Lithium Upgrade Check

Morning

Our camper van is in getting a total refit and as we have been considering ditching gas it seem the right time to switch.

Have decided on a full Enerdrive set up...

200amp/hr lithium battery
DC-DC 40
2000w inverter RCD and remote on/off
Battery monitor (which one?)

We have 300w of solar on the roof and a 120w blanket on standby.

Load
60L evaKOOL fridge
Induction cook top
An LED light and a couple of USB outlets

Anything else I need to consider?

Do we need to protect the battery from discharging to 0% SoC

We are prepping for our two year gap year.
Back Expand Un-Read 1 Moderator

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 07:57

Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 07:57
Hi WAKO,

Firstly, let me state that I am not an Auto Electrician, or an expert in 12 volt electrical systems, so my comments are my opinion only. There are more qualified people on this forum than me, but you are likely to get differing opinions from different “experts”.

The more solar on the roof, the better. I know you said you also have a 120 W Solar Blanket as a back up, but if it was me, I would increase the solar on the roof by at least another 100 w if you have the realestate available on the roof. Remember, roof mounted solar panels tend to be not as efficient as a moveable panel, as they will rarely be at the optimum angle to the sun to generate their full potential wattage. IMHO, if you can double the solar wattage to the battery amperage the better your system will be. This is a very simple equation, and not based on anything scientific, as there are many variables to take into consideration, such as cable size, angle to the sun, battery charger amperage output etc.

What are you “powering” with the 2000 w inverter? Also, how long will this/these items be running? Anything consuming this much power will quickly deplete your battery, so your system must also be able to replenish this fairly quickly.

Macca.
Macca.

Lifetime Member