Alcohol and the Cape

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 16:03
ThreadID: 13922 Views:1773 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
Being a man who likes a drink every now and then I am a bit concerned about the advice I am getting about taking a beer or 3 up the cape. Does anyone have any info on this subject. I want to take my own. I dont want to be searched or buy it at a inflated rate. Any advice would be appreciated. Travelling north in Sept and Oct.

Reply By: Lynn2 - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 16:08

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 16:08
See active post no. 13264 and post no. 5088 from the archives. They may help clear things up.

We're going to the Cape in early September as well. Hope we both have a great time.

Lynn
AnswerID: 63944

Follow Up By: Member - Alan G (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 16:16

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 16:16
Will be travelling from Cairns to Cape and back 10 / 9 until 10/10. Hope to see you.
FollowupID: 325051

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 16:22

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 16:22
Alan,

We will be in Port Douglas about the 5/9 I think. Proposing to head north to the Cape and the 4wd and us are heading back on the 17/9 on the cargo boat, MV Trinity Bay from Seisia. Takes 2 days to get back to Cairns, I think. I am soooooo looking forward to this trip. Like you, we also like a wine/beer or two at night but......if we have to pay more for it, so be it!
FollowupID: 325052

Reply By: Member - Alan G (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 16:27

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 16:27
Very sorry I mucked up and replied from my email. Do I undertand that it can be brought. I thought the ban was on all alcohol. I dont mind paying for it if thats the case
AnswerID: 63949

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 16:34

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 16:34
Yes, I think you can buy it, but you are limited to 2 litres of wine and a case of light beer, I think.
FollowupID: 325055

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 16:35

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 16:35
Oh, it might have been OR a case of light beer!!!!!
FollowupID: 325056

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 17:08

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 17:08
Did you see post 13911, may pay to find out for sure, I think Eric , Cape york connections has all the info.
FollowupID: 325060

Reply By: Lynn2 - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 17:30

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 17:30
This may be the place to look . . . . http://www.liquor.qld.gov.au/Indigenous/
AnswerID: 63956

Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 17:48

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 17:48
This site may also be helpful.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 63961

Reply By: Bros - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 18:26

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 18:26
G'day Alan G,
Ring this number and they will send you maps of all the areas you request.
(07) 3224 7024
They
3sent me maps of the two areas i was interested in. (Hopevale & Wajul Wajul)
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 63965

Reply By: Bros - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 18:31

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 18:31
Or ring 1300 789 000
Bros.

AnswerID: 63966

Reply By: Bros - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 18:40

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 18:40
Sorry, forgot on the last post to remind you to find out about the new Representative Areas Program (RAP) of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park To find out where you can fish legally. (If you are fishing). Ring 1800 990 177 and ask for maps also. Web site = www.gbrmpa.gov.au
Bros.

AnswerID: 63972

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 19:17

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 19:17
HI everyone, my June/July issue of Road Ahead (the RACQ magazine) arrived in mail yesterday and this was in it -
NO GO ZONES FOR GROG

Arukun - Zero alcohol carriage limit
Napranum - Zero alcohol carriage limit, including sections of the Pennefather, Pine, Mission and Emberley Rivers, Peninsula Development Road excluded from restrictions.
Lockhart River - Zero alcohol carriage limit. Portland Roads & Frenchman' s Road excluded from restrictions.
Wujal Wujal - Zero alcohol carriage limit. Bloomfield Road and Douglas Street excluded from restrictions.
Kowanyama - Zero alcohol carriage limit including the Mitchell - Alice Rivers National Park.
Pormpuraaw - Possession limited to one only of the following: 12 cans (1/2 carton/4.5 litres) heavy beer; or 24 cans (one carton/9 litres) mid/light beer.
Hope Vale - Possession limited to 9 litres (one carton/24 cans) of light or mid-strength beer; and two litres of wine (no fortified wine) Isabella Creek-McIvor River Rd, Barrett Creek Rd and Cameron Creek Rd are excluded from the restrictions.
Mapoon - Possession limited to 9 litres (one carton/24 cans) of light or mid-strength beer and two litres of wine (no fortified wine)
Northern Peninsula Area - Seisia, Injinoo Umagico New Mapoon Bamaga - Within all five NPA communities, possession is limited to 9 litres (one carton/24 cans) of light/mid beer and two litres of wine (no fortified wine). Bamaga Tavern and the Umagico canteen are excluded from the restrictions, however, carriage limits will apply to takeaway sales.
Yarrabah - Possession limited to one only of the following: 24 cans (one carton/9 litres) beer; or two litres of wine; or 24 cans (one carton/9 litres) of pre-mixed spirits; or a combination of beer and pre-mixed spirits not exceeding one caron/24 cans.
Doomadgee - Possession limited to 27 litres (three standard cartons/72 cans) of beer only.
Mornington Island - Zero alcohol carriage limit on land and internal wayerways within Mornington Shire. Sweers Island and the Bountiful Islands are not restricted.
Palm Island - Proposed restrictions under review.
Woorabinda - Possession limited to 18 litres of beer (48 cans); 9 litres of pre-mixed spirits (24 cans) and 2 litres of wine.
Cherbourg - Proposed restrictions under review.
FOR INFORMATION, CALL 1300 789 000.
Hope this is of assistance to you. Safe travels.
AnswerID: 63978

Follow Up By: Leroy - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 22:04

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 22:04
I assume this is per person?

Leroy
FollowupID: 325103

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 07:18

Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 07:18
Leroy I understad its per truck.

FollowupID: 325157

Follow Up By: Puddin (Sydney) - Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 15:06

Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 15:06
Per Truck
FollowupID: 325203

Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 20:03

Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 20:03
Thanks for that guys. They may get more vehicles instead of people heading north!!

Leroy
FollowupID: 325235

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 06:40

Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 06:40
Alan and others there are lots of places that have alcohol restrictions.
And us being visiters should respect the communitys and other places that have laws on alcohol .
Its not only native areas.
Sporting feilds.
Trains
Buses
Plains
Even the streets around your town.
Movies
etc
etc
etc.
I was talking to ambo driver at Coen last year he is a white fellow and his job is to help the communitys to clean up and better health.
In the past 2 or three years its the younger kids he has been trying to educate and its starting to sink in and now these kids are telling there mums and dads a better way of living which cant be a bad thing.

Just a few thoughts

AnswerID: 64155