City folk are wimps

Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 18:33
ThreadID: 140680 Views:12164 Replies:13 FollowUps:8
Back Expand Un-Read 3 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Ross N (NSW) - Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 19:40

Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 19:40
All part of the service when you drive a BMW.
Ross Nielsen
Ross N

AnswerID: 633865

Reply By: Erad - Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 20:18

Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 20:18
It is OK to put the SES and firies at risk in rescuing them, but they didn't even get their feet wet!
AnswerID: 633868

Follow Up By: Ozi M - Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 20:42

Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 20:42
If I was the SES I would have said "get out the car while we arrange a quick lift"
FollowupID: 910996

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 20:45

Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 20:45
What the.......?? The water was only up to the door sills!

And I thought that they were preparing to tow it out with the rope through the windscreen!!

I guess that the SES have their protocols.

AnswerID: 633870

Follow Up By: Member - Warren H - Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 21:52

Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 21:52
Me to, better still a snatch strap through the grill! Seriously two blokes and two minutes to push the thing out. Looks like it might have been driven through the possibly deeper water behind it and no quite reached dry land.
NT Pajero
2007 Goldstream Crown

FollowupID: 910997

Reply By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 21:20

Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 21:20
A training opportunity for the SES, perhaps?

AnswerID: 633872

Reply By: Member - nickb "boab" - Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 21:33

Monday, Oct 26, 2020 at 21:33
I'm lost for words .. but good laugh :)))
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 633873

Reply By: Michael H9 - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 07:06

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 07:06
It looked like they were going to pull it out with string so they wouldn't rip the bumper off. A lot of effort so you don't get your feet wet.
AnswerID: 633879

Reply By: axle - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 08:16

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 08:16
Ahh!, that brings back memories, i lived up the road from there for 50yrs , their lucky the current didn't take them to the right a tad , other wise the beemer would have gone 3mtrs under as theres a large wash out, in the bush there. A mate and i have rescued many a vehicle out of flood water there with a FJ 40 and winch, Its a different breed out that way these days ,it was a big vegetable farming area for a long time, until the developers moved in and The Holden utes moved out...lol.

I noticed the bridge behind wasn't covered so just a trickle to what it can be.

AnswerID: 633881

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 09:52

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 09:52
Ah, the SES do a great service to the community but I have also seen them a number of times behaving like Dad's Army. This particular one looked like an exercise at a Scouting Jamboree.

AnswerID: 633886

Reply By: Gramps - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 11:01

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 11:01
Look like cashed up retired vegetable farmers to me.

AnswerID: 633891

Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 13:12

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 13:12
Surely a scene from a Monty Python movie...
AnswerID: 633894

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 13:14

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 13:14
Yes, they seemed to keep coming such that I wondered if they were climbing in the other-side doors.

FollowupID: 911006

Reply By: baznpud - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 15:55

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 15:55
Not all city folk are wimps, but in this case i have to agree.
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 633900

Reply By: OzzieCruiser - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 17:36

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 17:36
I think they were just following the instructions of the SES - looks like the SES had concerns about the car and the occupants being swept away at some stage and provided some type of restraint to prevent this - not wimps at all - unlike country folk, particularly old country folk who ignore advice and instructions and continue to get sweep away in fast water events.
AnswerID: 633901

Follow Up By: Al-one - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 20:25

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 20:25
There was enough people hanging around there . Why didn't they just push the car out?
FollowupID: 911018

Follow Up By: outlaw40 - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 20:32

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 20:32
if they were so clever WHY did they drive in there in the first place .
FollowupID: 911019

Follow Up By: Ozi M - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 21:02

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 at 21:02
As I mentioned in the original post, check the depth of the water.

The SES people were walking in and out of the water without any difficulty at all.

If the water depth or speed was dangerous then the SES people would have had a safety rope attached to themselves as well.

The people in the car could have got out of the car and walked to safety at any time, the water on the high side of the car was quite shallow and with car there, it was impossible to be swept away

Perhaps the SES was giving some newbies a practise run at rescuing people for when it is a serious situation

FollowupID: 911020

Reply By: Candace S. - Wednesday, Nov 18, 2020 at 14:11

Wednesday, Nov 18, 2020 at 14:11
Given that floodwaters can rise significantly without warning, I can see why they took those precautions.

But that little rope didn't look like it could actually prevent the car from being swept away! Perhaps it is much stronger than it appears. :)

It could always be worse ;)
AnswerID: 634136

Follow Up By: rumpig - Thursday, Nov 19, 2020 at 07:45

Thursday, Nov 19, 2020 at 07:45
Maybe it was country rope, apparently that’s not as wimpy
FollowupID: 911261

Follow Up By: Member - Warren H - Thursday, Nov 19, 2020 at 13:48

Thursday, Nov 19, 2020 at 13:48
It could always be worse ;)
Well if you're bogged/stuck in Australia you can always wait for water to go down or the place to dry out but in that picture, there's only one way that's ever going to go.
NT Pajero
2007 Goldstream Crown

FollowupID: 911266