5le chip

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 10, 2018 at 10:47
ThreadID: 137454 Views:4157 Replies:1 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hey guys as most 5le lux owners i would love a little more power while driving hills , however being on my p’s i don’t have the option to just chuck a turbo in the old girl, as far as I know I’m only allowed factory turbo .

I’ve been doing some research and it seems dp chip have designed a module suited to the 5le engine, which makes sense as it’s electronically injected. They claim a power increase from 71kw to 86kw.

I’m only a newbie to this stuff and don’t want a race car , only looking for that little bit more power uphills

Do you guys think this is a logical and viable solution ? Should I get an exhaust and extractors aswell or maybe before ? Snorkel ?

Thank you heaps !
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: RMD - Saturday, Nov 10, 2018 at 11:32

Saturday, Nov 10, 2018 at 11:32
Callum
Best you check about the turbo aspect, I can't see any difference between fitting a turbo and a factory one std on the vehicle.

They crack pistons quite easily if using the turbo boost above a small amount.

If you get a turbo anything then it won't use extractors at all.
Unless the engine is constipated with the current exhaust a much larger one won't do a lot. A modest increase in size may be of benefit. Many don't help much but the increase in noise satisfies some human desires. Many exhausts are overkill for size of engine. ie a 3" exhaust on V8 Landcruiser which has a effectively two 4 cylinder engines of a bit over 2 litre. No way does a 2.25L engine use 3" outflow unless it revs to around 10,000rpm.