75 series Landcruiser vs MK/GQ patrol for towing

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 19, 2021 at 20:03
ThreadID: 142412 Views:5837 Replies:3 FollowUps:9
Gday all. Trying to settle an argument between mates on which ute would be Faster and tow better. We know neither are fast and it would likely resemble snails racing each other haha. So does anyone know which utes tows best and/or which ones faster? Specifically the MK vs 75. On paper its looks the 1hz 75 would come out on top

Reply By: Member - mark D18 - Thursday, Aug 19, 2021 at 20:50

Thursday, Aug 19, 2021 at 20:50
The 1HZ would be the winner , just !
AnswerID: 637580

Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, Aug 20, 2021 at 09:13

Friday, Aug 20, 2021 at 09:13
The 1Hz would be best and it would also get you home again!!!
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 637584

Follow Up By: axle - Friday, Aug 20, 2021 at 10:26

Friday, Aug 20, 2021 at 10:26
Not if it hasn't got the heavier gearbox!

FollowupID: 915661

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Friday, Aug 20, 2021 at 20:02

Friday, Aug 20, 2021 at 20:02
Mine had the standard gearbox and went everywhere .. and I do mean everywhere !!!sounds like more urban myth.

FollowupID: 915679

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2021 at 21:46

Friday, Aug 20, 2021 at 21:46
Not an urban myth if you towed in 5th Jack. :)
Dave.
FollowupID: 915680

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Aug 21, 2021 at 17:03

Saturday, Aug 21, 2021 at 17:03
Sold it with 520,000km on the clock. No gearbox dramas. And I probably towed if 5th as well. Serviced it every 5000km, and I would replace the clutch around 120,000km or thereabouts if I had a 'serious' trip coming up.
Serious = Anne Beadell/Maralinga, Canning, Simpson via Madigan x 2, Flinders Ranges to name a few. Got me home safely (and slowly) every time).
Saw it recently in the suburb where the new owner lived. He has also put in a new clutch and has just over 600,000km. Original gearbox. Fabulous vehicle (80 Series).
Urban myth :)

FollowupID: 915685

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Saturday, Aug 21, 2021 at 17:32

Saturday, Aug 21, 2021 at 17:32
You probably had no trouble with the seal between the gearbox and transfer case either.
Another Urban Myth ? :)
Dave.
FollowupID: 915686

Follow Up By: That Troopy Bloke - Sunday, Aug 22, 2021 at 16:11

Sunday, Aug 22, 2021 at 16:11
Axle, not sure there was a heavier gearbox. As far as I know 75's all had the H55F box. I think it was the 78's that got the lighter duty gearbox
FollowupID: 915696

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Aug 21, 2021 at 07:40

Saturday, Aug 21, 2021 at 07:40
I assume you are talking the 1HZ motor. I had two, both excellent. Would sit on 120km/hr all day, well, providing it was flat and there was no head wind :-). It was also a good tow rig. I towed a Barra boat from North to south no problems. Now knowing how to overtake...., might be a skill not all can master. It took a lot of timing an patience. You would hang back and then when the opportunity arose you would put your foot down, in 2 or 3 kilometers you would be past.......
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 637598

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Aug 21, 2021 at 16:55

Saturday, Aug 21, 2021 at 16:55
Strewth Lydon, 2 or 3 kms???? Must havbe been a jet! I needed to allow about 5kms ... with a tail wind.

FollowupID: 915684

Follow Up By: Olsen's Tours and Training - Sunday, Aug 22, 2021 at 08:51

Sunday, Aug 22, 2021 at 08:51
I would hate to be the one stoking the fire at 120 kph. Need a big load of coal :-)
Olsen's Tours and Training

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

FollowupID: 915693

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, Aug 22, 2021 at 15:16

Sunday, Aug 22, 2021 at 15:16
No head wind and flat she would sit on 140. 120 wasn't so bad on the juice, but 140, 25l/100km :-)
So at 140 she would use about the same as a 2020 Patrol does at low speeds...................... :-)

Now my FTE, I know she goes a LOT faster than 140 but in that type of vehicle I'm not game to try and find out just how fast!
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 915695