Queensland borders open 1am Saturday

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 15:33
ThreadID: 143091 Views:4699 Replies:4 FollowUps:22
No proof of vaccination, border passes or Rapid Antigen Tests required if travelling into Queensland by road or Air.. Great to see the country getting back to normal after two years.

Reply By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 15:57

Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 15:57
If you call thousands upon thousands of new Omicron cases each day and people dying as a result, normal! I am well and truly glad I am in WA. However, I shudder to think what the consequences will be come Feb 5 when our borders are due to open.

AnswerID: 639080

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 16:05

Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 16:05
Hi Duncan, What more can they do, 90% plus double vaccinated, two years lost.. We are a long way from the beginning where some countries were digging mass graves and people were dropping like flies. Even the Pzifer boss said yesterday that the Pzifer vaccine and third booster is ineffective to the latest mild Omicron strain. That probably goes for all the other Vaccines too. When I say normal, I mean we can move freely again. I haven't caught the virus in two years and we will all have to continue be careful and stay vigilant and get back to living i think. Michael

FollowupID: 917970

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 16:50

Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 16:50
Michael, agree with your follow-up comments. Biggest issue going forward is the effect it is having on supply chains. If the virus doesn't kill us maybe starvation and the lack of dunny paper (LOL).

FollowupID: 917972

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 17:33

Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 17:33
@ Michael - "Pzifer boss said yesterday that the Pzifer vaccine and third booster is ineffective to the latest mild Omicron strain" - Really? The "research" :) I did says this

"Pfizer and BioNTech released results from an initial lab study Wednesday morning that showed a third shot is effective at fighting the omicron variant, while the initial two-dose vaccination series dropped significantly in its ability to protect against the new strain. However, the two-dose series likely still offers protection against getting severely sick from omicron, the companies said." Source I have no idea of the validity of this information - just saying. What is your source as it seems to contradict this one?

FollowupID: 917973

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 18:29

Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 18:29
Greg, it was on most news yesterday afternoon, Ok its still on News .com... Quote from the Pfizer Chief Executive , " Two doses of its current Covid19 Vaccine offer very limited protection, if any against the Omicron variant". The three doses offers reasonable protection against hospitalization and death. Apparently they are working on a new Omicron variation. So you have a point there... I should read left to right like everyone else ..... Michael

FollowupID: 917977

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 18:37

Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 18:37
Either way - best you can do is get what is available and hang on :)

FollowupID: 917978

Follow Up By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 20:04

Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 20:04
Duc

Keep the pressure on your Premier.

The moment your borders are open, your stated will be f…..d

Keep safe

FollowupID: 917979

Follow Up By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 20:07

Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 20:07
Michael

There was a report this morning on the radio, and since borders have open business in NSW have gone down the tube, even more so than when they had the lockdowns.

Borders should never have been opened up.

FollowupID: 917980

Follow Up By: Member - nickb boab - Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 20:38

Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 20:38
Duncan WA your Premier only one with any idea of what is needed..
you don't need to be Einstein to work out what is working and what is not ..it's just these dumbass politicians can't seem to fathom that ..
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 917981

Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 22:16

Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 22:16
Does anyone believe Pfizer executives? They make billions each week so have a vested interested in what and how they present. Pollies react to what they say but nearly all virus spread is the so called Vaccinated, spreading it to all. So much for injections. If it really was a VACCINE it would offer significant protection and not require booster upon booster, then another + more to come. In SA, 2019, 45 people died of the plain flu in one day and no one batted an eyelid. Covid hasn't achieved that! Way less people dying with the latest 14th variety, the Xi flu. Called Omicron not to offend the dictator of where it came from. There are a lot of people who don't want to call it what it really is. The new QLD CHO is the first one who is actually qualified in the field in any state/territory so far. Vic CHO isn't even qualified to be a GP in any clinic in Australia. WA is simply postponing the inevitable. Unless WA can leave this world the McGowan tricks won't work. Why does he think he knows better than the rest of the world?
FollowupID: 917982

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 07:19

Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 07:19
This disease has never really been about people dying, it's been about the high infection rate that crashes the hospital system. Right now, hospital workers are at their wits end, in NSW particularly, because it feels like every second person has covid at the moment and the workers can't get a break from constantly having to dress up in full PPE. Fair dinkum, just wearing a mask is a pain in the arse when you've had it on for any length of time so working 12 hour shifts in full gear would be intolerable. You may as well be in lockdown if a high percentage of workers are home with bad flu like symptoms. The only reason they are still at home and not in hospital is that the vaccine lessens the impact of the virus by providing some level of existing immune response. Having no vaccine would be a disaster and they only reason NSW opened up is the vaccine. The reason the vaccine isn't 100% effective is linked to how you can get covid after you've already had covid before. Recovering from having covid temporarily gives you a resistance that wanes over time and the vaccine artificially gives you that resistance.
FollowupID: 917983

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 07:36

Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 07:36
Michael H9, you summed it up perfectly, it was never about saving lives. Michael

FollowupID: 917984

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 08:04

Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 08:04
Since covid started, South Australia has had 30 deaths - in 2019 South Australia had 92 normal flu related deaths.

https://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/sas-flu-death-toll-rises-again-with-92-confirmed-flurelated-deaths-so-far-in-2019/news-story/10f8e6b2fff3ba148f12111609d110b7
FollowupID: 917986

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 08:25

Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 08:25
Hi RMD,

I feel the need to take you to task with regard to your comment about the Victorian Chief Medical Officer not being qualified to be a GP in any Australian State or Territory. You have stated this on more than one occasion.

I might point out to you that there are a number of people in senior medical positions that are also not qualified as a GP. That does not mean that they are not qualified to hold the position they are in.

If you look at the Job Descriptions of the various Hospital Chief Medical Officers, they do not require the person to be qualified as a GP. These days, “General Practice” is a “specialised” field, and many medical students do not go on to become GP’s, choosing to go into other specialised fields instead. My Caridologyst is not registered as a GP, likewise my Heart Surgeon is not registered as a GP.

Is the CHO in WA registered as a GP? From his bio, he has never been in General Practice in his career.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 917987

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 17:52

Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 17:52
Well said Macca.

Your cynicism is only matched by your appalling lack of understanding of viruses (esp corona viruses) and vaccines RMD. The mortality numbers pre and post vax are there for all to read and absorb. The effects of long covid numbers won't be understood for years. Just fyi the UK study which suggested 2 jabs were only marginally effective against omicron didn't involve just Pfizer's vaccine.

Your flu comparison is puerile. The reasons SA, WA and Qld in particular haven't seen significant death and hospitalisation from covid is as plain as the nose on your face. Not that it's required for anyone who understands what has transpired over the last 2 years but a clue can be found in the number of national flu deaths in 2021. I'll leave you to look them up and join the dots. Alternatively it could simply be that the residents of those states have a naturally immunity not found in Victoria and NSW or pretty much anywhere else in the world (/s).

The efficacy of boosters against omicron has been tested. Google will answer your questions in regard tio that IF you're actually interested. While you're there you could investigate the years of research and findings wrt previous corona virus outbreaks (SARS, MERS).
FollowupID: 918002

Reply By: Member - Cuppa - Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 21:11

Thursday, Jan 13, 2022 at 21:11
Belief that opening borders to anyone from anywhere in the world with no controls whatsoever is likely to create a situation resembling anything like normal is delusional. It is not going to end well.
See 'My Profile' (below) for link to our Aussie travel blog, now in it's 6th year.

AnswerID: 639083

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 07:51

Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 07:51
Cuppa, I agree with you on international travel, but Australia is one country, Everyone is vaccinated now and this Omicron is much less severe than previous strains and moving fast and should burn itself out fairly quickly. Hopefully this is the last strain on the virus. I believe it's time to move on and get back to some sort of normally. Michael

FollowupID: 917985

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 08:35

Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 08:35
Regarding omicrom being milder than Delta strain....

.Quote..."As Covid-19 cases in the United States soar to record highs, many are pinning their hopes on the omicron variant, however contagious, being less severe than the delta variant that came before it. Perhaps, some health care experts hope, surviving omicron could even provide some immunity against other variants. It’s a glimmer of hope in a dark time.

The problem is, it’s too soon to know how severe omicron is—and individual symptoms aren’t always the best way to talk about severity. By taking preventative measures off the table and prioritizing the economy even if it means sending people back to work and school with active Covid cases, policymakers betting on the mildness of this virus could risk toppling the health care system as we know it—and allow more death and disability to rise throughout the country.

We have more questions than answers at this point about the omicron variant, which was only identified six weeks ago: How mild is it really, does it mean we’re close to emerging from this phase of the pandemic, and what does it signal for future variants?"
FollowupID: 917988

Follow Up By: Member - Cuppa - Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 09:15

Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 09:15
Bigfish’s reply is spot on, in particular his last paragraph,

The desire for Covid to be over is universal, but desire isn’t anything more than desire, but yet it seems to be the only basis for the beliefs that the ‘letting it rip’ approach will see us ok. In addition to that contained in Bigfish’s response, not only is it far too early to know how mild or otherwise Omicron is, no-one has any idea about what further strains of the virus are yet to develop.

One could describe the current ‘let it rip’ approach as ‘optimistic’, but I suggest that not only is it based on ‘wishful thinking’ with virtually no real basis, but worse it is a strategy where the community’s tiredness of the battle is being exploited & manipulated by the business & corporate pressures, supported by government, to put short term profit before the health of the community. The current supply chain problems should be the wake up call to both government & business that without healthy people the businesses will suffer far more than they ever would from restrictions. I believe the removal of restrictions & the baseless but understandable hope that this will somehow return us to normalcy, that the virus will magically wither away may be a case of stepping from the frypan into the fire. Our ‘heatproof shoes’ (restrictions & precautions) may have been uncomfortable in the frypan, but they are all we have. As I said previously I don’t think this will end well. I hope I will be proven wrong about that for all our sakes, but am angry (& worried) that those who govern us have made decisions which are so potentially dangerous on the basis of nothing more than political ideology & populism.
See 'My Profile' (below) for link to our Aussie travel blog, now in it's 6th year.

FollowupID: 917991

Follow Up By: Zippo - Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 12:07

Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 12:07
Agree nickb. The problem with politicians is that they are ... politicians. They are being pressured from both the community health side as well as the business/economy aspect.

The problem comes when they let the business lobby argument overcome their common sense and health experts' advice. In that regard McGowan has been fortunate that the economy here in Fortress WA has been largely unaffected (hospitality aside). As a result he has been able to stick to our tight (sometimes paranoid) border control, and life has been relatively normal here compared to the rest of Oz. The popular view here is that opening would be a disaster, and the most recent state election outcome underscored that - right now the combined opposition parties could meet in a phone box.
FollowupID: 917993

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 13:27

Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 13:27
One thing I learnt from this covid debacle is that we truly live in the age of entitlement. The mob screaming about loss of freedoms are really should get their money back from their labotomy surgery..it obviously failed. We have and never will be free to do as we choose!!. We still have idiots raving that the covid is not real and just a made up propaganda story from the worlds governments....why do these twats still take our oxygen? The anti vaxxers are no better. Delusional. self centred , misinformation spreading idiots as well. These groups don't give two figs about our health workers, our aged people in care, our weak and vulnerable, etc.etc....They keep calling the vaccinated the "sheep" of the world for following what the worlds health experts have advocated (get the bloody vaccine!!!). I label these groups as "grubs".

As the old adage goes....if your not part of the solution then you must be part of the problem.
FollowupID: 917995

Follow Up By: Member - Warren H - Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 16:43

Friday, Jan 14, 2022 at 16:43
There is a growing body of evidence that the Omicron variant causes less severe disease than other strains, however the benefit is outweighed by the increased number of cases.Here's a link to early studies of the Omicron variant.
NT Pajero
2007 Goldstream Crown

FollowupID: 918001

Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Saturday, Jan 15, 2022 at 15:59

Saturday, Jan 15, 2022 at 15:59
Well here is our resident Auto-Expert,s view on the pandemic...covid
AnswerID: 639104

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Saturday, Jan 15, 2022 at 19:45

Saturday, Jan 15, 2022 at 19:45
We should have just built the quarantine facilities needed and stayed closed for as long as possible. As is pretty obvious from O/S, with Covid there is NO economy! As our dumb politicians are now just realising .
The long term health issues could be HUGE, for decades or even generations!
The next variant (yes there will be more), could be much worse, we don't know, but there will be no chance to respond as it will already be here in droves.
And to the original poster, sorry I don't share your enthusiasm and would have been VERY happy if all the Mexicans could have stayed put!
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 639105

Follow Up By: Banjo (WA) - Sunday, Jan 16, 2022 at 09:43

Sunday, Jan 16, 2022 at 09:43
lyndon,

'The long term health issues could be HUGE, for decades or even generations.'

That info from the health officials wouldn't be more scaremongering would it.

Fear of 'possible' consequences has allowed politicians to erase the freedoms that shouldn't be taken away.
FollowupID: 918033

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, Jan 16, 2022 at 15:25

Sunday, Jan 16, 2022 at 15:25
Lyndon...really! Half of the NT is made up of Mexicans...I used to be one myself before becoming a Queerlander...
FollowupID: 918036