ThreadID: 143134 Views:4093 Replies:4 FollowUps:15
Prompted by Michelle
Unfortunately I don’t have any with rider in motion

Back Expand Un-Read 3 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, Jan 22, 2022 at 14:34

Saturday, Jan 22, 2022 at 14:34
Shane

Don't think I'd like to ride the Beemer in soft sand at any speed with that load on - give me the KTM any day :)

Gazz
AnswerID: 639199

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, Jan 22, 2022 at 16:31

Saturday, Jan 22, 2022 at 16:31
I have been amased at the bikes that cross the Simpson.
Couple of years back we saw a BIG touring BMW. He stopped to chat and it fell over. Took a big effort to stand it back up.
Fuel is usually a problem for these guys too. Saw a group of 3 who were planning to pour all their remaining fuel into one bike who would then ride into Mt Dare to bring back enough for all 3 to get there.
This bloke had a big tank.

OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 918206

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Saturday, Jan 22, 2022 at 17:42

Saturday, Jan 22, 2022 at 17:42
No I wouldn’t ride the beemer in sand with that load on but have done a bit with a load on it like is on the ktm. When it gets really tough in the sand let the tyres down same as a 4x4 and away it goes.
That picture of the bmw 1200gsa was in the USA we were 2 up and carried camping , food and cooking gear. Then you run into people with a pile of gear like that one person and not camping. We had a great trip. Must say the esky wasn’t with us till the last little bit.
FollowupID: 918207

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Saturday, Jan 22, 2022 at 17:50

Saturday, Jan 22, 2022 at 17:50
That picture of the ktm has a 10 litre fuel bladder aboard give me 450 to 500k if my wrist behaves. More if I’m really keeping fuel economy in mind.
FollowupID: 918208

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 10:16

Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 10:16
"I have been amased at the bikes that cross the Simpson."

From about 1992 to 2002 I ran 4wd and motorcycle tours in and around central Australia with dozens of Simpson Desert crossings. On the bike trips across the Simpson I limited bike numbers to ten as any more made carrying fuel, water, spares, food, swags and liquid refreshments difficult. If any applicants said they had a BMW or similar adventure bike I politely said they are not suitable due to being too big and heavy and if they wanted to come along they needed an enduro style bike. We had supply vehicles usually consisting of two tray tops and two wagons.

One thing that stood out on all the bike trips was how some participants told me about their years of dirt bike riding and the desert would be a piece of pi$$ to do - but obviously some of them had spent little time in deep soft sand and struggled going up the dunes - other riders did it effortlessly ! One year we had the Flying Doctor recover a bloke that cracked a bone in his neck after a crash - he spent 9 hours lying on the ground in severe pain and stressing out he wouldn't walk again as he had little movement and feelings in his limbs. We got him as comfortable and stable as we could without too much movement and comforted him until an ambulance from Oodnadatta along with the local police officer as a guide arrived. He was an excellent rider but as we were about two minutes from pulling up for the day he briefly took his eyes off the track to enjoy the scenery and five seconds later he was on the ground after going over the bars - it can happen to the best of them. After the nurse checked him out we got him in the Troopy and it took the ambulance eleven hours to get to the nearest station where the RFDS plane with a spinal injury crew from Adelaide could land. The chap made a full recovery but no longer rides dirt bikes.

On that particular trip with ten bikes starting we had three finish ( William Creek to William Creek ) and the following trip with ten starting we had ten finish - funny how that goes.

Some of the guys would ask me what is the best way to train and prepare for the desert sand. I would tell them that the best way was to set up one of those kids little swimming pools at the end of their house, fill it up with sand then with all their riding gear on, boots and all, climb up on the roof then jump into the sand filled pool and repeat that at least ten times a day for three days and you're now ready for the desert lol

I have ridden the desert three times, twice on my Honda XR650 and once on my Yamaha WR 426 with only a couple occasions having to get back up on the bike ( insert smiley face )

Ah the good ol' days

Gazz

FollowupID: 918219

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 08:27

Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 08:27
Might not be quite what you are after, but this was my set up when touring.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 639214

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 11:49

Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 11:49
Bloody hell! You could do the “lap” with that and not even buy food.
Hahaha
Yep not my style , but it’s still biking which always makes me smile.
Cheers Robbo
FollowupID: 918225

Follow Up By: Paul W43 - Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 12:26

Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 12:26
Now that's a really neat set up.
FollowupID: 918228

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 13:14

Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 13:14
Do they quote GCMs for motorcycles? :)
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 918230

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 13:40

Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 13:40
FYI, Bike weighed 380 kgs, and trailer fully loaded weighed just over 150 kgs. The trailer had a 50 AmpHr deep cycle AGM battery and dc/dc charger that was powered from the bike when the engine was running. There was also a 240 volt charger that would charge the battery at caravan parks, 15 amp mains power inlet just like a caravan. 35 Litre Waeco fridge on the drawbar. It towed really well and was very stable.
Macca.

FollowupID: 918231

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 14:06

Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 14:06
My Bmw felt lightheaded for a start but soon acclimatised , 3 months and 21 ,000 k . But I don’t recall it be weird or anything to get back on it when it wasn’t loaded.
I think it was 2010 , Ulysses club had their national gathering in WA , heaps of bikes with trailers and camper trailers went thru Wudinna . I sorted out some trailer tyres for a few, heading west you can get along @ 110 for hours, the little wheels are spinning pretty quick, so some die!
FollowupID: 918236

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 17:09

Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 17:09
" I sorted out some trailer tyres for a few, heading west you can get along @ 110 for hours, the little wheels are spinning pretty quick, so some die! "
Funny that.
A cousin & her hubby towed a trailer across the Nullarbor and back behind a Mini 850 in about 1965 for their honeymoon. The trailer wheel bearings failed at least twice but the car wheel bearings were fine.
Same 10" wheels, same tyres. That says something about trailer wheel bearings I reckon?
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 918240

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 18:15

Sunday, Jan 23, 2022 at 18:15
Perhaps the trailer bearings were made in Japan. Back then "Made in Japan" had similar quality connotations as today's "Made in China".

FollowupID: 918245

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Jan 24, 2022 at 16:45

Monday, Jan 24, 2022 at 16:45
Nice thanks for posting. I'm already working on using another photo that fits my criteria but if you have a photo without any part of the bike/wheels/trailer cropped out with rider then I could see if we could use it, if not in this document, maybe in future as that's one great rig McLaren3030.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 918272

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Jan 24, 2022 at 16:46

Monday, Jan 24, 2022 at 16:46
Shame the pics don't fit my criteria exactly as they look well setup. This has been a great discussion to see people's bike rigs. I knew our motorcycle audience was growing - its always been there but I get a lot of calls and reviews from happy motorcyclists using ExplorOz Traveller. It's great to see how diverse the setups are and I want to see them better represented in our documentation/marketing going forward.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 639240

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Monday, Jan 24, 2022 at 20:45

Monday, Jan 24, 2022 at 20:45
Hi Michelle
Expoloroz traveller is a great resource. And I use it no matter my mode of transport.
I love travelling on my bikes, as well as 4x4 , motorhome.
I’ve been a bit hesitant at times to bring the motorcycling part of travelling to this forum. But obviously there are plenty that do or did motorcycle, and I’m glad you like us discussing this side of travel.
Thanks everyone
FollowupID: 918282

Reply By: Hoyks - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2022 at 23:30

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2022 at 23:30
Here are a couple of mine from a trip we did around 2009.

AnswerID: 639257

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Thursday, Jan 27, 2022 at 07:06

Thursday, Jan 27, 2022 at 07:06
Is that a dominator?
FollowupID: 918301

Follow Up By: Hoyks - Thursday, Jan 27, 2022 at 17:56

Thursday, Jan 27, 2022 at 17:56
No, just KLR650's.

Red one was around a 2000 model and the green was a '08. Kawasaki spent a fortune on R&D to update the bike... by changing the dash and fairing.
FollowupID: 918309