Maserati don't do sand very well

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 07, 2020 at 19:44
ThreadID: 140600 Views:9747 Replies:7 FollowUps:3

Reply By: Michael H9 - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2020 at 19:56

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2020 at 19:56
Unbelievable stupidity from everyone involved. The Maserati driver for being there in the first place, and the ute driver who thought it was a good idea to snatch off a bumper bar. Fair dinkum....
AnswerID: 633663

Follow Up By: OzzieCruiser - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2020 at 20:11

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2020 at 20:11
And what was that white Merc AWD doing there as well.
FollowupID: 910728

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2020 at 20:42

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2020 at 20:42
The latter in particular Michael. Clueless would be a kind description.
FollowupID: 910731

Reply By: RMD - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2020 at 20:28

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2020 at 20:28
Sand does Maserati's quite well though.
He probably still had the brakes applied.
Reminds me of 3 different Holden dual cab utes which upon recovery, the whole front, headlights, grill , air condenser electric fan, bumper, radiator support and radiator followed the tow car. Guards and engine remained. All pulled from Holden recovery points with A pull.
AnswerID: 633665

Follow Up By: 3ways - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2020 at 21:14

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2020 at 21:14
Neither did the Bugatti Veyron when that took on salt flat near Galveston.
FollowupID: 910732

Reply By: Member - shane r1 - Thursday, Oct 08, 2020 at 08:49

Thursday, Oct 08, 2020 at 08:49
That’s bloody hilarious. Idiot’s!
How many people these days think you’ve got to “snatch” to tow something out,I’m sure there’s a lot of unnecessary damage done all over the place giving the big vicious yank.
A mate of mine with a Subaru Outback pulled a Pajero out of the water on a beach that had launched a tinny. He was lining up to “snatch “ I stopped him and got him to just pull and out it came with no effort at all.
Funny, the people had spoke to us first and we all discounted the Outback’s ability. They went along the beach and no one else offered, even tho there were plenty of 4x4’s there. They came back and we used the Outback, my Mazda was pegged down by the awning so didn’t use it.
AnswerID: 633668

Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Thursday, Oct 08, 2020 at 11:03

Thursday, Oct 08, 2020 at 11:03
I drove past this bloke in my Rolls Royce Cornich. I thought to myself..."what an idiot!"....
AnswerID: 633671

Reply By: Mark C9 - Friday, Oct 09, 2020 at 10:58

Friday, Oct 09, 2020 at 10:58
I love watching people who think you need to use a snatch strap at full noise.
I saw a bloke at Terrigal haven trying to retrieve a car/boat where the trailer had dropped over the 200 mm lip on the ramp.
He backed right down and gunned it. The strap broke and smashed his rear window out
I went down and got him to unload the boat, drive forward 200mm so he was over the lip on the ramp, reload the boat. He drove out by himself
AnswerID: 633690

Reply By: rumpig - Saturday, Oct 10, 2020 at 16:31

Saturday, Oct 10, 2020 at 16:31
Tyres at a suitable pressure and the tow vehicle could have taken up the slack of the bogged vehicle and gently towed it out...once the driver actually took his foot off the brake and started acceleration that is...lol
AnswerID: 633701

Reply By: Candace S. - Monday, Oct 12, 2020 at 09:40

Monday, Oct 12, 2020 at 09:40
LOL, they actually thought there was substantial structure under that plastic? :)
AnswerID: 633715