1997 RA Rodeo suspension lift and tyres

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 12:03
ThreadID: 13853 Views:3062 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
I am looking into a suspension lift on my 1997 RA Rodeo.

Has anyone done one before. I have looked into it at 4x4 shops and no one appears to sell kits to do so. I know you can wind up the front torsion bars a bit and I suppose you could put another leaf in the back.

I have the 2.6 litre petrol model and have so for about 3 1/2 years. It gets everywhere I need o go but does not like it too much sometimes. It would be good to fit larger diameter tyres so as to increase its ground clearance (not its strong point). Has anyone fitted larger diameter tyres to a Rodeo or similar with this engine and gearing? Was it affected much with particular attention to gearing changes?

Anyway any info would be a great help.

Utemad

Reply By: Leroy - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 13:47

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 13:47
Check with ARB as I'm sure OME have shocks for you. I added leaf to my 2000mdl and wouldn't go down that path. Great load carrying but harsh ride unladen. In my research I would of gone with Enforcer 50mmm lifted leaf packs. I told this to my mate and he put them on his Rodeo. Nice ride good load carrying and 50mm hight to boot! I would recomend greasable shackles and give them a squirt every couple of months. Would try stick with the rubber bushes. Those nolothene (sp??) are too harsh also and the grease seems to dry up very quickly then the bush starts wearing. Don't wind the torsion bars up too high. 30mm max for reliability. I have gone all the way with up to 70mm but CV's beware....
Get some 31*10.5*15 tyres on Navara offset rims ($45 each...cheap as chips and they look good) I found the BFG tyres in a 31" were a larger diameter than the coopers (you would think they were all the same...but No) On the std 16 rims you may consider 235*85*16 which is equivalent to a 32" tire. I haven't tried this pesonally but have seen a couple of Redeos getting around fine with these tires. I had a V6 petrol and mates have diesels but none have probs with gearing and you wont either. Do a search and you will find heaps. Make sure you select 'Both' in 'Swithch Post View' when you do your search so you can search the archives.

Leroy
AnswerID: 63588

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 14:05

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 14:05
Thanks for the info.

I have already wound my torsion bars up a little as the front sagged 10mm with the ARB winch bar and 10 000 lb Ox winch.

When I first bought the vehicle 3 1/2 yrs ago I looked around for a set of wider 15in wheels but was told varying stories about whether they would clear the brakes and other clearances. I also looked into the 85 profile rubber but was told not on the standard rims. I eventually just got 225/75 16 BF all-terrains on my standard rims. Since then I have seen a few Rodeos with the 15in wheels and I think I will go down this path next I get new tyres. I am too lazy for the on road tyres and second set of off road tyres and rims set up. Changing all those tyres is just too hard for me :)

I have also got the heavy duty OME shocks fitted although they have probably done almost 40 000km already.

I am about to fit a set of ARB greasable shackles as the standard ones have been replaced 3 times in the 65 000kms I've had it. Probably not too bad when I think about it.

I will look into the Enfocer leafs.

Utemad
FollowupID: 324801

Follow Up By: Hero - Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 08:39

Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 08:39
Correct me if im wrong, but arent Enforcer out of business?
FollowupID: 324873

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 18:31

Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 18:31
hmm i'd be surprised if they were because they are Carolls Springs!!

Leroy
FollowupID: 324944

Reply By: Utemad - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 14:20

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 14:20
Could I just do the old trick of putting the rear axle assembly under the standard leaf springs instead of on top as it currently is and winding up the front torsion bars?

Utemad
AnswerID: 63592

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 15:49

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 15:49
I suposed you could do a spring over conversion but I then I think you will have the prob of the front being too low. You really dont get that much height from the front without cutting bumpstops and remounting upper ball joint (aka ball joint flip) etc. then you will run into cv problems and bend tie rods more easily. Been there done that and it's just not worth having an unreliable vehicle. Check out http://www.4x4wire.com/isuzu/ and http://www.planetisuzu.com/ and you will find more info on winding up the front end.
Leroy
FollowupID: 324811

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 19:19

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 19:19
Check the archives, there was a bloke lookin at a Calimini one, $3500 and he thought it was cheap + fitting that was too....
AnswerID: 63634

Reply By: Dion - Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 09:01

Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 09:01
Utemad,
I can see your problem here. But you will find it hard to get real help with a 1997 RA Rodeo. I also believe the 2.6's had been dropped for the RA's. You must sure have one unique RA if it is a 1997 model.

Dion.
AnswerID: 63707

Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 12:32

Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 12:32
Sorry Dion,

Slip of the mind I guess. I meant R6.

Utemad.
FollowupID: 324905

Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 11:53

Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 11:53
I looked into enforcer suspension and they are still in business.

link text

I think January 1997 brought the new shape however it was not until early 1998 that the new shape got the new V6 engine. I actually avoided the V6 as friends of mine had them (I bought my '97 in 2000) and said the fuel economy was woeful. Some of them actually sold their V6 Rodeos because of it (although the money they lost on the sale probably would have bought a lot of petrol). One guy also had a HSV Maloo ute and reckoned that it got better economy than his V6 Rodeo.

Utemad
AnswerID: 63747

Reply By: ianmc - Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 12:36

Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 12:36
Check out the Air Bag Man site for Firestone inflatable air bag kits. Much stronger looking than the alternative polyairs. Either way you get adjustable load carrying capacity & may be able to remove a leaf if using the air bags (bout $700 I think)
AnswerID: 63754