Driving light Purchase

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 20:38
ThreadID: 14262 Views:2084 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
HI,

Can anyone give me any information where I might be able to by a set of Cheap but good driving light around Melbourne. I Cannot afford the IPF ones.
Nigel

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 21:38

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 21:38
cheap but good? Narva 170's about the best $120 you can spend on lights.

AnswerID: 65861

Follow Up By: Davoe - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 22:08

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 22:08
your kidding right? I have had 2 sets of narvas and they all have had thew lenses jump out and smash and then the replacement lenses did the same they are only desighned for bitumen work
FollowupID: 326744

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 06:31

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 06:31
I have a set of Narvas which have been on for just over a year and have withstood everything I have thrown at them, including some serious, bone jarring corrugations over extended periods. Sometimes you can get lucky (or unlucky).
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 326766

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 09:07

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 09:07
Im with you Davoe, but I have noticed the new ones are different so I hope they have fixed that problem, but as lights go they arent bad for the money.
FollowupID: 326769

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 18:21

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 18:21
nope not kidding at all, I have bounced mine all over the outback and back for 2 years and theyre still in one piece, previous Hella 160's needed to be taped into their metal mounting cases to stop them falling out.

Narva are fine cheap lights

FollowupID: 326834

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 10:28

Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 10:28
I've had mine for over 2 years also and no lense popping activity over many corrugations to the tip and back also. Maybe they were the older model.

Leroy
FollowupID: 326961

Reply By: Member - Roachie SA- Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 21:52

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 21:52
G'day Nigel

I've got a pair of Hella spot lights I don't need any longer. They are 6" diameter and have 100w H3 globes.

You can have them for $80- + postage if you like.

You'd need to buy a switch and relay, probably $20-

Let me know....

AnswerID: 65866

Follow Up By: Member - Gerk Yorke Pen (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 22:35

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 22:35
Hey Roachie is there any truth that your putting up Annette up for sale next?
FollowupID: 326747

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie SA- Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 22:48

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2004 at 22:48
Jeez Mate,
Never thought of that!! Are you making me an offer??
Just let me know!!
FollowupID: 326751

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 09:09

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 09:09
SOLD Roachie I need a set for the lux.
FollowupID: 326770

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 18:21

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 18:21
Roachie has a "set" of Annette's? I am checking e-bay.

FollowupID: 326836

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 20:14

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 20:14
Hey Roachie,

Are you having an end of Fin year clearance or what???

Steven
FollowupID: 326858

Reply By: Leroy - Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 00:41

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 00:41
IPF's are over rated. I also agree get the Narva 170 ultimates at aroung $130 bucks. 2 friends have the ipfs and r not happy

Leroy
AnswerID: 65899

Reply By: Utemad - Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 08:57

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 08:57
I have Nightstalker lights on my Rodeo. They cost $130-160 or so. They are pretty good and not far off IPF we have on work ute which cost more than double that. The IPF are better but not that much better.

Utemad
AnswerID: 65913

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 11:51

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 11:51
I agree. I have a pair of 8" Nighstalkers on my rig, and they are as good as the IPF spotties on the ambulance. My experience with Narva spotties was that if you hit a big pothole, the lenses fall out and smash on the road. Got sick of that very quickly!! Maybe they've fixed the problem but I'm reluctant to find out.

FollowupID: 326792

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 11:59

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 11:59
Bang for the buck - narva 170's have had one set on a hilux for about 3 years now, not a single prob, good mounts etc.. Lux is sprung like a skate board so if they were going to fail they would have by now, shes seen plenty of crappy roads in that time... Agree old narvas left a bit to be desired , but these are grouse.

Bursons have them at pretty reasonable rates.

AnswerID: 65936

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 14:14

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 14:14
I'm in the same boat, looking for cheaper spotties, but my Narvas on the Rocky cracked the mounts and were left hanging over the number plate by the wires.... They were the older style though.
AnswerID: 65958

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 10:26

Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 10:26
new style have different mount which is very good

Leroy
FollowupID: 326960

Reply By: Big Trev - Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 16:59

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 16:59
Sorry NJ, but those two words don't fit well in my vocabulary. Those words are "cheap" and "good", they just don't seem to go together this day and age.

Do yourself a favour and spend a bit extra and buy a good set, it will be worth it in the long run - Save your bikkies my son!!
AnswerID: 65974

Follow Up By: Big Trev - Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 17:02

Thursday, Jul 01, 2004 at 17:02
Sorry, I should have said, I have a set of Cibie on my 4X4, but at $350 a set........

What you pay for is what you get.......
FollowupID: 326816

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 03, 2004 at 00:18

Saturday, Jul 03, 2004 at 00:18
IM with you on the
"Those words are "cheap" and "good", they just don't seem to go together this day and age."

Pay for what you get. Lightforces every day for me. Gettin second set for wifes pathy now.

Buy a cheap set now, and hate them within weeks, or being crap, if they break, you have to spend more money on a good set, you save nothing in the long run.

YMMV
FollowupID: 327078