Cairns District - best caravan park

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 11, 2001 at 01:00
ThreadID: 141 Views:3969 Replies:6 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
Hi the wife and i plan to visit queensland up the matilda highway from melbourne to karumba and then to cairns . Need advise on best caravan parks we are both in our 60s - the wife just almost.
Heard that north of cairns a place called wonga beach is great and also coconut beach plan to spend seven days and your help would be most appreciated . have put back departure till may 1st because of present weather regards peter
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: John- Thursday, Mar 15, 2001 at 01:00

Thursday, Mar 15, 2001 at 01:00
Peter
I am a Police Inspector living and stationed in Cairns. The best Caravan Park in Cairns itself is the Cairns Coconut Caravan Resort at the corner of Bruce Highway and Anderson Rd. (About 5 kms South of the C.B.D.) I believe that this park has (again) won the National award for the best Caravan Resort recently. This park is of a tremendous standard, containing all possible facilities, including provisions for caravans, motorhomes (all sizes), Camping, terrific facilities, etc. There are a large number of Caravan Parks around Cairns. Most are of a very good standard. If you would like any further assistance when you get here, e-mail me prior to your arrival and I will provide you with contact phone numbers. Re your inquiry about Wonga Beach....A lovely place, approximately 90 kms North of Cairns, up past Port Douglas and Mossman. Dont worry about not being able to find a beautiful place to stay for a while in a good standard, well-equipped Caravan Park. If you havent been up this way before, make sure that you allow PLENTY of time for your stay. I have been here for 2.5 years and I reckon by the time I retire in about 3 years, I will have seen SOME of the things deserving of visiting in this area. The Atherton Tableland alone is worth a couple of weeks.Cairns is worth about the sam