Engel Power draw as a freezer

Submitted: Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 16:10
ThreadID: 143537 Views:8881 Replies:14 FollowUps:29
Doing a trial with the 40l Anniversary edition Engel as a dedicated freezer set to -14C.
Freezer is in the back of a Prado with solarscreens fitted to the rear windows
Having trouble keeping the battery charged up when sitting for a couple of days with overcast conditions. I charge the dual battery system in the Prado when at camp through our camper which has 240W solar hooked up to it.
Questions:
Is this temp too low/too high?
What typical amps used over a 24 hour period in ambient temp of high 20’s should I expect.
Planning an extended trip next year and looking at ways to store bulk food.
I can always throw more solar at it if needed.
Thanks in advance

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 17:45

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 17:45
What Ah is 2nd battery in your Prado? Engels use heaps of power running as a freezer, so you’ll need more solar & maybe a bigger battery than you’re currently using, or drive everyday.
I’ve got 2 x 100Ah lithiums in canopy, running an Engel 80L upright & a 40L Engel running as a freezer, and on a trip over the Simpson last June, the batteries down only 14% overnight. All charged by a 370w panel.

AnswerID: 640124

Follow Up By: phantom - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:25

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:25
Hi Bob,
105AH Full River in the Prado.
210 AH in the camper which has an 80l Engel upright.
FollowupID: 919183

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 21:52

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 21:52
Phantom,
I'd be looking at replacing the Full River with something from the vast array of lithiums. For same weight as the 105, you could fit a 150-200Ah lithium which would give you 3-4 times the output of the Full River. As well as Enerdrive & DCS, check out Lithium Battery Wholesalers on Facebook. Good batteries at a good price, with good discharge rates...............and usually freight free.

FollowupID: 919189

Reply By: Kazza055 - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 18:05

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 18:05
Back a few years when I was working out my power needs for the dual battery under the canopy, I ran both my Waeco 32L and 40L Engel for a week at a time using one of the Watt Meters as shown below.

The Waeco was the beer fridge and the Engel was set to freezer and after a week on each fridge I ended up with the attached power usage

AnswerID: 640126

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:08

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:08
If your Waeco only used ~17Ah in a week Kazza it's one in a billion. Presume that was the daily draw or am I having another Omicron moment (distinctly possible ;-) )?
FollowupID: 919182

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:36

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:36
The numbers were read from the display and entered into the spreadsheet at the end of a week.

This was done back in 2014 so my memory is a bit fuzzy after 8 years.
FollowupID: 919186

Follow Up By: kgarn - Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 16:05

Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 16:05
The specs for those "watt meters" indicate the Ah range of 0-65.
It therefore seems possible that the Ah display has "rolled over" several times so the true Ah used after a week would be (n * 65) + 28.8 where n could be 1, 2, 3 ... etc

Specifications

Voltage: 0V-12V-24V-36V-48V-60V @ 0.01V
Current: 0-50A @ 0.01A
Current Peak: 0-100A @ 0.01A (Short periods)
Charge: 0-65Ah @ 0.001Ah
Power: 0-6554W @ 0.1W
Energy: 0-6554Wh @ 0.1Wh

Ken
FollowupID: 919203

Reply By: kgarn - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 18:30

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 18:30
Surely you mean AmpHours (Ah) used over a 24 hour period.
Amps is the rate of current (or coulombs per second). You probably want to know how may AmpHours (Ah) are consumed over a 24hr period so that you can determine appropriate battery capacity and solar charging capacity. For a fridge/freezer it would be reasonable to assume Ah consumed = Fridge current(A) x Duty cycle (%) x Hours (24 hrs)

In order to give a reasonable answer we would need to know how much current the Engel draws when running, the duty cycle when operating in ambient of high twenties. Given these data, it is possible to estimate the total energy requirement of the fridge. Then the next question is what is your battery capacity and what other loads are connected to the battery.

-14C is probably OK for short term storage.
AnswerID: 640127

Follow Up By: phantom - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:35

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:35
Hi kgarn.
Yes mate, you are correct.
What I don't know is the duty cycling of the Engel. Current draw when it is running is around 2.7 A.
It is a dedicated battery for the fridge in the car.
FollowupID: 919185

Reply By: qldcamper - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 18:49

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 18:49
I used to think we needed to store a lot of food but it turned out you only need enough food to last as long as your water and or beer.
There are so many places you can get supplies now.
A weeks worth of vac sealed meat in the waeco is more than enough for us, rarely more than a week between towns.
AnswerID: 640128

Follow Up By: phantom - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:32

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:32
Hi qldcamper,
We’ve always done as you’ve suggested and just trying this out before our next extended trip. We did a 5 month trip last year from Vic to Cape York, stocking up every couple of weeks, staying in a van park and vac sealing and freezing before putting in the bottom of the Engel. This did work out well but gets kind of expensive at times.
This trip, we’ve filled the Engel up with 5 + weeks worth of meals as a trial.
Appreciate your reply.
FollowupID: 919184

Reply By: George_M - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:35

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:35
I have a similar set-up, although with a 180W panel charging a 100ah lithium battery and the fridge set on 2°

When my 40l Engle is cycling it draws about 2.75 amps. Set at -14° it would pretty much run full-time - on this basis you'd need to allow for 2.75a x 24 hours = 66ah/day. That's a lot if you are stationary.

My Engle is set on 2°. With my set-up my lithium battery records 12.7 v at the end of most days (that is, still fully charged).

George_M

Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

AnswerID: 640130

Follow Up By: phantom - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:41

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:41
Thanks George,
For all our previous trips over the last 6 years with the same set up, we’ve had the Engel set on 0 and no trouble keeping the batteries topped up, even on overcast days.
Think I'm asking too much of our current set up.
FollowupID: 919187

Follow Up By: TrevorDavid - Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 07:10

Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 07:10
G’Day George

Reckon I would be checking your system with those figures.

If your lithium battery set up is at 12.7v at the end of the day it would be at around 15%, in fact bordering on to low. An AGM at 12.7v would be pretty full.

TrevorDavid
dontyajustluvit

FollowupID: 919217

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 07:27

Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 07:27
That may be so Trevor, however your AGM would have dropped below 12.7 volts at about 70% SOC, probably several hours before the LiFePo4 battery even dropped below 13 volts.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 919218

Follow Up By: TrevorDavid - Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 08:24

Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 08:24
Yes Macca true

But I was not suggesting which is better AGM or Lithium, entirely different debate. I was merely pointing out the fact that if he has Lithium battery/ batteries at 12.7 v they are not fully charged as he was thinking .

Just in case you’re wondering, I use Lithium.

TrevorDavid
dontyajustluvit

FollowupID: 919220

Follow Up By: George_M - Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 09:44

Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 09:44
Thanks for your comments, guys.

My lithium battery is lithium MNC, not LifePO4. It is a Nomad V5.

The manual says it is fully charged at 12.7V, which is when the charger goes to float (that's another story) when it's on a mains charger.

George_M

FollowupID: 919221

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Monday, Apr 11, 2022 at 08:55

Monday, Apr 11, 2022 at 08:55
Thanks for the clarification George. They are not the type of Lithium batteries that I would choose, but as long as you are happy with them, and they continue to give you reliable and safe service.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 919228

Reply By: George_M - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:48

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 19:48
What bulk food do you need to store at that temperature?

If we're off the grid for an extended period we get the local butcher to cryovac our meat. It lasts easily for four weeks at normal fridge temperatures. A lot of other stuff you can't freeze anyway - milk, vegetables, etc.

Our endurance off the grid is usually limited by stuff other than what we could freeze. Like beer.

May also be a good idea if you had your 240w panels checked - maybe an ExplorOz auto lecky could jump I'm here. Your panels should theoretically produce 20a in good sunlight, less whatever inefficiency you have in the panels, controller and cable.

George_M

AnswerID: 640131

Follow Up By: phantom - Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 20:02

Friday, Apr 08, 2022 at 20:02
G’day George,
We don’t really need to store that much, just trying it out as a freezer to see how it goes as I’ve read about some people that do this.
Looking primarily storing at meat, fish, bread, icecream (??) pre cooked meals - fried rice, spaghetti, etc. We carry a Vacuum Sealer with us so we can seal food along the way.
Solar panels are 2 x 120 W Projecta folding blankets and will put out a total of 15 A on a sunny day. We have a 3rd panel that we take as well to use if needed plus another 2 back at home.
We’re pretty much full time on the road and we are just looking at the viability of having the Engel as a freezer which is not looking good with our current set up.
What we have now does work.

FollowupID: 919188

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 07:12

Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 07:12
Hi Phantom,

Firstly, is there anything in the fridge or is it empty? Air is not a good conductor of heat/cold, so fridges will cycle less if they are something inside them.

Secondly, depending on ambient conditions, compressor fridges will draw between 3 to 6 amps per hour, so if you took an average of 5 amps per hour over a 12 hour period, that is 60 Amps, without any charge going back in, your 105 AmpHr battery is going to be down around 50% SOC at the end of the time. So this sounds about right.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 640136

Follow Up By: phantom - Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 08:11

Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 08:11
Hi Macca,
What you’ve said seems pretty spot on and we always try and keep the fridge as full as possible.
Need re-think of our set up if we want to run it as a freezer.
FollowupID: 919192

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 12:52

Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 12:52
"Firstly, is there anything in the fridge or is it empty? Air is not a good conductor of heat/cold, so fridges will cycle less if they are something inside them."

One of the members on here, possibly Allan B did a comprehensive test on that with one fridge full and one fridge empty and found almost zero difference in power use.

Gazz
FollowupID: 919200

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 19:36

Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 19:36
I expect that result would change significantly depending on ambient temp and the number of times the fridge was opened Gazz.
FollowupID: 919209

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 19:50

Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 19:50
G'day Bazooka

I will try and find the post when time permits but from memory that was all taken into consideration in the experiment.

Gazz

FollowupID: 919210

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 20:01

Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 20:01
Found it, but yet to read it, Gazz.

Allan's Myth Buster
FollowupID: 919212

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 20:15

Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 20:15
Allan's experiment wasn't all "hot air" Gazz but I'm sure he wouldn't mind me saying that it wouldn't exactly pass scientific muster either. He did arrive at the conclusion usually mentioned as the big issue - the transfer of hot and cold air on opening. If bubble wrap reduced power use then we could likely expect that a fridge full of cold items might do something similar, moreso in hotter conditions.
FollowupID: 919213

Reply By: Member - OzJourney - Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 09:25

Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 09:25
I have a new 69l fridge/freezer and the first time we used we used it as a freezer I was shocked at how much power it had used.
I think it was 60ah from 7pm to 7am, in Victoria ~20ºc

If you can, I recommend getting a battery monitor which measures the power going in and out of the battery. That way you know exactly what's happening as opposed to the mathematical.

I use this Victron (https://www.victronenergy.com/battery-monitors/bmv-712-smart) but there are cheaper units like Renology.
AnswerID: 640138

Follow Up By: Zippo - Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 11:09

Saturday, Apr 09, 2022 at 11:09
There are really cheap units such as this one which will give you current draw, instantaneous Watts and (resettable) cumulative Wh consumption. They are actually quite good accuracy, having checked them against my other instruments.

I'm suggesting them to measure fridge-freezer consumption, NOT battery ins/outs as they are only rated to 20A. But if you want to calculate the Ah drawn from the battery, you have V and Wh so it's primary school division to find.
FollowupID: 919197

Reply By: Matthew G3 - Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 09:51

Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 09:51
Hi Phanton
From test i have done at home with 4x 3ltr frozen milk bottles after 3 days of freezing.
Day 36c
Fridge set -18c
Draw 2.50-2.87ah
Fridge cover 35c
Draw Peak Start up 5.17
12hr test 9am-9pm 29.37ah
24hr test 51.01ah
Average 2.44ah
Top of motor got to 44c
Using a Watt meter and thermal gun.
The freezer did not get opened. Tested in the shade.
The motor only turned off for about 8 min per hour when i was near.

Matt
AnswerID: 640152

Follow Up By: nickb - Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 10:38

Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 10:38
I did a similar-ish test on my 57L upright Engel (same running gear as 40L) set at the coldest setting and mine used 49Ah so a similar result.
FollowupID: 919223

Follow Up By: kgarn - Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 17:28

Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 17:28
My 22l "Brass Monkey" fridge/freezer uses ~ 52Ah per day operated at -18C and full of food.
I also note that it produces a lot of condensation on the outside walls if the humidity is high which would seem to indicate insulation could be better.

Ken
FollowupID: 919224

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 19:38

Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 19:38

I have the same fridge and live in the Top End. Ours is generally just used for drinks. These go in the fridge with an internal temperature of 35-40c. So fridge runs FLAT OUT 24/7. Continuous draw is 2.5A @ 12v.

What does this mean. In simple terms in mean 1 x 100ah/hr battery will run the fridge for 1 day.

I have had the following discussion before on EO and everyone has their own opinion. Why do you need to freeze anything? Get you meat Cryovaced. No need to run your fridge as a freezer. Keep at a couple of degrees. Store meat in a large Tupperware container and rotate the meat within this container to keep a constant temp (so the stuff near the edge doesn't freeze). Marinated chicken should be good for a week, lamb a little longer. Beef, ages, taken steaks back home after 6 week trips and put them in the freezer.

Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 640157

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Monday, Apr 11, 2022 at 10:25

Monday, Apr 11, 2022 at 10:25
Why freeze? Quite simple. How do you bait fresh for fishing when camped for a week or longer. How do you keep you catch fresh to take home? Bread also freezes well and wont stay fresh otherwise.
FollowupID: 919229

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Friday, Apr 15, 2022 at 19:13

Friday, Apr 15, 2022 at 19:13
Hi Bigfish

We aren't usually lucky to catch enough to take home :-)
But seriously, bait, vac packed, cast net on the day or pots. So we have no need to freeze this.
Bread, never going to happen, bit like ice cream. Needs minus 20c and getting that in the back of a 4x4 in the Top End is a REAL ask. But hey, each to their own.
Many people get their meat vac packed and then try to keep it frozen whilst traveling................
Can't see the point, but again, folks want the hassle of that then that's up to them.

Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 919289

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Friday, Apr 15, 2022 at 20:22

Friday, Apr 15, 2022 at 20:22
Lyndon. I live in FNQ and always travel with a freezer. Milk , bread and bait as well as meat stays frozen no worries at -18 in my fridges. Have camped for several weeks at a time in 37 + days and fridges work fine. Spent 20 years in Darwin and Gove so know the area well. Visited dozens of remote aboriginal communities via chopper, light plane or 4wd. I actually found it easier to just buy the food, freeze it and then eat when ready. Dont bother with the cryvac anymore. Also as I tend to be a reasonable fisherman I manage to always bring a few fillets home and freezing is the only way to do this. As you say..each to their own for me its handy having freezer on site. Cheers.
FollowupID: 919290

Reply By: swampy - Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 20:08

Sunday, Apr 10, 2022 at 20:08
hi
Small modern Engel
used as freezer for meat when it was cheap ,porter house yea they were the days .
Set to freeze in Tropical Nth Qld
duty cycle ---On time was 75%
constant = 2.5 so 75% = 1.85amps say 2amps
over 24hr = 48ah
AnswerID: 640158

Reply By: Member - shane r1 - Tuesday, Apr 12, 2022 at 10:24

Tuesday, Apr 12, 2022 at 10:24
Why freeze? Our trip of 4 weeks down the canning stock route we had mostly frozen vegetables.

One thing I didn’t see anyone mention, is especially in a vehicle cab , the air temperature can be high . So the fridge will potentially run for long periods if not full time. Must have ventilation!
Cheers Robbo
AnswerID: 640164

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Apr 14, 2022 at 12:12

Thursday, Apr 14, 2022 at 12:12
I can easily run a 40L Engels as a fridge with 100W of solar (105A/hr battery), but when I add in a second 40L Engels as a freezer (longer trips), it cannot last overnight (~16 hours without solar).

I have added in a second battery (now 235 a/hr total) and a second solar panel (300w) and can keep up with the 2 Engels, as long as its only partially cloudy.

I reckon the fridge uses over 40 a/hr and the freezer over 60 a/hr per 24hr period.... over 100a/hr.day in total. Theoretically the 105A.hr battery should survive (just!) but does not.

AnswerID: 640190

Follow Up By: phantom - Thursday, Apr 14, 2022 at 13:29

Thursday, Apr 14, 2022 at 13:29
Cheers Captain,
I’ve dropped the Engel back to -1 and now have no problems with it keeping up, even on overcast days.
If I was to use it as a dedicated freezer in the future, then I would go lithium with a 200w solar panel on the roof and a portable as a back up for when parked in the shade.
With ambient temp of 25C during the day and 10C overnight, it’s using average around 30 per 24 hour
FollowupID: 919278

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Friday, Apr 15, 2022 at 09:48

Friday, Apr 15, 2022 at 09:48
Hi Phantom and Captain.

-1 is not considered to be an appropriate temperature for a freezer, very easy for it to periodically slip into the positive temperature range and back to negative again. This is a recipe for food spoilage leading to possible gastric problems.

Food Standards Australia recommends -18 for frozen food, and +4 for refrigerated food. These temperature recommendations are there for a reason. Now obviously there is some “overkill” safety built into these temperatures, and you can safely get away with a higher freezer temperature, but -1 is definitely not a good number.

Also, depending on a couple of things, a 40 Ltr. Compressor fridge is likely to draw around 40 to 50 amps over a 12 hour period, so overnight, you could see your 100 amp battery down to 50% SOC by the morning. Not usually a problem with a LiFePo4 battery, but certainly could be with an AGM battery. So it is no wonder your battery is pretty much flat when trying to run two fridges overnight. A second 100 amp battery will help, particularly if both are LiFePo4 batteries, but you need more solar capacity if you intend remaining stationary for any length of time.

A good rule of thumb is that for every battery amp you have, you need double the watts of solar capacity.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 919286

Follow Up By: phantom - Friday, Apr 15, 2022 at 17:05

Friday, Apr 15, 2022 at 17:05
Thanks Macca,
Appreciate the feedback.
All our food is vacuum sealed so we’ve dropped the temp. back to just use as a fridge, not a freezer. This was a trial before our next extended trip.
FollowupID: 919288