Googs track.

Submitted: Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 10:14
ThreadID: 140086 Views:10535 Replies:15 FollowUps:22
Hi all. Looking at doing Googs track with 200 series towing an MDC Forbes Hibrid. What is the track like and am I able to do the towing or is the sand problematic for a 2.25t hibrid. Thanks

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 10:21

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 10:21
As a "Friend of the Great Victoria Desert Parks" I would respectfully ask that you DO NOT tow ANYTHING on Googs Track. The damage that results becomes every one else's problem.
A few short video clips....
https://youtu.be/juEjWrSdTJU
https://youtu.be/ZTYn95PzBbQ
https://youtu.be/y9q9FOCkmRU
https://youtu.be/UvXsocNrRWw
ps... the sand was quite damp when these clips were recorded, so the sand was much easier than it is normally.
OKA196 motorhome
AnswerID: 631859

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 13:40

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 13:40
Peter, in my research for Googs, I spoke with the head ranger of Yellabinna on the phone. I specifically asked if it was ok to tow, his response was "why not - we tow trailers for maintenance of the park every day up there".

A trailer on a track like that will not damage the tracks if managed properly.

I go by what the ranger says.

That relates to my Tvan

FollowupID: 908214

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 15:01

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 15:01
You see the scalloping in the vids? That is a clear indication that many do not "manage properly" and it is clear that those who tow trailers do cause more damage than those who do not.
Taking trailers is not banned, like in the Simpson, you are quite correct, but there certainly have been discussions about banning them in the future and as volunteers in this park we have been canvassed about this specific subject by Parks management.
Of course, everyone thinks it is always someone else who does the damage and never them.

When those vid were taken in 2019, I watched a camper trailer crest a dune. The camper was bouncing 300mm off the ground on every scallop and the wheels of the tug were having a little spin in each dip. I regret not getting a video of it because I doubt the driver had the slightest clue what was happening behind him.

I repeat what I said to the OP...... "I would respectfully ask that you DO NOT tow ANYTHING on Googs Track."

OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 908221

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:26

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:26
Towing on the Simpson isn't banned.

I understand you have your opinions. But you're assuming that trailers made the track damage. It is usually caused by heavy and overloaded vehicles with incorrect tyre pressure.

I am satisfied that I have verified that towing is ok from the authorities and that a proper setup with experienced driving and correct tyre pressures are not causing any more damage than any other vehicle. You can have your opinion but please don't try to portray those as facts.
FollowupID: 908224

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:48

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:48
If I had wished to say they were banned in the Simpson I would have said "Taking trailers is not banned, UN-like in the Simpson,..". That is not what I said.

Yes, I have my opinions and will continue to express them, like you do yours.
Yes, I agree that tyre pressures (and tyre size and type) are critical and needs to be appropriate to weight.
Yes, 6 load carrying wheels on the sand with 4 driving will do more damage than 4 driven wheels, all other things being equal.
Yes, I do hope that trailers are banned from the Simpson and from Googs Track at some time in the future.

I repeat what I said to the OP...... "I would respectfully ask that you DO NOT tow ANYTHING on Googs Track."
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 908227

Follow Up By: Members - Bow - Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 11:00

Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 11:00
Auto gear boxes are easier on the track than a manual gear box.

A heavy vehicle with hard tyres and a manual gear box can cause heaps of damage to the track.
FollowupID: 908251

Reply By: B1B2 - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 11:13

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 11:13
Kerbab9,
We drove the Googs track with a few various 4wd's, no trailers. Lucky I had my winch because I was
kept employed. One 4wd I couldn't save from rubbing against a tree, it slid sideways. If I had a tree to
snatchblock off, I might have prevented his insurance claim.
I would strongly advise against towing.
BTW we had some seriously experienced drivers. (not me).

AnswerID: 631862

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 11:18

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 11:18
Googs can not be described as a hard track and if a winch was employed, it only tells two things......

1 inexperienced drives with no idea on sand driving....

2 most importantly........tyre pressures.

That’s all I will say, as if any calls this a hard track, they better keep out of our deserts

FollowupID: 908211

Reply By: Member - Wildmax - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 13:17

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 13:17
Googs is not particularly difficult, so long as you get your tyre pressures right - it's a really enjoyable trip, with good camping at the lake and mountain.
We did it with a TVan accompanied by friends with other offroad campers, and experienced no problems - though I do note and agree with the advice previously on this thread that it is much kinder to these tracks not to tow anything.
Not sure of the weight of your MDC, but obviously the bigger and heavier you are, the more difficult it becomes. I certainly would not tow my AOR Eclipse hybrid on Googs, even though it would be possible to do so.
Wildmax
2018 Hilux and Black Wolf 210 tent - for the outback tracks less travelled
Formerly an AOR Eclipse and a TVan

AnswerID: 631864

Follow Up By: Rangiephil - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 14:13

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 14:13
He did say 2.25tonnnes!!!!
FollowupID: 908216

Follow Up By: Member - Wildmax - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 14:30

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 14:30
So he did ??......a bit heavy for Googs I think
Wildmax
2018 Hilux and Black Wolf 210 tent - for the outback tracks less travelled
Formerly an AOR Eclipse and a TVan

FollowupID: 908219

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 14:48

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 14:48
Years ago (2008, maybe?) a convoy of Kimberley Karavans went up there. 2200kg each. There had been rain, the track was firm and no-one had any issues.

FollowupID: 908220

Reply By: Jackolux - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:34

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:34
We did Googs in June last year my Y62 Patrol and Tvan , mates latest model HiLux and Tvan . We traveled North to South by far the best way the dunes were not cut up at all , it was a piece of cake no problems at all didn't need any second attempts at any dunes , I easily drove it in high range in the 62 the mate in the Lux had to use low range .
We were talking to a couple of blokes from Ceduna at Kingoonya that had just driven Sth to Nth , they said they had never seen it so rough , they were Goog regulars and said we were going the right way .
But your 2.25 T hibrid dunno but if you do go Nth to Sth for sure .
AnswerID: 631872

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:51

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:51
There has been some discussion within Parks about making Googs Track one way traffic.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 908228

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:55

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:55
Looks like it's been under discussion for at least 15 years!!

Link

FollowupID: 908229

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:58

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:58
Probably :)
I can only speak for 2019.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 908230

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 08:36

Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 08:36
One way traffic defeates the purpose of building the track in the first place.
FollowupID: 908249

Reply By: Phil G - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:50

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:50
What's the loaded weight of your van going to be? Looking up the MDC Forbes it looks to me that 2.25T might be the Tare weight and your ATM is up to 3000kgs. They are a heavy little van.

I've done Googs Track many times both towing a 1.3T Tvan and not towing. I also own a 2.5T offroad caravan.
But towing a 3T van is too much and not something I'd do or recommend. The 200series does have a strong chassis and the towbar is integrated into the chassis but Googs is the sort of track that bends and breaks chassis on lesser vehicles that are towing campertrailers. The track is very corrugated in places and on the eastern diversion out past Nalara rocks. I was with a club group once where a camper broke a solid axle on the corrugations. Needed a fair bit of welding to get it mobile again.
AnswerID: 631873

Reply By: Jackolux - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:57

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 16:57
As far as I know Googs is a 2 way track now , if they make it one I guess everyone will have to do it that way
but for now Nth to Sth is the easy way to go , much better for the track and vehicles .
AnswerID: 631874

Reply By: kerbarb9 - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 17:17

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 17:17
Hi guys, have read your comments, all of which show that travelling Oz of the black stuff creates a range of thought suggestion experiences and opinions. All of which are important as long as individuals do not offend. Just for your info i will not be taking my hibrid on the track. I think leaving SQUIRT at Ceduna and do a trip up the track a bit to enjoy our Oz with causing problems. Thanks again
AnswerID: 631875

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 17:32

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 17:32
Thank You.
While you are in the area, spend some time exploring the Gawler Ranges NP to the east. No problem towing in there.
Also, follow the coast west from Fowlers Bay (there is a slow track that goes down to the coast from just north of Fowlers) to a spot called Mexican Hat and even further west to Cheetima Beach if you like to explore. SQUIRT will follow you in there too.
Very special country.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 908232

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 19:06

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 19:06
Map of the Fowlers Bay - Mexican Hat area.
The red lines are GPS tracks from 2018.
The track from Fowlers via Scott Point and along the coast does not appear on many maps.
There are also lots of partially overgrown tracks that go to fishing spots.

Scott Point - Mexican Hat.

OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 908233

Follow Up By: Member - wicket - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 19:16

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 19:16
Last year when we headed east from cheetima on that track there was a gate indicating it is now private property.
FollowupID: 908235

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 19:27

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 19:27
East of Cheetima as far as Cape Nuyts is private property (and has been so for "ever") where you enter Fowlers CP.
There is a fence and grid, but I have never seen it closed. That would be a pity.
I suspect that Parks may be trying to acquire everything along the coastal strip and that may have upset the owners - just my speculation....
OKA196 motorhome.
FollowupID: 908236

Reply By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 18:59

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 18:59
We did Googs late June last year South to North. Very little traffic. Coming south, north of Googs Lake we encountered a small convoy towing T Vans and they had encountered zero problems. We met one guy who had sheered his rear shockie off and taken out a brake line. We met them in a swale so no probs and we could easily pass. WRT the dune some are very soft and steep and just like the Simpson were cut up to buggery. As Stephen said previously, take it slow and lower the tyre pressures especially your CT drop those tyres by at least 2psi less than the front tyres on the tow vehicle. I found in my aging Troopy that had needed a new diesel pump (so no power), that 2 or 3rd low worked best for me on the dunes.

It's a nice track you should enjoy it and remember it's not a race. The permit for the track was $20/vehicle as well.

AnswerID: 631878

Reply By: Member - nickb "boab" - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 20:23

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 20:23
you don't say if your traveling alone or not & when you are thinking of doing it ?
a friend of mine did it few years ago & did get stuck on at least one of the hill tops driving a 200 series & towing ... a lot will depend on the conditions & who may be before you :-(((
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 631883

Reply By: CSeaJay - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 21:59

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 21:59
I read a blog of a bloke doing Madigan, solo, he was scathing on those towing trailers. At the end of his blog he gave stats, fuel usage etc. and in there he stated his tire pressures were reduced significantly to around 30psi.
Another one I read was a bloke on the Simpson trying to do it in 2wd as much as possible.
Then I read this thread on people towing TVans and the like, taking it easy, not having to have a second go at any dune.
Go figure, fools do damage to tracks, Not their choice of car or trailer
AnswerID: 631884

Follow Up By: Member - 2208mate - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 22:08

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 22:08
Do you think 30psi is significant? No mention was made if that was hot or cold?
FollowupID: 908244

Follow Up By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 22:45

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 22:45
15 psi would be better

FollowupID: 908245

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 22:52

Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 22:52
He should have been running around 14 - 16 psi and no higher.

I can relate that on one of our solo Simpson trips.we were heading west and the dunes were more cut than normal on the eastern face. We then started to hear radio chatter, so I knew they must be close.

What I could gather it was a larger group, and they were complaining about one dune that was taking 4 to 5 tries to get over? Yet we were sailing over at 14 psi no worries at all. The leader then spoke out over the radio, try dropping your tyres down to 36 psi.......WTF.

We caught up with them at Eyre Creek, had a chat with a couple of them and ther were 10 vehicles in the convoy.......a paid tag along. I asked one of them about the tyre pressures, they were all novice, never done any sand work and going by what their trip leader was telling them.

I told one guy to go lower, but he said no, how could he pump them up again......

FollowupID: 908246

Reply By: Member - Martyn - Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 10:23

Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 10:23
I've just returned from doing Googs track & the corrugations were the worst I've ever encountered. This is not a track for towing anything if you ask me. Only my two cents, but we averaged 17kph at 16psi in a well set up Landcruiser & Landrover.
Been there done that. Then, been there several more times, because apparently I never learn.

AnswerID: 631887

Follow Up By: Jackolux - Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 16:11

Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 16:11
Did you travel from the Ceduna end to the Nth
FollowupID: 908255

Follow Up By: Member - Martyn - Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 16:26

Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 16:26
Yes we did. It got worse towards the Northern end. The dunes were fine, the usual holes where people had got stuck. But the corrugations between were horrific.
Been there done that. Then, been there several more times, because apparently I never learn.

FollowupID: 908257

Reply By: dean ( SA ) - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 11:04

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 11:04
Have done Googs several times both ways. Last year in spring there were a handful of dunes that took a second go, particularly north of Mt Finke. Temps were mid 30's, sand was soft and those dunes had huge holes in them. Have always found Googs easy but those few dunes could cause some problems, they also have 2 or 3 tracks on them now. 12 psi needed that afternoon, lo and slow.
AnswerID: 631908

Reply By: daz (SA) - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 15:46

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 15:46
Hi there Group of three vehicles traveled south to North in April 2019 70 series cruiser, 100 series cruiser and Hilux The track was reasonably cutup and rough in places. The two toughest dunes were going in to and exiting Mt Finke. No way would we have got through dragging a 2.5 ton trailer. Not all dunes are clear runups. cheers daz
AnswerID: 631917

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Jun 04, 2020 at 18:02

Thursday, Jun 04, 2020 at 18:02
I have towed a camper trailer on Googs Track without any problems. Just reduce your tyre pressures on both the tow vehicle and trailer. A trailer with high pressures acts like an anchor. I reduced my trailer to 15psi. My vehicle to 18psi.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 631993

Reply By: Member - DOZER - Sunday, Jun 07, 2020 at 13:08

Sunday, Jun 07, 2020 at 13:08
Comes down to how wet or dry the sand is, (how much sand blow from prevailing wind) what tyres your running and how good you are at reversing a trailer down a sand hill if you get stuck. I would invest in a awning and swags, and do a double crossing back to your trailer
AnswerID: 632018