleased to know, we'd go back there. It is/was a nice park.

FollowupID: 891599

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2018 at 22:07

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2018 at 22:07
Heritage changed hands after we were there so I will say no more now. We went there following getting to Temple Bar and finding it fully booked due to peak time and local show weekend coming up. The show also meant that the showground was not available for overflow either.Heritage was very overcrowded and all parks were packed out. We had to stay in town for a week to order a spring hanger bolt for our vehicle so were stuck in town.

Yes, Heavitree Gap Outback Lodge caravan park has closed.

FollowupID: 891645

Reply By: rumpig - Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 12:05

Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 12:05
The misses rang Big 4 a few weeks ago looking to book a overnight stop there for an upcoming trip, she was told we couldn’t book a single night stay, had to be 2 or 3 nights minimum (can’t remember which it was now) that we book for. May not effect you, but thought it worth mentioning just incase.
AnswerID: 619343

Follow Up By: NeddySmtih - Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 13:32

Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 13:32
This really annoys me when places do this, i can sort of understand if you booking a cabin, unit, house etc as they require cleaning and one night booking may not make it economical to rent out, but when all you want is a piece of ground with perhaps a powerpoint to get some power its pretty poor IMO
FollowupID: 891594

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 21:27

Monday, Jun 04, 2018 at 21:27
Is there any decent free camping just outside Alice Springs, that would be my preference, I have a roof tent so i have to pack up totally daily anyway. Michael.

AnswerID: 619354

Follow Up By: Member - nick b boab - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2018 at 06:27

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2018 at 06:27
Michael : depending on what you mean by decent free camping but there are many bush tracks close to Alice Springs keep in mind that there are also many town camps scattered through this area as well .not sure on the accessibility of your ilparpa Rd play pans south west of the town also the north Stuart Highway on the old Rd up to wigglies Waterhole and south of the airport on the Old South Road all may have some places to camp for the night . But I would not recommend trying free camping close to Alice Springs
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 891607

Follow Up By: Member - nick b boab - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2018 at 07:04

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2018 at 07:04
Apparently there must be some sort of free camping at the national truck Hall of Fame land south of the town , I read on Facebook.
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 891647

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2018 at 11:17

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2018 at 11:17
I think the camping out there was part of the Old Ghan Heritage Railway . It was there for people doing a few weeks of volunteer work. I'm not sure of its current status.

FollowupID: 891654

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jun 07, 2018 at 22:17

Thursday, Jun 07, 2018 at 22:17
Nothing close Michael. I will send you a private message.

FollowupID: 891702

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Jun 11, 2018 at 18:29

Monday, Jun 11, 2018 at 18:29
Thank you everyone, we were in the Flinders then Oddnadatta for last 3 days, Now at Marla, so no Telstra till now. Nice to get a heap of good places and feedback as usual. regards, Michael.

FollowupID: 891766

Reply By: Pondalowie - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2018 at 18:45

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2018 at 18:45
Thanks everyone for the advice, we are travelling with no kids, so dont need all the bells and whistles, just something that is nice and secure. Will check out all the recommended sites. Thanks heaps !
AnswerID: 619374

Reply By: Candace S. - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2018 at 19:43

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2018 at 19:43
I stayed 2 nights at G'day Mate and liked it. it's just south of town, and I thought it was quite secure.
AnswerID: 619393