Virus

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 10, 2020 at 22:52
ThreadID: 139781 Views:13692 Replies:16 FollowUps:48
Howdy there,

Do you think there now will be an upturn in domestic tourism?

What alternatives are there now for people who would normally travel overseas?

To be honest a few weeks in the bush would be good ointment, nice time to visit the country.

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2020 at 23:02

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2020 at 23:02
Alan, I'm sure that will happen, travelling Australia can be expensive and cheaper holiday can be had overseas. With the price of fuel set to plummet, it's looking like a good option. As we all know, the Bush is desperate for any income generated by tourism, and travellers get to see more of the best country in the world. Also a dollar is still worth a dollar if you spend it at home. Michael

AnswerID: 630427

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 06:52

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 06:52
A lot of the Australian tourist industry has geared its self for Chinese tourists. Price, product and facilities. You can't blame anyone for doing that.

But that source of tourist will dry up for a long time, It will take some time to reconfigure and resize for local tourists. Some prices are stupid. I think many Australians just won't travel till things become more certain.

There will be a lot of tears in the meantime till things adjust.

AnswerID: 630428

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 07:42

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 07:42
Allan, many Australians who were intending to travel overseas had booked and paid for their trips well in advance of covid19 appearing. There is no insurance in this situation. So I would assume they will be to cash strapped to front up for a holiday period at home?
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 630429

Follow Up By: Kenell - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 08:06

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 08:06
We fall precisely into this demographic. We were due to travel to China next month. We were insured and could claim IF the provider actually cancelled the trip. They have offered a credit instead which we have accepted and now we are looking at heading north but my take on it is that there will be a reticence of people to leave home for a while. With talk now of empty football stadiums and overrun medical facilities, travel just seems so far off. I suspect caravan parks might become 'no go' places fairly early in the process with their shared facilities etc. Many of the autumn/winter travellers are also among the more vulnerable to this bug ie 60+. Many with underlying health issues. We have already heard on this forum of one station stay closing its gates. Isolated camping is a great option if you can find it but who wants to be in the bush when / if you get pneumonia which seems to be the critical symptom of it?
FollowupID: 905794

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 09:32

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 09:32
We also are in this group having booked and paid some 8-10 months ago and leave in 6 days time for a seven week holiday.

We also had booked a 2 week trip to China for August but will probably cancel this as the date gets closer.

The Seven weeks will mostly be spent in USA but we also do Honolulu and Singapore on the way home.

When we get to New York for the first week, we are going to get the northern flu shot which probably won't stop the Coronavirus but should prevent getting the flu which hopefully will keep our resistance up.

It is easy to say to holiday local but we would end up way out of pocket so might as well go and enjoy it and hope for the best.

Bit sad about China but we can get a full refund and maybe do it later after this all blows over.

FollowupID: 905795

Follow Up By: Candace S. - Friday, Mar 13, 2020 at 06:30

Friday, Mar 13, 2020 at 06:30
Kazza, I hope you enjoy your visit to the US despite the circumstances. But be aware that lots of things here (in certain areas at least, namely NY) are closing.
FollowupID: 905857

Follow Up By: Candace S. - Friday, Mar 13, 2020 at 06:40

Friday, Mar 13, 2020 at 06:40
"Isolated camping is a great option if you can find it but who wants to be in the bush when / if you get pneumonia..."

It sucks to simply get a mild-moderate case of the flu when you're out in the bush! Speaking from personal experience last year. :(

BTW, by the time I developed symptoms, it had been over a week since I left Alice Springs. So I picked it up in one of the communities or roadhouses I stopped in.
FollowupID: 905858

Follow Up By: Candace S. - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 16:18

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 16:18
Speaking of the US flu shot this season... I had one, but today I was tested and diagnosed with influenza A. Apparently a strain that wasn't covered by the vaccine.

At least it's not something worse, but this makes the third time in 13 months that I've had the flu!
FollowupID: 905922

Follow Up By: Genny - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 21:57

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 21:57
There are 131 identified variants of Influenza A. The US flu shot inoculates against two of them, and two strains of Influenza B.

The boffins, using Dark Arts, determine which strains are likely to be prevalent in the next flu season, and prepare vaccines accordingly. Sometimes they get it right, but not always.
FollowupID: 905937

Follow Up By: Candace S. - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 09:35

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 09:35
I'm curious if Kazza went ahead with the trip?
FollowupID: 905965

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 10:48

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 10:48
All gone, by midday on Friday the government issued a warning advising not to travel, to then ignore the warning would have seen us travelling without travel insurance by not abiding by the warning.

The early warning came a few hours earlier when Broardway cancelled all their shows, we were booked to see The Phantom of the Opera on Saturday night.

We spent all Friday afternoon sending out emails to cancel all our booking, many of the we chose the cheaper prices knowing there was no cancellation or changing of dates but have tried to get a voucher for another date maybe in 12 months time.

All up, we will probably come out around $4000 a $5000 behind.

We consider ourselves lucky that it happen when it did, otherwise we could have found ourselves in USA and force into isolation in some outback town.

Never mind, we have hooked up the van and heading to Busselton for a couple of weeks.

Hopefully we can do the trip next year.
FollowupID: 905966

Follow Up By: Zippo - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 11:06

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 11:06
Kazza, look on the bright side. You would have wound up further behind if you were hospitalised in the US.
FollowupID: 905968

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 14:13

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 14:13
Fully agree, we were to fly to New York tonight but if all this happened a week later we would be up ship creek and could have been forced into isolation anywhere in USA.

Busselton is a good place to vent our pain and suffering and maybe have a Raging Bull or 10.
FollowupID: 905970

Follow Up By: Candace S. - Thursday, Mar 19, 2020 at 11:18

Thursday, Mar 19, 2020 at 11:18
"...otherwise we could have found ourselves in USA and force into isolation in some outback town.."

I've only seen you mention NYC, where else were you planning on going? Or do you think anything other than NYC is an outback town? :)
FollowupID: 906020

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Thursday, Mar 19, 2020 at 12:14

Thursday, Mar 19, 2020 at 12:14
I was not going to bore everyone but seeing you asked, it was a total of 47 days as follows.
Fly to NYC for 7 days - booked in to see Phantom of the Opera on our wedding anniversary.
Train to Niagara Falls for 2 nights.
Pick up car and drive to Chicago for 2 nights.
Drive Route 66 to west coast via Las Vegas and a helicopter flight to Grand Canon.
San Francisco 4 nights then drive the coast route to LA for 2 nights.
Fly to Honolulu 4 night - hire a Ford Mustang convertible for a day.
Singapore for 4 nights then home.

Bucket list - Route 66 ?
Bucket list - Ford Mustang convertible ?

Hopefully we might be still get to do it in 12 months time.
FollowupID: 906025

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 09:18

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 09:18
Just to keep things in perspective - here are some stats on the normal everyday flu in Australia ............

There were 58,847 confirmed influenza cases and 125 deaths in Australia in 2018. The 2017 influenza season, when a quarter of a million laboratory-confirmed cases were recorded and 1163 people died, was the worst since the 2009 swine flu pandemic.Jul 11, 2019............

And here some worldwide stats .....

Seasonal flu kills 291,000 to 646,000 people worldwide each year, according to a new estimate that's higher than the previous one of 250,000 to 500,000 deaths a year.

AnswerID: 630431

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 09:34

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 09:34
One thing that annoys me about the media is that they tell us how many have been infected and how many have died but never tell us how many have recovered from it.
FollowupID: 905796

Follow Up By: Genny - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 10:39

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 10:39
Umm, if 100 people had it and 10 died wouldn't that mean 90 recovered?
FollowupID: 905798

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 11:21

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 11:21
Or does it mean that 90% have not died yet.

The figure I am talking about is the ones that have completely recovered.
FollowupID: 905799

Follow Up By: CSeaJay - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 11:51

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 11:51
They actually often publish those stats Kazza,
Death rate of around 2.5% to 3.5% (the stats seem to vary a little from time to time and/or region to region, but fairly consistent in this range)
FollowupID: 905801

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 12:33

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 12:33
Gazz , the corona virus is a different animal than influenzas . I know you are comparing infections and death rates between the two illnesses.
Corona leaves the lungs in a damaged state that leaves honeycomb structures where oxygen and carbon dioxide normally takes place. This is permanent and the lungs remain dysfunctional after the virus has left the victims.
Persons who already have respiratory dysfunction do not have a very good prognosis?
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

FollowupID: 905803

Follow Up By: CSeaJay - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 13:28

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 13:28
Pinko

Wow this is the first I read of some/any permanent effects. And this on a campingforum - go figure
What is the source of this info?
CJ
FollowupID: 905804

Follow Up By: Genny - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 13:39

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 13:39
Some info here.
https://www.latimes.com/science/story/2020-02-29/how-this-coronavirus-kills-its-victims
FollowupID: 905805

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 15:02

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 15:02
Here's a very short, but clear video explanation of symptoms as they develop - this was published 10 March 2020SOURCE.

However, for a more in-depth explanation (but also short and concise) I've found this report to be pretty clear - Source: Science News 4th March

Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 905810

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 15:26

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 15:26
This doesn't seem to be to "relevant to self-drive camping/caravanning adventures in Australia." Michelle. :)
Dave.
Not having shot.
FollowupID: 905811

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 15:29

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 15:29
Of course it's relevant! Everyone is wondering should they travel - are they at risk if they do? Equinox's post is on topic as are all the replies. :)
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 905812

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 15:36

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 15:36
And what about my pet Wombat. :)
Dave.
Bowing Out.
FollowupID: 905813

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 15:49

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 15:49
As at 11:00 hrs on 11 March 2020, we have 112 confirmed cases of coronavirus (COVID-19), including 3 deaths, in Australia.

60 in New South Wales
15 in Queensland
6 in South Australia
2 in Tasmania
15 in Victoria*
4 in Western Australia
10 associated with the Diamond Princess cruise ship

https://www.health.gov.au/news/health-alerts/novel-coronavirus-2019-ncov-health-alert

I only posted what I posted re: stats on the everyday flu after doing some work for a doctor who was very cranky at the media hype and all the panic buying around the country due to this virus - he said it's not warranted !

As far as travelling this big brown land, it won't be stopping me !

Happy and healthy travels people and support local business I say

Gazz

FollowupID: 905815

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 14:26

Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 14:26
I'm no expert but it seems you're jumping the gun on permanent lung damage Pinko. No doubt it's possible, likely even, in some people but this virus hasn't been around long enough for anyone to know what, if any, permanent damage may be caused to a normally healthy human body. At this point the unknowns far outweigh the knowns wrt COVID-19. National Geographic took a leap of faith comparing C19 to SARS on the basis of a hypothesis by University of Maryland School of Medicine associate professor Matthew B. Frieman, but it's speculative at this point.

COVID-19, SARS, MERS etc

I guess the bright side is that healthy people (in advanced, wealthy nations) usually recover from viruses without long-term damage as the immune system works its wonders and damaged cells are replaced. As the old saying goes, cell-wise no-one on this planet is actually more than about 10 years old (sort of).
FollowupID: 905837

Follow Up By: Genny - Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 20:23

Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 20:23
An excerpt from the linked article below. Succinctly, in some serious case of COVID-19, there is a hyper-immune response, which can severely damage the lungs.

"During the third phase, lung damage continues to build—which can result in respiratory failure. Even if death doesn’t occur, some patients survive with permanent lung damage. According to the WHO, SARS punched holes in the lungs, giving them “a honeycomb-like appearance”—and these lesions are present in those afflicted by novel coronavirus, too."

https://www.nationalgeographic.com/science/2020/02/here-is-what-coronavirus-does-to-the-body/
FollowupID: 905849

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 21:04

Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 21:04
It's critical people read the whole article Genny. Most of Prof Frieman's comments relate to previous viruses. He thinks that C19 behaves similarly, obviously based on limited data to this point:

"Look deeper, and the novel coronavirus APPEARS to follow other patterns of SARS, says University of Maryland School of Medicine associate professor Matthew B. Frieman, who studies highly pathogenic coronaviruses.......
FollowupID: 905850

Follow Up By: Ron N - Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 22:14

Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 22:14
Here's all the stats you need to see the countries infected, and the numbers.

Just over half the victims have recovered, world wide. Last estimated mortality rate was around 3.4%.

Worldometers - Coronavirus

What is interesting, is that the coronavirus is hitting hardest in nations who have a high percentage of smokers.
Smokers have weakened defences against respiratory diseases.

I'll be laying low for a while, I don't usually travel until Winter time anyway, and certainly have no real interest in going overseas at present. The Kimberly beckons.

Biggest shame so far is it looks like our Anzac Day ceremonies will all be cancelled. The older veterans are the ones most at risk.

FollowupID: 905854

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Mar 14, 2020 at 10:52

Saturday, Mar 14, 2020 at 10:52
The real scary part is that more people DIE every day world wide from car 'accidents' , more people DIE every day from illegal drug use , more people DIE every day world wide from being SHOT by another human being , perhaps this virus is Mother Natures way of saying "I culled 19 million in 1919 ,how many can I get now ? "
FollowupID: 905888

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Saturday, Mar 14, 2020 at 16:50

Saturday, Mar 14, 2020 at 16:50
Cant remember any of those shutting down 2 countries.

Well maybe the humans shooting humans have.
FollowupID: 905897

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Saturday, Mar 14, 2020 at 18:43

Saturday, Mar 14, 2020 at 18:43
Alloy, more people die from legal drug use.

Happy tripping
FollowupID: 905903

Reply By: Member - rocco2010 - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 10:45

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 10:45
If the people who panic-bought toilet tissue were also planning to holiday in Australia in the next few months I expect the roads to be quiet and the campgrounds deserted when I head off next month.

People heading overseas have a difficult decision to make. If I wasn’t going to China (a possibility some time ) or Iran ( highly unlikely) I reckon I would still go.

Italy is tricky as internal travel restrictions might mess with plans.

Been on one cruise and that’s not my style.

Good luck to those who have to decide.
AnswerID: 630433

Follow Up By: Gronk - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 20:27

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 20:27
Booked for Bali start of April......cost me heaps for airfares ( Easter hols ), so will still be going.

Booked for a 4 night Moreton Island cruise in June.....ship is going around the Pacific Islands previous to our cruise so mostly aussies on it, so unless the ship has been quarantined or cancelled, we'll still be going on that as well.
FollowupID: 905821

Follow Up By: Member - rocco2010 - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 21:37

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 21:37
Good for you Gronk. Enjoy your holiday.
FollowupID: 905822

Reply By: Member - rocco2010 - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 16:13

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 at 16:13
And here is a view of the man in charge. Today. His own words, unfiltered by the media, passed on second or third hand, or twisted by someone with an agenda.

Don't panic.

Chief medical officer explains.
AnswerID: 630439

Reply By: Banjo (WA) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 10:07

Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 10:07
The clever politicians in Western Australia have a good plan to halt the spread of Coronavirus as reported in this morning's news.

'The more drastic steps, like school closures and major event cancellations, would only be implemented when and if coronavirus reaches "sustained community spread" throughout WA.'

Wait until everyone has it, then try to stop everyone getting it!

ABC Report
AnswerID: 630450

Reply By: Zippo - Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 11:44

Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 11:44
For those who are contemplating overseas travel, here is a "live" global tracking site from a reputable medical facility.

You can also see the answer to the "how many died, how many recovered, how many are still in treatment" question.
AnswerID: 630454

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 14:25

Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 14:25
Good site, thanks Zippo.
FollowupID: 905836

Follow Up By: Zippo - Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 15:24

Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 15:24
There's also a very active "COVID-19 - Reconsidering Travel" discussion on the Whirlpool site. Worth a read for those with any overseas travel bookings (or plans).
FollowupID: 905841

Reply By: Bazooka - Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 14:48

Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 14:48
There will probably be some increase in local tourism Alan but it's starting off a very low base. Can't see it getting anywhere near normal levels for obvious reasons (fires, corona and an already fairly moribund economy).

If (and when) movement restrictions are implemented or recommended we should spare a thought for the many thousands of casual workers (25% of the workforce) who may be laid off as businesses suffer. Morrison's stimulus as announced doesn't appear to help them directly unless they contract the illness or have to self-isolate. Hospitality and retail, which was already feeling the pinch of Australia's sluggish economy, could really cop it if people aren't getting out and about as usual. Gotta hope for the best, use common sense, and follow guidance from health officials I guess.
AnswerID: 630457

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 19:57

Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 at 19:57
I doubt this virus will last too long
It's made in China :)
AnswerID: 630460

Reply By: 9900Eagle - Friday, Mar 13, 2020 at 05:44

Friday, Mar 13, 2020 at 05:44
At Colds, all those wishing to purchase 2 packs of 48 roll Quilton 3 ply toilet paper, we have brains at half price in our meat department.
AnswerID: 630465

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 09:52

Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 09:52
To keep the spirits up with all this media virus news and no travelling.

Go to abc news, scroll down to Good news and read that, then go down to the best photos of the week and have a look at them..
FollowupID: 906165

Reply By: Steve in Kakadu - Friday, Mar 13, 2020 at 11:34

Friday, Mar 13, 2020 at 11:34
Below are some excerpts from an announcement from the Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister has announced the Australian Government’s economic response to COVID-19, including a raft of stimulus measures supporting the tourism sector.

Included in these measures is the waiving of entry fees in Commonwealth National Parks, which will apply to park entry passes for visitors to Booderee, Kakadu and Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Parks from 16 March to 31 December 2020.

Visitors will be still be required to obtain a park entry pass, in order to monitor and report on visitor numbers and satisfaction, and for compliance. We will continue staffing and operating park entry stations, visitor centres and information desks to facilitate this.

Visitors and commercial tour operators who have already purchased a park entry pass or an annual visitor pass during the waiver period will be fully refunded.
AnswerID: 630468

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 15:20

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 15:20
I'd go bush if I could get some reasonable level of food supplies. But the corona idiocy has turned into general, overwhelming panic.

Went to do our normal shop this morning at 11:00 AM as soon as Coles and Woolies opened - and you'd think the end of the world had been declared for this week.

Went to our regular, modest-sized shopping centre, about 3 kms away, there was not a car parking spot to be found in about 3 acres of car parks.
People were wheeling out trolleys piled high with supplies, just overloaded with everything.

Left in disgust, went to our closer mid-sized shopping centre - and it was little different - up to probably 100 people with overloaded trollies at every checkout.

Now I know why we get the poor levels of Govt and administration in this country - from these peoples votes.

God help Australia if we really have a proper emergency, there'll be gunfire in the streets.

AnswerID: 630506

Reply By: Jarse - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 16:47

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 16:47
I don't believe domestic tourism will increase.

I work in an airline which is predominantly domestic operations. They have cut services by about 6% in response to an all-over reduction in bookings. Obviously a combination of businesses canning travel, a few overseas connectors, but overall I believe people are just staying home to wait this out.

Operational crew (us) are being stood down without pay for periods yet to be determined. I think it's gonna get worse before it gets better.

The cancellation of large gatherings is also affecting domestic tourism in a bad way.
AnswerID: 630507

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 12:52

Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 12:52
Prime Minister Scott Morrison has now told Australians to cancel all non-essential travel.

He also flagged "far more draconian measures to enforce social distancing" saying too many Australians did not seem to be getting the message.

Mr Morrison had planned to consider more travel advice at a meeting of state and territory leaders on Tuesday evening, but on Sunday said the decision had been brought forward.

"After consulting with premiers and chief ministers overnight, we have decided that we are moving immediately to recommend against all non-essential travel in Australia," he said.

"All non-essential travel should be cancelled."
AnswerID: 630647

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 15:39

Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 15:39
I guess that answers Allan's question in his opening post. We had planned a visit with Melbourne family at Easter. That's not happening now.

I had thought a few weeks ago that when I get my ute back from its heart transplant we might hook up the van and self isolate/social distance ourselves out in the bush somewhere, but the prospect of limited ability to resupply ruled that out with the regional grocers' response to the raids by city grubs. ScoMo's restriction on unnecessary travel just confirms the decision.

I think we would-be travellers have quite a lengthy period of at-home activities to look forward to - like it or not.

FollowupID: 906126

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 16:53

Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 16:53
Frank,

Yesterday we went for a lengthy walk along a quiet beach in beautiful weather.
We are also considering going for single-day outings to hiking trails to get some country air.
These are healthy activities that maintain social distancing.
Maybe not so easy for city dwellers but we are fortunate to be on the Sunshine Coast.
But long-distance treks are out for this year.

FollowupID: 906131

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 18:00

Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 18:00
Allan,

No quiet beaches for us, but we do front on to a nice park where we often walk, and for real exercise go to the nearby Botanical Gardens with its kilometers of hilly bike and walking trails.

Speaking of beaches, has the news up there reported the crowds on Bondi Beach yesterday, and ScoMo's reaction to it? After last week's limit on outdoor public gatherings of 500, over 8000 laid cheek-to-cheek (literally, LOL) on the sand in the sun. Someone has since read the riot act to the local council, resulting in the closure of Bondi Beach and subsequently all metropolitan beaches until a method of crowd control and social distancing can be devised.

Some on-the-sand interviewees didn't help. " Oh I don't listen to the news or read the paper" and "I've been coming here for years. Doesn't matter what they say, it won't change me or what I do", etc.

As a result, Scotty says we can look forward to even more draconian measures. Can't wait!

FollowupID: 906138

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 19:00

Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 19:00
Hi Frank,

We are spoiled a bit here in Camelot (aka Sunshine Coast).
The beach I referred to was Mooloolaba which was well populated yesterday with young families but it is extensive at 2km long of wide perfect sand. So we did a 4km walk without getting closer than 3-4m from anyone.
We also have a fine Native Botanical Garden nearby and plenty of walking trails in the hinterland. Just have to forego the coffee shops.

Yes, Bondi was well reported on the ABC internet. I guess that many said "Let's go to the beach" and having done so and encountered the crowd decided to forego social distancing and stay. There is a degree of bravado in the Aussie psyche. It is something to perhaps admire but can also lead to misadventure. At my age and health condition, I am playing it very safe indeed. Isolated walks maybe but Woolworths are delivering the weekly groceries ordered online. And Bunnings won't see me for some time!
No outback trek this year I'm sorry to say.

But if draconian measures are what it is going to take to beat this, then so be it.

FollowupID: 906141

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Mar 23, 2020 at 09:57

Monday, Mar 23, 2020 at 09:57
On Bondi Beach "over 8000 laid cheek-to-cheek (literally, LOL) on the sand in the sun. "

It was indeed over 8000. It was reported to be around 50,000. This mass disregard of social distancing was a major factor in Berejiklian's decisions of yesterday to begin closing down NSW. Basically, if people are too stupid to look after themselves, government (this time, State) will do it for them with the aforementioned draconian measures.

FollowupID: 906147

Follow Up By: OzzieCruiser - Monday, Mar 23, 2020 at 11:46

Monday, Mar 23, 2020 at 11:46
I would still have preferred to have been on Bondi beach over my local supermarket where people are coughing over all the fruit and using bare hands to rummage through the bannanas and apples and other unpackaged food - a real breeding ground for the virus compared to near naked bodies in the UV rolling around in the sun and water.

Not advocating what happened on Bondi but supermarkets are worse - needs perspective.
FollowupID: 906150

Follow Up By: Zippo - Monday, Mar 23, 2020 at 16:27

Monday, Mar 23, 2020 at 16:27
One of the worst aspects in the supermarkets - or elsewhere for that matter - is the use of CASH for purchases. Apart from a few parts of our person, cash is probably the biggest single infection vector out there. I mean, when was the last time you saw someone disinfect any cash? While it may pose a problem for some, a move to card-only - which some businesses have already made - would be wise as a purchaser.
FollowupID: 906152

Follow Up By: nickb - Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 00:43

Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 00:43
Hey Frank, as an off topic question, what is happening with your Ute and its heart transplant?
Nick
FollowupID: 906160

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 10:39

Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 10:39
Hi Nick

Off-topic answer :-) I'll try to keep it brief.

Driving at 100kph. An unusual noise from somewhere, then oil and smoke everywhere, very spectacular :-(. Long story short, a faulty injector cracked #3 piston. BT50, 2 years and 22k out of manufacturer's warranty. However Mazda has accepted liability, presumably under statutory warranty, and has installed a new long motor. So far so good, but it has taken 7 weeks to get to this point.

Issue now is they (Mazda Australia, who is instructing the dealer) want to replace only the faulty injector and re-use the other 4 injectors. Given history in the forums I'm not keen on that in a new motor. Dealer allowed me to get them tested, 2 came back out of spec in one of the four tests done. Mazda Australia (not the dealer) now want to do their own tests. Injectors now in Melbourne (BT and I are in Sydney) with a 2 to 3 week turn-around. That will take the saga to over 12 weeks whoa to go.

Problem now is if the various governments progressively shut down more employers/industries, I might not get the injectors back for months and therefore the ute remains in the dealer's workshop. Fingers crossed that doesn't happen, but it's a real possibility. At least it's under cover!

They've given me a rental car (Mitsu ASX, brand new!) so I'm not without wheels, but it has no roofrack, canopy or towbar. LOL.

EDIT: BTW, my dealer has been terrific. Is on my side, proactive and doing his best to get a satisfactory result for me and deserves recomendation.Macarthur Mazda, Campbelltown, NSW.

FollowupID: 906168

Reply By: equinox - Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 16:16

Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 16:16

Thanks for all the replies.
So it would appear not to be the case now. Borders are closing, remote communities are closed.
Sit out the winter?

AnswerID: 630654

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 16:39

Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 16:39
Yes Alan, just look at how much the situation has worsened since your opening post 5 days ago.
Certainly "sit out the winter" but make the most of it...... gardening, maintenance, hobbies and getting to read a few books that have been patiently waiting?

Our August/September trek may not happen and I am expecting maybe 12 months until some normality.

FollowupID: 906129

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 20:11

Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 20:11
Bunnings ( Westfield) shares may be one upside on the ASX..
FollowupID: 906142

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 20:16

Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 20:16
If they're closed because they are not essential, then maybe not :-(

FollowupID: 906143