Submitted: Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 10:15
Jezza
Hello all,
I am currently looking around for a diesel Patrol to replace my thirsty 4.2 petrol Patrol (95 ST). I have found the below vehicle and am curious as to whether it seems like good value.
1996 4.2 diesel RX
Aftermarket turbo (Dynamic - 2 years old, including upgraded exhaust)
B Bar
Warn winch (capacity ??)
Towbar
1.5 inch lift
suspension (Koni shocks Lovell?? springs)
206.000 km (complete service history)
Interior VGC
Body VGC - (2 very small dents - no rust)
Mostly family camping - no underbody damage
Claims to get 650km out of 70lt fuel (does this sound right?)
Asking $18,000
I comes across as pretty good value - but I wanted the opinions of others with more experience. I intend to use it mostly for family camping, and in about 2 years a trip across to
Broome (from
Canberra)
Would appreciate any comments.
Many thanks,
Jeremy
Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 13:52
Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 13:52
If it has a service record from new i would buy it at that price.... I think the fuel consumption may have been quoted from his best one but it would not be too bad...
I would expect 550kms from 70litres in such a beast.....
Reply By: Draff & Pand - Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 14:49
Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 14:49
Hi Jezza,
We bought a 1995 RX 4.2 Diesel about 6 mths ago with roof rack, 2 inch lift, OME, 180Ks on the clock, towbar,
HF radio, B Bar, CD stacker, new mud terrain tyres and body in perfect condition - we knew prior owners and it had only been on one outback trip to
alice springs etc. - we paid $22,000 and were very very happy. So for $18,000 I'd say that's a good price. The RX is great because you get the little extras like carpet and the extra 2 seats but its still a good value Patrol.
I'd say $18K sounds good value.
Reply By: Draff & Pand - Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 14:50
Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 14:50
Jezza - forgot to add we get more like 550km from 70 ltrs as per the other post.
Reply By: Wisey (NSW) - Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 20:23
Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 20:23
Hi Jezza,
my dad bought the 96 RX TD new and no worries except typical turbo oil leak at one stage. Have driven it myself on numerous trips and a pleasure to drive. He took it to Turboglide in Woollongong and was stoked with the improvments, 11lt/100k, Syd to Tassie & return. He's not a slowpoke on open hwys either. He just did a 13k trip with the cvan,
Darwin,
Perth & back without a hiccup from the "rex". Has got 198k on the clock and as good as ever. Redbook quotes $16k- $20k for private sale so get out the cheque book.
Happpy Pootralling
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 20:58
Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 20:58
Its a TD42, its barely run in.... they are good for 500-600,000klms.
Go with it...
Reply By: Vinnie - Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 21:13
Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 21:13
Good buy from what you describe. Got a '92 TD42 Maverick 155,000 on clock and get about 27Mpg. What you are looking at with regular service will give you years and
miles of good motoring. Only wish I could put a haredryer on it.
Reply By: westozal - Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 23:00
Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 23:00
hi,just a thought for you
i have just brought a 1988 gq high roof jap import patrol.
13000 dollars
pto winch
St mags and 70% bridgestone tyres (not great for offroad)
65000km
downside 24 volt elecs
Have had car for about 2 months now absolutely nil dramas aside from not getting enough volume out of the radio/cd.
Follow Up By: Hilly - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 05:10
Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 05:10
Where did you get the beast from Al?
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 13:44
Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 13:44
Issues with imports have been done before here.
there is no regulations on them winding back the clock on imports. it may say 50,000 but chances of that being true are not much.
High tops are ugly too!
YMMV
Reply By: westozal - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 12:13
Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 12:13
I should mention its td42 motor to. I brought from a mob called leederville motors in lPerth on Oxford st.Had 17000 on price ticket but took the 13000. A mate brought one same as
mine 100kms and a horrible colour schemme for 12000.He found rust in the floor pan under the carpets which he has had plated.strangely nil in panels.I suspect it may have been in water for a while as the door panels are a bit rotted to half way up. All this wasnt eveident without pulling things apart but on upside drives
well.Hope this helps .
Reply By: Jezza - Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 12:20
Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 12:20
On the weekend I handed over a cheque and bought the RX. So far I am pretty happy with the deal, the seller even threw in a GME
UHF radio - a real good bloke!
I am most supprised with it's performance, its pickup/acceleration is equal, if not better that that of our Petrol 4.2 GQ. It does however seem to run out of the gears a bit quicker - closer and lower gear/diff ratios (pretty sure factory standard)? In 5th gear it takes about 2400rpm to do 100km - I presume that is is about "normal"?
Many thanks to all who provided advice, and the benefit of their experience.
Jeremy