Diesel or petrol?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 07, 2018 at 05:00
ThreadID: 137528 Views:4212 Replies:14 FollowUps:21
This Thread has been Archived
Hello I have a dilemma I am new to 4wds and Diesel engines in particular
And need some advice I have just purchased a swan outback about a year ago and have been towing with a kluxger since then .but I am now looking for a proper tow vehicle I am looking at a diesel hilux no later than 2015 model,My problem is that since I mainly do the short runs up to the shops and back and school pickups is this going to be a problem in the long run or should I just stick with the petrol model and cop the extra fuel costs I will only use the Ute for towing the van three or four times a year so I’m sot sure if it’s worth it .most of the diesels I have seen for sale are coming up to the 100000 mark so I am worried if this is when the major servicing are required (ie injectors and timing chain) it seems a lot of owners are selling their diesels around this time. The reason I won’t buy a diesel after 2015 is also because of the introduction of the dpf which would make things even more complicated for me your input would be appreciated thank you
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Graeme - Friday, Dec 07, 2018 at 07:02

Friday, Dec 07, 2018 at 07:02
Johnny, you have answered your own question as you only tow a few times a year your current Kruger is most suitable for the short trips you do for the rest of the year as diesels are better on long runs. You have already pointed out the extra running cost of the diesel and city driving will choke a DPF,not to mention the exhaust gas recirculation which clogs intake manifolds.
Best of luck in navigating this mine field.
AnswerID: 622485

Reply By: swampy - Friday, Dec 07, 2018 at 09:00

Friday, Dec 07, 2018 at 09:00
HI
Short runs contaminate oil if petrol or diesel oil .
Timing belts and valve adjustment common to petrol and diesel
At 100,000 all injectors are best serviced