iTechworld lithium

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 30, 2019 at 19:24
ThreadID: 138627 Views:19309 Replies:6 FollowUps:14
I noticed an ad on Facebook for a 120Ahr iTechworld Lithium battery they say is a drop in replacement for AGM. Has anyone had any experience with this particular battery?
Suitcase
Prado SX and a little van

Reply By: Gerard S - Sunday, Jun 30, 2019 at 19:56

Sunday, Jun 30, 2019 at 19:56
Try a search. There was a big discussion on these a while back.
AnswerID: 626464

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Jun 30, 2019 at 20:07

Sunday, Jun 30, 2019 at 20:07
One of the very valuable features justifying the purchase of Li batteries is the ability to support large loads.
You don't get that with this battery. It is limited to 100A which is less than a decent AGM can sustain.
OKA196 motorhome
AnswerID: 626465

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 01, 2019 at 07:43

Monday, Jul 01, 2019 at 07:43
Peter,

Are you sure of your information source?
iTechworld website states a current draw of 250A.
(Not that I require anything like that though)

iTech 120Ah Lithium Battery

FollowupID: 900271

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Jul 01, 2019 at 11:08

Monday, Jul 01, 2019 at 11:08
I think the 250A is the maximum short term. Don't try winching or cranking.
For comparison, my 120Ah Fullriver AGM crank battery has a CA rating of 710A.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 900280

Follow Up By: Batt's - Tuesday, Jul 16, 2019 at 21:50

Tuesday, Jul 16, 2019 at 21:50
Can't really compare a cranking battery to a deep cycle and their not sutable for winching or cranking either. If it was a dual purpose it would be a different story.
FollowupID: 900702

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Jul 16, 2019 at 22:32

Tuesday, Jul 16, 2019 at 22:32
Sorry to disappoint, but the OKA crank battery is a Fullriver 120Ah HGL AGM deep cycle battery. It is now 9 1/2 years old.
My house batteries are 4 x Fullriver 115Ah DC AGM deep cycle batteries. Also 9 1/2 years old.
The winch is a Warn 16.5Ti.
I can connect the house and crank batteries together via a 200A 2 way VSR although, either will power it alone. I can also power the winch from either the front or the rear of the vehicle.

OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 900705

Follow Up By: Batt's - Wednesday, Jul 17, 2019 at 18:21

Wednesday, Jul 17, 2019 at 18:21
If the reply is for me I think you missed my point you said for comparion there is no comparison between a lithium pupose built deep cycle to your fullriver crank anyway.
FollowupID: 900728

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Jun 30, 2019 at 20:20

Sunday, Jun 30, 2019 at 20:20
They advertise regularly on Facebook, for gensets, starter packs, folding solar panels etc, as well as these lithium batteries. I thought about purchasing some, but it’s a long way from WA to western Qld. Seems to be plenty happy with their purchases.

I bought 2 x 120Ah Optimum Lithiums from somewhere in SE Qld that, except for the sticker, look identical to iTechworld’s offering. Something that doesn’t appear to be advertised is a charging port on one end, and a free(???) 6A charger included in the carton.

Just a quick anecdote. Picked up the batteries at the local freight depot, the newsagent, and Ol’ Mate walks out carrying 2 of N70 sized cartons. I’m standing there, gobsmacked, thinking there must be some mistake, they can’t be batteries, not even lithium! LSS, I took them off him and carried them to the other side of the main street, where my ute was parked and wasn’t even breathing heavy.

Can’t comment on how they go yet, other than they have a standing voltage of about 13.3V. Started an overhaul of my charging system today, so hope it’s all good when I leave for CSR in 3 weeks.

AnswerID: 626466

Follow Up By: Member - ACD 1 - Sunday, Jun 30, 2019 at 21:22

Sunday, Jun 30, 2019 at 21:22
Their website states free delivery and returns -Australia wide

Anthony
FollowupID: 900265

Follow Up By: Member - Harry C - Wednesday, Jul 03, 2019 at 14:23

Wednesday, Jul 03, 2019 at 14:23
Hi Bob. Still here in the UK and won't be home until 25th July. You will probably have left for your CSR trip by then. I am looking forward to doing it myself next year. Hope your new battery system works out for you and you have a great trip. Will catch up when back in Oz and communications allow. Cheers for now. Harry.
The windscreen is a travelling picture show

FollowupID: 900333

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 14:36

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 14:36
We’d be ready to launch from Wiluna, Harry, about 25-26th, if all goes to plan. Way I’m going I’ll still be packing after 10pm, the night before I depart!

Four of us, in 2 of 79’s & a chopped 80 series, seems to be the starting group at present. I need to be back in Camooweal by 23/8, so we’ll have to keep moving.

Sure to be sick of corrugations by time we get to Halls Ck. Enjoy your last few weeks, talk on my return.

FollowupID: 900435

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 01, 2019 at 07:37

Monday, Jul 01, 2019 at 07:37
I have bought one and installed in my camper.
No other changes have been made apart from a different battery monitor.
The battery is charged either by the vehicle alternator, via a Ctek D250S dc-dc charger, or from a Ctek 15A 240v charger. The D250S also has a solar input which I employed recently, during a weeks bush camping. The 200 watt solar panel maintained an adequate charge in the 120Ah iTech Lithium battery. The battery has a built-in Redback Lithium Operating System which enables existing chargers to work on the Lithium.
This one battery, weighing 13kg has replaced two 100Ah AGM's weighing 30kg each. That is the reason I upgraded.
The only thing I am still to get my head around, is the Victron BMV-712 battery monitor I have chosen to monitor battery state of charge. This is one of a very few monitors that purport to be suitable for lithium batteries.

AnswerID: 626474

Follow Up By: Member - Suitcase (QLD) - Monday, Jul 01, 2019 at 10:00

Monday, Jul 01, 2019 at 10:00
Sounds good then. Is a battery monitor recommended for lithium batteries - even if you only have one on the camper?
Suitcase

FollowupID: 900278

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 01, 2019 at 10:45

Monday, Jul 01, 2019 at 10:45
Hi Suitcase,

A monitor is not necessarily needed. The inbuilt battery management system will disconnect the supply if the capacity drops below 20%, which is Standard for a lithium battery.
I just wish to know the state of battery charge at a given time.
The BMV-712 has a display which is easily read and also provides Bluetooth connectivity to an app on my mobile phone.

I had a good battery monitor previously, but it was only suitable for lead acid batteries and lithium batteries require a monitor which supports them.

FollowupID: 900279

Follow Up By: Member - peterdre - Thursday, Jul 04, 2019 at 07:56

Thursday, Jul 04, 2019 at 07:56
Hi Sandman,
Similar to you I replaced 2 120Ah AGMs in my camper with iTec 120s, a saving of 40kg.
I use a BMS 710, same as your 712 but without Bluetooth. There are a few parameters in it that I changed for ideal lithium charging.
Seems to work fine with faster charging than the previous AGM system.
Pedro
FollowupID: 900348

Follow Up By: tdlc - Sunday, Jul 28, 2019 at 10:52

Sunday, Jul 28, 2019 at 10:52
Hi Bill, I have installed two itech batteries. Charged with a Projecta lithium setup: their idc25L and their 25amp 240 volt lithium charger. I also have installed the bmv-712. Batteries installed in parallel. My bmv settings are:

battery capacity: 240
Charged voltage: 13.8
tail current: 4%
charged detection time: 3m
Peukert exponent: 1.05
charge efficiency factor: 99%
current threshold: 0.10A
Time to go averaging: 3m

In the relay settings, I have set Low SOC relay to 20%. The low voltage relay is at 11.0V and high voltage is at 15V.
FollowupID: 900847

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Jul 28, 2019 at 11:11

Sunday, Jul 28, 2019 at 11:11
Thanks for the info!
I’ll check the settings on my app.

FollowupID: 900848

Follow Up By: tdlc - Sunday, Jul 28, 2019 at 19:10

Sunday, Jul 28, 2019 at 19:10
No Worries. I forgot to mention I also have the temperature sensor lead. I understand lithiums don't like to be charged if under 0 degrees C. Not a problem if free camping, but if I'm hooked up to 240V, and if the charger kicks in overnight / trips out of float, when it's below freezing, then I wanted this as a failsafe to prevent charge going into the battery if falls below zero overnight.
FollowupID: 900852

Reply By: Geoff K4 - Monday, Jul 01, 2019 at 11:02

Monday, Jul 01, 2019 at 11:02
I bought one just because we needed a replacement plus we need to reduce some weight off the C/van ball. So far it's working fine,camped for a few days off grid, no issues. How long it lasts is yet to be determined. Mine is charged via Ctec in-house charger plus dc-dc charger which has solar inputs.
AnswerID: 626476

Reply By: Member - Suitcase (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2019 at 13:23

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2019 at 13:23
Back in October 2018 someone (Bill) wrote that they had just put in 2 x 100AH Solar King lithium batteries. I wonder how they are going after 9 months? Does anyone have info on these.

Suitcase

AnswerID: 626851