BIRDSVILLE BAKERY SOLD

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 17:12
ThreadID: 139916 Views:26960 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
Hi Guys,

Just read a report that the Birdsville Bakery has been sold to the same Family who recently also bought the Birdsville Pub. The report went on to say that the new owners intend to operate the business as a bakery. Hopefully they will be able to make a better go of it than the previous owner.

Macca.
Macca.

Back Expand Un-Read 10 Moderator

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 18:07

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 18:07
Macca, that is great news for the curry industry.

Roz says that you cannot put too much curry in a camel pie.

AnswerID: 631093

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 18:22

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 18:22
It would be nice to try one without the curry.

FollowupID: 907061

Follow Up By: rumpig - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 18:31

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 18:31
Those curried camel pies could have had anything meat wise in them, all you could taste was the curry anyhow. I'm not complaing mind you, i always had one each time we were there and quite enjoyed them. If you find yourself in Cunnamulla anytime, there used to be a cafe in town there that sold camel burgers....at the time I ate mine I made comment they don't smell that great, but taste wise it wasn't alot different to eating your average takeaway store bought hamburger IMO.
FollowupID: 907062

Follow Up By: Member - Jim S1 - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 19:09

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 19:09
Reminds me of the "feral" menu at the Prairie Hotel in Parachilna ......... what a hoot !!!

Jim

"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

FollowupID: 907063

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 19:54

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 19:54
I've eaten that dish three or four times and love it!!

FollowupID: 907064

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 20:50

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 20:50
I had the big breakfast at the Birdsville Bakery a couple of years ago, it came on two large dinner plates.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 907066

Follow Up By: Gbc.. - Friday, Apr 17, 2020 at 06:26

Friday, Apr 17, 2020 at 06:26
I’ll never forget the smell of the goat burger being placed in front of me at the Parachilna pub. Tasted great, smelled like a live one.
FollowupID: 907078

Reply By: Member - Cuppa - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 18:32

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 18:32
I was told that they made gluten free pies & looked forward to getting one for months. When we finally got there & I asked for one they looked at like I'd asked for a Soy latte!
See 'My Profile' (below) for link to our Aussie travel blog, now in it's 6th year.

AnswerID: 631094

Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 20:13

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 20:13
Cuppa, you should have gone the goat milk decaff :-)

FollowupID: 907065

Reply By: Life Member - Talawana - Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 21:36

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 at 21:36
Thanks Macca for the great news. Looking forward to visiting Birdsville again next year.
Marion
Talawana
VKS Selcall 2691

AnswerID: 631096

Reply By: Member - abqaiq - Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 at 09:09

Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 at 09:09
In Saudi the camel tastes pretty much like roast beef at a traditional Saudi restaurant. For those traveling in South Australia do not miss the Stone Hut Bakery at Stone Hut; wild boar, crock, venison, etc..
AnswerID: 631098

Follow Up By: Kenell - Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 at 11:08

Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 at 11:08
Hey abaqaiq are you trying to start a riot? ie :-

"For those traveling in South Australia"

If only ooooohhhh if only !!

Anyway there are way too many wineries in SA to be wasting time at bakeries eating feral pests in pastry. :)

FollowupID: 907069

Follow Up By: Phil G - Friday, Apr 17, 2020 at 09:45

Friday, Apr 17, 2020 at 09:45
Stone Hut Bakery in SA is awesome.
Have been known to divert a fair few k's to have one of their pies.
FollowupID: 907080

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Friday, Apr 17, 2020 at 20:08

Friday, Apr 17, 2020 at 20:08
Didn’t eat camel when I was in Saudi, but did eat goat a few times. Tastes much like lamb, only a bit stronger flavoured. The meat from the cheeks is the best.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 907089

Reply By: b1b - Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 at 13:11

Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 at 13:11
g'day Kennell, to get to Stone Hut, most people would go through the Clare Valley. Even if you didn't have to go that way, i would recommend it regardless. You could visit an old mate called Jim Barry, and a place named after the big Scottish sword { Claymore } and i would definitely go for the pink floyd song and album, The Dark Side of The Moon. I'm down to 3 bottles of it, almost an emergency.
Maybe Stephen L could add a comment.
Another good spot to visit is Harrys, a bit north of Port Pirie. Had planned to go there on the way to Lake Gairdner for Speedweek. Damn the "Don't Travel unless neccessary directive"
And let's hope we can get back to the Birdsville Bakery, been closed for a while unfortunately
regards - b1b
AnswerID: 631104

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 at 15:13

Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 at 15:13
You can go food shopping only drawback the shop I want to go to is in a different State - does that matter Mr Plod? Ha Ha

FollowupID: 907072

Follow Up By: Kenell - Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 at 15:54

Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 at 15:54
b1b - Stop it, just stop it.

Fortunately I still have some fine Jim Barry examples from my last visit.

Never mind seeking a comment from Stephen L. The least he could do is slip in a few back doors and buy some reds and package them up for his interstate mates? Being a local he'd get it at mate's rates.

Hey Duncan - Mr Plod was sussing out people as they entered Bunnings carpark here last week. Not sure what they were asking them. The irony though was that the Dan Murphy across the road wasn't coming under the same scrutiny. It seems that "essential" might be a bit subjective. Let's know how you get on with your interstate shopping excursion and I might see you there.
FollowupID: 907073

Follow Up By: Gordon B5 - Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 at 20:13

Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 at 20:13
b1b I lived in the Clare valley for 22 years and just noth of there for 12. One of my DiLs worked at Claymore. was very handy. You can order online buy 2 carton/year get % off, deal is on their web site Free postage to your door. Yes I knew the late Jim Barry as many locals did, one of life's gentleman. Son Peter will look after you these days. Daughter Julie & sons Mark & John are all producing wine on their own these days. that Dark side of the Moon is special isn't it
He who hesitates is lost

FollowupID: 907077

Reply By: Candace S. - Friday, Apr 17, 2020 at 06:20

Friday, Apr 17, 2020 at 06:20
Here are a couple of links:

ABC article

Details about the real estate deal
AnswerID: 631107

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Apr 17, 2020 at 09:07

Friday, Apr 17, 2020 at 09:07
Candace, that first (ABC) link is faulty.
Try this one.

FollowupID: 907079

Follow Up By: Candace S. - Friday, Apr 17, 2020 at 14:36

Friday, Apr 17, 2020 at 14:36
Oops! Thanks, that was the link I was trying to post.
FollowupID: 907086