Opinion on best touring engine for new build

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 07, 2021 at 16:47
ThreadID: 142122 Views:7269 Replies:13 FollowUps:11
Ladies and Gents.
I would like everyone’s opinion on what engine to swap into my newly acquired 1985 bronco. The v8 petrol sucks too much juice although it sounds great.
I’ve have big plans to use this to tour the country and family camping.
What is the top few engines for toughness and reliability for long distance touring and will also be a frequent daily too.
Bare in mind I’m totally open to options, my short list at the moment is as varied as 12ht , 2h turbo, Cummins 6bt or 4bt.

I want this to be special and want to be able to trust this thing anywhere.

All opinions welcome.

Reply By: Cameron C7 - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2021 at 16:48

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2021 at 16:48
AnswerID: 637071

Follow Up By: Candace S. - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 14:58

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 14:58
Don't you want to import a shiny new one with a Sasquatch package? :) Unfortunately, no diesel option so not very practical for remote travel in Oz.

2021 Ford Bronco

Sorry, I have no suggestions regarding the engine but sounds like an interesting project! Hopefully you will update us as it progresses.
FollowupID: 915058

Follow Up By: Candace S. - Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 09:56

Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 09:56
I wasn't aware, but apparently old Broncos have a lot of fans! :)

1979 Bronco sold for US$213K

Here's the engine that rebuilder opted for...might not be a good choice for your application though:

5 Liter V-8 Coyote Engine
FollowupID: 915170

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2021 at 16:57

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2021 at 16:57
Not an answer to your question but a question for you to consider before tipping a lot of coin in this direction
Do you think this vehicle is going to be suitable for your intended use longer term? Not a lot of family and storage capacity compared to other options that may require less modifications

I love Broncos by the way and it looks sweet
AnswerID: 637072

Reply By: Cameron C7 - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2021 at 17:16

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2021 at 17:16
Thank you yes she’s a beauty. I here your comment, but when i look in the back it can’t have any less room than say a prado. They are so wide. I dunno I do here ya, just thinking it is a sizeable rear compartment actually has enough leg room for me in back and I’m 6”3.
AnswerID: 637073

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2021 at 18:22

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2021 at 18:22
Yeah fair enough if you are happy with it, just thought it was worth raising the point.
FollowupID: 915049

Reply By: Member - Jim S1 - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2021 at 18:24

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2021 at 18:24
In a northern NSW campground I chanced upon a bloke who had his Nissan Patrol bonnet up. Looked pretty damn nice with its Walkinshaw V8 in there !!!!! He said rather smugly that it went "pretty well" .
Sounded awesome.

Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

AnswerID: 637075

Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 09:42

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 09:42
Jim S1
Walkinshaw in a 4wd, stupid! and it will use petrol at a fast rate too. How is that a good thing? It may jump from mountain to mountain and faster than a speeding bullet, BUT this is a Ford Bronco needing a fuel efficient engine.
FollowupID: 915052

Follow Up By: Member - Jim S1 - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 10:26

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 10:26
Wasn't suggesting that it was a solution, just putting it there as one guy's idea of fun. Pulled a large caravan effortlessly, and actually quite economically ( about 15 he claimed) unless pushed. The V8 replaced the 3.0L diesel. Not sure what auto gearbox he used but it wasn't standard either.
Spent heaps but he loved it.

Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

FollowupID: 915053

Reply By: Member - peter_mcc - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2021 at 21:12

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2021 at 21:12
Sounds like an interesting project. Are you planning to do enough km's to make the reduced fuel consumption worthwhile? For the cost of an engine conversion you could buy a lot of extra fuel!

AnswerID: 637076

Follow Up By: Cameron C7 - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 07:53

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 07:53
Yeah I definitely will, considering it will be used almost daily as well. Also reliability is a big one, especially out west around water
FollowupID: 915050

Reply By: Chris J16 - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 05:20

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 05:20
My suggestion

5.0L Ford V8 EFI from a late or last model wrecked falcon
AnswerID: 637078

Reply By: outlaw40 - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 07:52

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 07:52
Just go all out ,,,, 6BT Cummins . problem solvered ;-))
AnswerID: 637079

Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 09:34

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 09:34
Maybe, Problem just beginning! I think it will be heavier, therefore, front end upgrade and any appropriate enhancement will be required.
FollowupID: 915051

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 08:22

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 08:22
Hi Cameron,

I don’t mean to burst your bubble, but I do not think Ford Bronco is a suitable vehicle for remote touring. Parts availability will be a big concern with an older, less popular vehicle like a Bronco, that plus someone qualified to do the repairs. No problem if you are capable of fixing it yourself, but spare parts could be an issue.

If you go ahead with your plans, I would think a Diesel engine would be a more suitable and economical engine. As to which “brand”, Cummins certainly have a good reputation. Maybe even a TTV8 from a Landcruiser, at least parts for the engine would not be as big a problem.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 637080

Follow Up By: Member - mechpete - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 13:40

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 13:40
broncos were a good vehicle in the 80.s
there are just an old truck ,will never be in the ball park of the jap 4wd
cheers mechpete
FollowupID: 915057

Follow Up By: Cameron C7 - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 16:29

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 16:29
Yes that is a valid concern. I suppose one option would be to fork out for a hj61 with the 12ht. Rebuild it and trans. Of course you could possibly even just swap the axles out so you have more common parts. I’m not ok sure what’s stronger as far as diffs go.
I’m a huge fan of Toyota’s especially the older stuff. But I am a weirdo and like to be different. I’d love to keep this bronco for a long time. Much prettier than the poor old 60’s ??
FollowupID: 915060

Reply By: axle - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 10:25

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 10:25
Hi Cameron

If reliability is your main concern, Then a Isuzu 4bd1t would be my choice, the same as landrover used in the Army Defenders , As far as parts required, dont worry you wont need any!.

Any diesel you fit will require a lot of research for a decent gear box.

G.ood luck with the project

AnswerID: 637082

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 10:46

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 10:46
Maybe check compliance issues/ requirements with an engineer
From recent enquiries I made about an engine swap you had to meet pollution requirements as to age of motor
Could have a substantial impact on your selection
AnswerID: 637083

Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 13:14

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 13:14
Definitely best to check which engine/s the rego crowd will accept, long before anything else. If you choose one and fit it, then find rego won''t give a rego certificate. It can be a tad disappointing. Rego tech dept's can advise.
FollowupID: 915056

Reply By: mountainman - Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 19:33

Thursday, Jul 08, 2021 at 19:33
I would be staying away from the 2h turbo
In standard form they are a pig on fuel
And no power
A Cummins 4.5 common rail is the go too
Easily upped in power stakes
And towing wise they are awesome on fuel
6t gross easily get under 15ltrs on the hwy
Quiet too
Aeco are importing them
Based in Sydney
And have a YouTube channel
Really impressive power and torque but they are a heavy engine
12ht are getting Very expensive used
And factor in a 10g rebuild
The 4.5cummins is miles infront
AnswerID: 637094

Reply By: Member - DOZER - Friday, Jul 09, 2021 at 15:57

Friday, Jul 09, 2021 at 15:57
To make it cost effective, you need to buy a wreck complete from the auction. I would suggest a hdfte in a hdj100, 5 speed auto etc. 10k plus for the wreck. Otherwise, the newer f150 comes with a 6 cyl diesel, a wreck there would be awsome
AnswerID: 637105

Follow Up By: Cameron C7 - Saturday, Jul 10, 2021 at 20:22

Saturday, Jul 10, 2021 at 20:22
That’s the plan I reckon. Best way to go. I will most likely go with a 12ht 60 series and auto if I can get one at the right price. Love the old tractor sound of them.
FollowupID: 915084

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Jul 12, 2021 at 14:16

Monday, Jul 12, 2021 at 14:16
Cummins 6BT coupled to an Allison is the choice of MANY OKA owners looking for power and reliability.
Most still get around 16L/100km at 5.5T.
OKA196 motorhome
AnswerID: 637123