Cost of a trip?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 15:38
ThreadID: 14226 Views:2036 Replies:10 FollowUps:6
Heya all, that 1st post had the wrong heading, so i'll try again...

I now am the proud bearer of a membership card to ExplorOZ and so don't feel like a kicker when I post on the Forum. I feel that the benefits far outweigh the costs, and even though most of the benefits are free, I believe the website needs supporting.

So anyway, I'm planning a trip and am hoping to get peoples experience with expenditure. I know that it depends on where to and how far and so on, but basically we are heading South for summer, from Sydney, heading down to Wilsons Prom. then Tassie, Kangaroo Island and various other sites down South, then backtracking North, up the Cape, and then round the top and back down North West Oz to Perth, where we hope to stop and stay. Beautiful place Perth.

So I have planned $50/day/pp for a year thinking that should be sufficient. So that equates to $36,000 for 2 people for a year. Would love to get feedback and words from the wise.

Cheers Peeps!!!

Reply By: TD6 - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 16:06

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 16:06
Peeps,

For what it's worth I have found the following to work as a "rough guide" This also is totally dependent on your accommodation preferences, souvenir collecting, eating requirements etc etc......

Over the years I have kept a track of this with the following configuration. GQ Patrol 4.2, wife, 2 kids, primarily camping in non commercial sites, don't skimp on the food but keep it healthy, the occasional souvenir, works out at about $80.00 per day total. These types of trips were Cape York 4 times, the Simpson 3 and various other "non commercial" areas.

Over the last couple of years I have done the Kimberly twice and the Gulf Country. Both of these trips averaged about $120.00 per day. This is due to the fact that in the Kimberly it's difficult (not impossible) to get away from commercial sites and the Gulf had too many attractions in the form of fishing charters, fishing charters and fishing charters. Same basic configuration all the way through with the exception of the Gulf where I took the GUIII 4.2TD.

Hope this helps but I'm sure others willl give you their figures which will help you come up with an average.

AnswerID: 65664

Reply By: stevesub - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 17:45

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 17:45
We work on $100 per day for fuel, food, accomadation, etc which is usually power sites in camps with the occassional night of luxery??? in a cabin.

There are 2 of us in our Troopy pop-top camper.
AnswerID: 65680

Follow Up By: MikeV - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 18:09

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 18:09
That was pretty much our experience in our old V6 Pajero

MikeV
FollowupID: 326612

Follow Up By: Topcat (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 19:05

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 19:05
I concur with Stevesub, $100 per day for me & the misses has been the average expenditure for all our trips. Cheers.
FollowupID: 326618

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 18:25

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 18:25
Welcome to the membership waveslave, We work on $100 per day which varies if you are racing somewhere to grab a couple of weeks leave, like Roachies example on prevoius post, where you are racing to see as much as possible in 4 weeks and 12thou ks, against a 12 month journey where you keep going and dont have to race back home. I think if you stay in mostly bush camps, and reasonable careful with your budget, then a $100 should be pretty close to the mark, plus a margin tucked away for an emergency breakdown. You could also top it up with some work along the way and take 5 years and make use even more envious !! LOL
AnswerID: 65685

Follow Up By: waveslave - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 13:20

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 13:20
G;day mate,

I would love to travel for 5 years believe we. Unfortunately SWMBO(a new term to me since joining this site, but very fitting) won't allow it. One year of travelling, and then she we settle down for a career and kids. Hmmm.....
FollowupID: 326708

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 18:27

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 18:27
My old truck sucks the juice so it is an expensive exercise when mobile.

On the road it works out to $100 per day for fuel(400km) and $20 per day for tucker for 2.

Sitting still costs $20 per day...You have to eat.

Only go in to caravan parks under duress like if there is no where else to camp.

Take in to account incedentals which include souvenirs or repairs or unneccesaru snacks and add another $30

So baseline travelling costs me $150 per day for 2 people.

If I take the Commodore I halve the fuel cost.
AnswerID: 65686

Follow Up By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 00:11

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 00:11
Geez, scary that reckoning of yours, Willem!

I also reckon at least $ 150 a day as my Nissan - 1998 - 20 years younger than yours, also drinks juice.

Loaded at 100kph costs me $ 21 per 100 km, so thats 476 km per day - 200 before lunch, 200 after if your'e really heading somewhere. I accept that not every day will most folks do 470 kays, but my averages aren't that far off it.

Starting from $ 100 a day:

add $ 16. [Tyres cost heaps & I always seem to do one or two a year, so that is $ 500 p.a = about $ 10 a day if you travel for 50 days a year, which is a fair whack of travel if you are not retired. Plus Rego & Insurance = another $ 1000 p.a. = $ 3 per day + service costs of the same.]

add $ 20 tucker for two

add $ 10 for throat lubrication [that's only the equivalent of a bottle of wine - or 4 stubbies - between two of you - remember you're on holidays & being dry ain't as relaxing]

add incidentals at $ 10 [could be two showers, or more expensive cut of meat, or a souvenier, or - heaven forbid - you have to book into a caravan park]

TOTAL is therefore at least $ 156 per day

Bugger it, just GO. Time for countin' pennies when ya get home.
FollowupID: 326663

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 10:31

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 10:31
Ahhhhhh Rick............I haven't calculated insurance 'cause I have none. My $30per day pretty much encompasses tyres and repairs and liquid refreshments though a flagon of muscat would last a week and at $9 it equates to $1.28 per day or 64cents pp(yes were are cheapskate drinkers lol). Pay for showers? Pay for Caravan Parks?(Only when visiting friends). Not on camping trips. When commuting we stay in motels if we have to.

With this budget($150pd) in mind my next Big Trip has to be of 23 days duration otherwise I will be stuck somewhere without visible means of support. Such is life.
FollowupID: 326689

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 18:53

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 18:53
Hey Waveslave!!!

Waveslave means????

Anyway, cheers for joining mate, hope we talk from time to time.

Going away costs......

Myself in Honda.........

600 km @ day $60-80

Tucker all cooked / made in camp $10.00

Camp Fees NPWS $3 - 18

Alcohol $........ you don't wanna know..........

Wolfie
AnswerID: 65688

Follow Up By: waveslave - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 21:08

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 21:08
Waveslave means that I'm a slave to the waves. I'll do ANYTHING for a good surf, even drive up that hill that breaks trucks, through private property owned by a psycho with a gun and 4 pitbulls!

FollowupID: 326630

Reply By: Magnus - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 19:04

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 19:04
Hi Waveslave

Did 8 weeks Bris to Geraldton and return on the tar last September. All up costs were $112 per day. Breakdown was

Camping Costs (caravan parks) $581
Fuel (Mazda Tribute) $1732
Gas and Ice $ 78
Meals out $ 154
Motel Costs $ 2785 (mainly for transport stages)
Other (Joy flights, gifts etc) $ 987

All up costs $6309. Two adults only.

No food costs in this as food is a constant. You have to eat whether at home or away

Near new car, so no car maintenance costs. All sealed road. well almost, so no ruined tyres either.

Distance travelled 13,117 Klms. Fuel is the killer. Our costs were 13 cents per kilometer or $13 per hundred. Do say 500 k in a day and there is $65 right off.

Hope this helps. Your $50 per day does seem light on. But have a great time in any case.

Magnus
AnswerID: 65691

Reply By: Mrs Diamond - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 19:13

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 19:13
gday waveslave.
we travel to qld from vic once a year.
gq on gas and 4 kids.
we go for 2 weeks and usually allow $2000 all up.
we usually go to fraser or rainbow beach or land cruiser park.
buy a lot of food at super markets in main towns before we leave.
sleep in truckstops on the way up and back(operation coffee break).
we save a little money on lunches ect when we stop for lunch we go to super market and bye ham/rolls/tomatoes ect and make our own.
we used to do the kfc/maccas thing but that worked out at about $30 per stop.
AnswerID: 65696

Reply By: Member - Allan - Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 23:51

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2004 at 23:51
Our trips have averaged $100 per day and we can not seem to get below that. That is for 2 adults in a diesel cruiser towing a camper trailer spending about 30% of the time staying at commercial sites. Our main expense has been fuel but that is because we have to cover a fair few kilometres every day to make the most of our limited time (9000km in 30 days). I know pensioners who travel at a lot slower pace and spend $25,000 per year on the road (I wish I could be that frugal).
AnswerID: 65747

Reply By: waveslave - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 08:37

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 08:37
Hiya peeps,

Thanks all for your feedback. I think from what I've read, $100/day should suffice. We will have brand new tyres on the truck, 12 mths rego, all the equipment, and a 3 yr old troopy so shouldn't haqve to many maintenance costs, ......hopefully.

We certainly don't plan on doing an avg of 400k's per day for a year. That will be a bad day, and when we find a nice spot, I imagine we'll be there for weeks.

Grog certainly could blow the budget out of the water, we'll have to take it easy. Easy to write, harder to implement.

If my missus wasn't a school teacher, and had a contract until the end of the year, mate, I'd go tomorrow,.... actually probably today.
AnswerID: 65771

Reply By: hardingprj - Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 13:46

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 13:46
Hiya there,
We were looking at apprx $100 bucks per day. But after reading all the posts I reakon 2 adults & 2 children using petrol & gas on a Nissan Patrol & carrying a camper trailer we too are underestimating our costs. Its probably more like $150 per day. We better check our budget, haven't really had a set budget but better get to it now. Thanks
AnswerID: 65955