Why I love the ABC

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 10:41
ThreadID: 136905 Views:3614 Replies:9 FollowUps:20
For anyone interested in understanding the river systems of the Diamantina and Cooper check out this link
ABC Story.
Back Expand Un-Read 9 Moderator

Reply By: oldfart1953 - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 15:10

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 15:10
I also enjoyed this story & photos when I saw it yesterday.....thanks ABC
AnswerID: 619815

Reply By: Michael H9 - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 16:23

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 16:23
Let's sell it off so we get added advertising bonus content? I can't wait for that.
AnswerID: 619816

Follow Up By: oldfart1953 - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 16:35

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 16:35
Just joking, Michael...............I hope!
FollowupID: 892144

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 16:56

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 16:56
Mate, I can't stand ads on any tv. The abc is my staple when I'm on the road. The thought of some media mogul raping it makes me mad.
FollowupID: 892145

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 21:18

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 21:18
Maybe they should keep their political reporting unbiased as per their charter, I’m surprised the Labor party haven’t put in a bid!
FollowupID: 892148

Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 21:32

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 21:32
Some examples of your perceived "bias" would be instructive, Shaker.

Go back a few years, though, so you can see what happened during previous LaboUr times!
FollowupID: 892149

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 22:57

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2018 at 22:57
I honestly don't see the bias some people keep talking about. You should point it out to enlighten me, because I'm not interested in biased reporting in the slightest. The facts will do just fine.
FollowupID: 892152

Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 17:30

Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 17:30
The ABC is most certainly biased against Liberal concepts. Hardly ever fair and even unless the Labor mistake is grave indeed.

The ABC is part of Labour

L- then A for abc- then B which is part of the abc and the C is hidden in the O of LABOUR. Part and parcel of each other.

Most ABC radio morning shows don't have even slightly ccultured peple anymore, just Bogans from A Bogan Company. ABC comedy is American Format comedy now, can you laugh at any of it? Just ridiculous and stupid. All the XYZ's and other letters laugh at it because they grew up to be AMERICAN.
Isn't TV wonderful.
FollowupID: 892162

Follow Up By: Member - warren G (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 18:17

Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 18:17
Mate if you honestly can't see the bias political, global warming, great barrier reef etc, nothing anything that anyone tells you will help. Having said that it does have some good country based programs.
Should of read before I posted before the spelling nazi's attack. lol

Cheers warren
FollowupID: 892163

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Friday, Jun 29, 2018 at 12:33

Friday, Jun 29, 2018 at 12:33
May we please remind people to avoid the temptation to hijack a post with political comments which can spoil the good intentions of a post and further discourage people from posting in our Forum due to fear of starting an unintentioned debate. Cheers folks!
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 892192

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Jul 01, 2018 at 23:12

Sunday, Jul 01, 2018 at 23:12
Apologies to John n Rin (and mods) and thanks for the link, but this has to be said given some of the ironically biased comments above (fancy The ABC mentioning global warming and its effects on the GBR. What's the world coming to?)
Every enquiry that I can recall (and there have been 3 or 4 in the last two decades) into supposed ABC bias has been found to be unsubstantiated. AND ABC surveys show it has trust and support numbers that commercial media can only dream of. The ABC website has links to its own annual? surveys but here's a recent independent one for anyone interested. No surprise : Australians trust the ABC. The ABC gave recent Labor govs an absolute flogging - probably to show their even-handedness.

The great pity of it is that Australian media is dominated by embarrassing garbage from News Corp. The once great and relatively impartial newspaper The Australian has become a complete joke. Democracies require a balanced media and good investigative journalism - and you'l find neither under any Murdoch banner. Long live The ABC - an imperfect organisation which continues to deliver quality programs and at least half-decent (by comparison) journalism.
FollowupID: 892225

Reply By: Keith B2 - Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 19:18

Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 19:18
What do those of you who think the ABC has a leftist bias think about the Murdcoch Press, Sky News and and the slobbering shock jocks who pollute the airwaves?

Is bias in a public broadcaster, be it real or imagined, not okay when radical bias in a privately owned media organisation somehow acceptable?

Just sayin.
AnswerID: 619830

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 19:23

Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 19:23
I have noticed that if you are not parroting the drivel that comes out of the Daily Telegraph, Fox News, or all those shock jocks, then you are biased.
FollowupID: 892165

Follow Up By: Member - Rowdy6032 (WA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 19:41

Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 19:41
Taxpayers money doesn't pay for the Murdoch Press.

There is certainly plenty of taxpayers money going into the ABC, to the tune of 1 Billion Dollars.

How many conservative commentators do they have?
FollowupID: 892168

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 19:56

Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 19:56
None, and they shouldn't have any leftist ones either. If there are biased commentators they should be exposed and sacked. You don't sell a supposedly neutral news and entertainment source simply because you think it is biased. You expose the bias and eliminate it.
FollowupID: 892175

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Friday, Jun 29, 2018 at 12:34

Friday, Jun 29, 2018 at 12:34
May we please remind people to avoid the temptation to hijack a post with political comments which can spoil the good intentions of a post and further discourage people from posting in our Forum due to fear of starting an unintentioned debate. Cheers folks!
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 892193

Follow Up By: Keith B2 - Friday, Jun 29, 2018 at 15:43

Friday, Jun 29, 2018 at 15:43
Yeah I think we all got a bit carried away, me included.
The ABC is something everyone has an opinion on, but not on this string.
FollowupID: 892197

Follow Up By: Chris B26 - Friday, Jun 29, 2018 at 18:04

Friday, Jun 29, 2018 at 18:04
How much taxpayer funds go to Murdoch?
$30 million, no strings attached.
FollowupID: 892198

Follow Up By: Jarse - Sunday, Jul 01, 2018 at 09:30

Sunday, Jul 01, 2018 at 09:30
I love it when spelling nazis correct a person’s post that was actually spelled correctly :D :D
FollowupID: 892218

Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 19:40

Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 19:40
Well, there you go. I really didn't think my post would provide an opportunity to have a go at the ABC. What was on my mind was that I can't think of another broadcaster who would have produced such an interesting, clear and beautiful explanation of the Cooper and Diamantina systems.

I'll be more careful in future.
AnswerID: 619832

Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 19:55

Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 19:55
No need to becareful Min, the ABC informative programs are quite good but the normal content needs work to be fair and equal to show Aussies the true state of issues.
FollowupID: 892174

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Jul 01, 2018 at 23:20

Sunday, Jul 01, 2018 at 23:20
It rarely does otherwise. If anything it sanitises things too much in order to not make waves.
FollowupID: 892226

Reply By: Keith B2 - Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 20:03

Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 20:03
Be in no doubt. We pay for very word, every column inch and every screen minute of private media though the price loading that they have to place on their products to pay for advertising.

But that doesn't make them bad. But I am guessing, perhaps wrongly, that the aggregated cost is lot more than the cost of the ABC.

Some of the investigative journalism we have seen has been ground breaking. But where did it come from? Murcdoch? Sky News? The shock jocks who just read the newspapers on air?

Think about it. Would Q&A survive on commercial television? Or Four Corners? Or Radio National? Or News Radio? Listen to them and then decide.

And go the inland rivers. Thanks John and Min. I had to get this off my chest.
AnswerID: 619834

Reply By: Paul E6 - Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 20:50

Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 20:50
The ABC is ok if one is very Selective about the shows you view - and you can stomach the nauseating lefty agenda bias in between. Q&A is the epitome of socialist ABC propaganda. But as you mention, there are many interesting shows that you won't see on the dreck that passes for commercial TV.
AnswerID: 619835

Reply By: Ron N - Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 23:59

Thursday, Jun 28, 2018 at 23:59
I don't think there's a media outlet of any type that doesn't have a bias, or a barrow to push.

We know the ABC is full of lefties, that doesn't make them any lesser people, or less capable of producing satisfactory articles/documentaries/news programmes.

I think most of us who have been around for a while, can see any bias by reading between the lines, in most articles or shows.
I for one, thank the good Lord we still have an advert-free national broadcaster, even if it does occasionally produce some extreme leftist drivel.

I rarely watch commercial TV now, because the constant and rubbishy stream of ads, would drive one to drink.
In a popular commercial programme, the ads seems to be non-stop. I reckon they must frequently disobey broadcasting limits.

I for one, don't want anyone commercialising or dismantling "Auntie" - as the media barons and corporate CEO's would dearly love to do.

We've already had the Commonwealth Bank sold to the highest bidders - an event that was nothing short of a national disgrace - and an event still being celebrated with clinking champagne glasses in the corridors of the Big 4 Banks boardrooms.
King O'Malley must be spinning in his grave. Not to mention what the Australian Govt has since lost in income from the Commonwealth Bank.

It will be a sad day for Australia if some scumbag PM gets together with a bunch of corporate mates, and they work out a plan to get rid of "Aunty".

Thanks, Min, for the link to that well-put-together article - and thanks to the ABC people who put the effort in, to provide it.

AnswerID: 619843

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Friday, Jun 29, 2018 at 00:30

Friday, Jun 29, 2018 at 00:30
I thought this government did a bit of a purge when they got in and stacked the abc management with their cronies. People are still whining though. Commercial tv is going down the toilet, and Foxtel is following on because it has too many ads as well. The streaming services will end up with all the market and piracy will keep their prices down. A lot of us download abc pod casts and play them on long trips, it's excellent entertainment because you can choose the topic to suit your mood and you don't have to have good reception.
FollowupID: 892180

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Jul 01, 2018 at 23:28

Sunday, Jul 01, 2018 at 23:28
"We" know nothing of the sort Ron but "we'd" be interested in your evidence. Having read previous debates on the topic in other forums you might (will) be surprised if you google ABC bias and related terms and bother reading the myriad infromation and analyses which google finds. You also might want to familiarise yourself with ABC Board members and their backgrounds sometime.
FollowupID: 892228

Reply By: ModSquad - Friday, Jun 29, 2018 at 12:36

Friday, Jun 29, 2018 at 12:36
Moderation is just rules

AnswerID: 619869

Reply By: Member - Andrew & Jen - Saturday, Jun 30, 2018 at 15:00

Saturday, Jun 30, 2018 at 15:00
Thanks Min. I thoroughly enjoyed it and have sent the link to friends who have responded likewise.
It is a good example of the many things the ABC excels in doing, like the amazing documentaries they did on Lake Eyre some years ago and that the commercials won't touch because it would not attract a big enough audience to make it viable.
AnswerID: 619884