Prado V6 fuel consumption

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 02, 2002 at 00:00
ThreadID: 1403 Views:3996 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
I have a 97 RV6 Prado that runs around town mostly, with a good highway run most weeks. It does get to the bush every now and then.
I have been averaging 14 –15 lts/100k, for nearly four years. I believe that the economy was going west before my recent changes (full length roof rack, OME lift 30mm, Coopers 235/85/R16, the tyres give 105 k when speedo reads 100). I thought the roof rack would hinder the fuel econ, however with the slightly larger tyres it would help. (runs 110 k @ 2850rpm). The fuel econ is now 20 lt/100k on the highway!
I believe the car maybe running too rich, as smell soon after pulling up is quite strong. Any suggestions or similar experiences?
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Mal58 - Wednesday, Jul 03, 2002 at 00:00

Wednesday, Jul 03, 2002 at 00:00
Anthony,
I have a Prado GXL. I achieve typically around the 14-15 lt/100km. Fuel economy, however does occasionally take a dip for the worse (18-19 lt/100km). I believe that I can correlate it to a couple of things,
1) Disconnecting the battery for an extended period of time (ie. while working on electrical things eg dual battery system, driving lights etc),
2) Particular brands of petrol,
3) Using the Air conditioner in stop start city traffic.

Having taken the above into account, I would check your calculations for the change in speed. I did a quick check based on the RV trye size (215/80/16) cf your new tyres. I did this at,

http://www.fernblatt.com/longhurst/tyre_bible.html

This is an increase in 7.4%. You have to take this into account when working out how many kms you have actually covered compared to the speedo reading. (ie speedo = 100 km, actual distance = 107 km)