Snow chains

Submitted: Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 19:30
ThreadID: 14210 Views:1692 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
G'day all,

I've got a set of snow chains (Pirahna). They're still in their original red plastic box and never been used.

I had them for my old GQ which ran 31x10.50R15s. I don't need them any longer and will sell them via the Trader; but what are they worth? Any suggestions?
I bought them off another bloke who'd never used them either. You've got to carry them when you live in the Snowy mountains.

I'm thinking around the $100- mark, but open to suggestions.

Thanks everybody.

Reply By: rolande- Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 19:44

Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 19:44
Roachie,
I think TJM stock these, may be worth a call to see what they are new. 10R15's will fit 265/70 - 16 as well.
Rolande
AnswerID: 65565

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie SA- Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 20:39

Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 20:39
Yeh, Thanks Rolande.
I guess I'm just trying to take the easy way out and see if someone says they'll take'em off me for $xxx. Save me a lot of mucking around.
Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 326499

Follow Up By: rolande- Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 21:27

Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 21:27
I'd probably gladly take them off your hand if they fit 265/75 - 16????????
Do you have any other info, they may well fit
Rolande
FollowupID: 326507

Reply By: rolande- Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 21:30

Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 21:30
Roachie,
If you can tell me they fit 265/75-16 I would probably take them off your hands
Rolande
AnswerID: 65591

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie SA- Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 22:22

Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 22:22
Rolande,
Sorry mate, they're about 6" too short for my 265/75s. I never actually fitted them to anything. The bloke I bought them off also had 31/10.5s on his GQ, (but he never had to fit them either), so I can only imagine that they do fit this size.
I reckon the 265/75s are about 32.5" diameter, which would equate to around 6" difference in rolling circumferance.....so they should fit.
I'll check them out by trying to fit them to Pesty's cruiser next time I see him.
FollowupID: 326518

Follow Up By: rolande- Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 22:42

Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 22:42
Roachie,
Found what I think is an easy answer, are they 126 or 127 chain size. 126 fits 10R15, the 127 fit 265 and 275/16. May save you the time, although probably more useful on the 'cruiser :)))))
Rolande
FollowupID: 326520

Follow Up By: rolande- Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 22:44

Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 22:44
Sorry, should have added this
http://www.piranhaoffroad.com.au/products/chains/wheelchains_4wdfitmentchart.htm
FollowupID: 326521

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie SA- Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 23:13

Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 23:13
Rolande,
Thanks for that link, Now all I've gotta do is work out what number they are. There is no visible description on the chains or box (eg: 125. 126 or 127 etc)
I tried fitting them to my spare while it sat mounted on the back. Too short by about 6".
FollowupID: 326528

Reply By: Tom - Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 22:42

Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 22:42
Hi Roachie,

If they're to suit 31x10.50Rx15s, I'll give you $100 for them.

Tom.
AnswerID: 65599

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie SA- Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 23:07

Monday, Jun 28, 2004 at 23:07
Tom, Where you from??
I'm in country SA (about 150klm north of Adelaide; Kadina)
You can have em for $100-, but postage could be a fair old whack??
Let me know.
FollowupID: 326525

Reply By: cj - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 10:38

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 10:38
If Tom hasn't taken them and they're a 126, I'm keen.
AnswerID: 65636

Follow Up By: cj - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 10:39

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 10:39
I assume they are a diamond pattern?
FollowupID: 326566

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie SA- Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 11:08

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 11:08
G'day CJ

I've just phoned Pirahna for some info and have been checking out their website.

The chains I have are called : 6mm Regular Ladder Pattern Mud and Snow.
Pirahna said they aren't stocking them this year, but when they did (last year) they were $265-. They now only have the Diamond style which are $290 for size 126 or $390- for size 127.
They said they always recommend that chains be test fitted before purchase as even tyres with supposedly the same size (but different brands) can vary in size.
If you're still interested, Tom has not responded to me, so you can have them for $100-. If you live in Adelaide, I'd be prepared to meet you at say Port Wakefield and we could try them on your rig.....
Let me know what you decide.

FollowupID: 326569

Reply By: Tom - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 21:14

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 21:14
Depending on the work load during the day, my access to the internet can at times be very limited, hence my inability to reply to you Roachie...

CJ, as Roachie has said, they're yours.

Tom.
AnswerID: 65716

Follow Up By: cj - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 22:39

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 22:39
Thanks but I'd prefer diamond pattern.
FollowupID: 326748